We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 November 2010

We stayed on Friday for two nights in a double room over looking the cathedral at the front, paying just over £119 per night per room Inc continental breakfast.
The location was excellent, given views of the cathedral, and being located in the historic heart of Canterbury.
The room itself was of excellent quality, clean and well furnished.
The continental breakfast was also excellent, with a good choice. As per the previous reviews we knew it would be continental, and actually made a nice change from the ubiquitous bacon and eggs.
An other positive was the free wifi (though we had to continually log in on each use), and which some other better known hotels could learn from.
The only real comments we could make was that
There ought to be a spy hole / chain on the door
The shower was very low pressure, and could do with. Improving
There was no lighting in the shower and was a bit dark
The refractory (where we had breakfast) over looked a featureless garden, that could be improved considerably with the simple expedient of a bird table!
Other than that - perfect,,

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sidmouth4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,224)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,091 - 1,097 of 1,225 reviews

Reviewed 21 November 2010

We opted for the amazing discount rooms 'out the back' best to reserve parking on site if you can.Rooms at the rear of the main hotel are 70's styling but ok,bathroom in need of a deep clean,pedal bin was still full from previous occupant!!Room 2 top floor has views of Cathedral.
What do you expect for £55 in the centre of town.....minor tweaking could have made it a much better stay.

Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank claxxx1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2010

Trip Advisor's recommendations definitely proved accurate. The hotel is in the grounds of the Cathedral, it is very peaceful and a real privilege to stay there. The continental breakfast was varied and sufficient. The bedroom was clean and roomy although the bathroom was a bit small but adequate. When staying you should request a parking space as it is free during your stay. The staff were friendly and helpful. You also get free entry to the cathedral.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mendipmaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2010

This hotel is to recommend because of the superb location. You actually live in the cathedral square and can see it from your window!!! Our room was upgraded so we got a d with a view for 55 pounds/night! The only problem is breakfast, which is 'continental' and accordingly frugal - no eggs, no sausages, no baked beans, solely toasts and cheese. If you don't mind start your day with empty stomach go for it!!!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank motekissimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2010

Located on the grounds of the Canterbury Cathedral, the hotel is ideally located for sightseeing and close to a major shopping area. It is a new hotel with modern, spacious rooms. The view of the cathedral from the room was spectacular. The staff was friendly and helpful. The only drawback was the very limited selection available at the continental breakfast.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank medieval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2010

We have just spent a wet weekend in Canterbury but everything was so near to the lodge that it was not an inconvenience.
The rooms are a bit small but very comfortable and the breakfast was excellent. No hot food but ham and cheeses and fancy pastries as well as the usual fruit juices toast and cereals. These reviews really do their job as when I commented to the young man in charge of the restaurant that I had found some criticism of the breakfast on the internet, he said that they had just upgraded it because of the reviews!
By the way, if you want a really economic meal, try the Thomas Ingoldsby. We had two main courses and a bottle of wine for £14.08 .

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank louisnliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2010

I can't add anything to what other reviewers have already said, but this hotel cannot be faulted if you're after a visit to the cathedral and the old town. Having to ring the bell at the gate after 9pm to be let into the catherdral grounds and have an exclusive walk back to the hotel with the cathedral lit up is simply magical.

If you're going to Caterbury, stay at the Cathedral Lodge, it's worth every penny.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.2 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#6 of 16 in Canterbury
2,114 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
0.1 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#4 of 16 in Canterbury
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Falstaff in Canterbury
The Falstaff in Canterbury
#13 of 16 in Canterbury
1,179 reviews
0.7 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#8 of 16 in Canterbury
297 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canterbury Cathedral Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canterbury Cathedral Lodge

Address: Canterbury Cathedral Lodge The Precincts, Canterbury CT1 2EH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range: £98 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Canterbury Cathedral Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge is a unique and contemporary hotel and conference venue situated in the inspirational grounds of Canterbury Cathedral, a UNESCO World Heritage Site in the heart of the city of Canterbury, Kent. Renowned for stylish and comfortable hotel accommodation with stunning views of the Cathedral and a superb conference venue for meetings, conferences, events and wedding receptions. The Cathedral Lodge offers the best located hotel accommodation in the city. Guests enjoy going to bed and waking up the next morning enjoying the wonderful view of the Cathedral from their bedroom window. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Canterbury Cathedral Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canterbury Cathedral Hotel Canterbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing