We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky But Good!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
west sussex
Level Contributor
84 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Quirky But Good!!!”
Reviewed 21 November 2010

We opted for the amazing discount rooms 'out the back' best to reserve parking on site if you can.Rooms at the rear of the main hotel are 70's styling but ok,bathroom in need of a deep clean,pedal bin was still full from previous occupant!!Room 2 top floor has views of Cathedral.
What do you expect for £55 in the centre of town.....minor tweaking could have made it a much better stay.

Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank claxxx1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    726
    308
    67
    19
    10
See reviews for
162
671
43
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peak District National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2010

Trip Advisor's recommendations definitely proved accurate. The hotel is in the grounds of the Cathedral, it is very peaceful and a real privilege to stay there. The continental breakfast was varied and sufficient. The bedroom was clean and roomy although the bathroom was a bit small but adequate. When staying you should request a parking space as it is free during your stay. The staff were friendly and helpful. You also get free entry to the cathedral.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mendipmaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2010

This hotel is to recommend because of the superb location. You actually live in the cathedral square and can see it from your window!!! Our room was upgraded so we got a d with a view for 55 pounds/night! The only problem is breakfast, which is 'continental' and accordingly frugal - no eggs, no sausages, no baked beans, solely toasts and cheese. If you don't mind start your day with empty stomach go for it!!!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank motekissimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2010

Located on the grounds of the Canterbury Cathedral, the hotel is ideally located for sightseeing and close to a major shopping area. It is a new hotel with modern, spacious rooms. The view of the cathedral from the room was spectacular. The staff was friendly and helpful. The only drawback was the very limited selection available at the continental breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank medieval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2010

We have just spent a wet weekend in Canterbury but everything was so near to the lodge that it was not an inconvenience.
The rooms are a bit small but very comfortable and the breakfast was excellent. No hot food but ham and cheeses and fancy pastries as well as the usual fruit juices toast and cereals. These reviews really do their job as when I commented to the young man in charge of the restaurant that I had found some criticism of the breakfast on the internet, he said that they had just upgraded it because of the reviews!
By the way, if you want a really economic meal, try the Thomas Ingoldsby. We had two main courses and a bottle of wine for £14.08 .

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louisnliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2010

I can't add anything to what other reviewers have already said, but this hotel cannot be faulted if you're after a visit to the cathedral and the old town. Having to ring the bell at the gate after 9pm to be let into the catherdral grounds and have an exclusive walk back to the hotel with the cathedral lit up is simply magical.

If you're going to Caterbury, stay at the Cathedral Lodge, it's worth every penny.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2010

Magical feeling this is what you experience ringing the porters bell after an evening out in Canterbury to be let in to The Cathederal Precinct walking next to the lit up Cathederal without the tourist crowds on your short walk to your Hotel room. The hotel is situated within the Cathederal Precinct (advise you book parking) the view from our window was fantastic, the rooms though modern reflect the surroundings and we couldnt fault it. The staff were friendly and welcoming. Your stay also gives you full admission to the Cathederal. We would most definately use this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Schermuly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.1 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
419 reviews
0.2 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
1,847 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#5 of 16 in Canterbury
269 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments
0.4 mi away
The Falstaff in Canterbury
The Falstaff in Canterbury
#13 of 16 in Canterbury
1,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canterbury Cathedral Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canterbury Cathedral Lodge

Property: Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Address: Canterbury Cathedral Lodge The Precincts, Canterbury CT1 2EH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Canterbury Cathedral Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within the grounds of the magnificent Canterbury Cathedral you’ll find the perfect retreat. The best located accommodation in the City - rooms are in a private courtyard and provide stunning views of Canterbury Cathedral, which guests also enjoy free entry to. You will receive a dedicated, friendly service in a setting that’s peaceful, secure and relaxing. It’s the ideal base to explore Canterbury’s picturesque, cobbled streets and visit the City’s excellent eateries and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Canterbury Cathedral Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canterbury Cathedral Hotel Canterbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing