We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Victoria Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pilgrims Hotel(Canterbury)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Castle House Hotel(Canterbury)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Canterbury Hotel(Canterbury)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
ABode Canterbury(Canterbury)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (430)
Filter reviews
430 results
Traveller rating
129
181
77
22
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
129
181
77
22
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscity centrebig car parkminute walkhot chocolate and biscuitsgood sizepub grublondon roaddecent hotelmain roadthe ground floorbooked roomsfamily roomsingle roomposter bedfull englishplenty of parkingshort break
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
314 - 319 of 430 reviews
Reviewed 12 September 2011

This hotel is a good, practical choice for families. The room for four people is big enough for five, though the cot would only work for a young child. The restaurant means it's easy to have breakfast and dinner in the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hilandwil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2011

My wife and I had to have a break to come to terms with a medical problem I had just found out about. First we looked at a Spa Hotel but decided it would be better if we went to a hotel for a rest and a chance to discuss the problem. I had stayed at the Victoria Hotel on business and liked it very much so we booked in for 2 days. We were warmly greeted at reception and shown to our room, 4 poster bed, air conditioning and a jacuzzi bath, (could not find out how to activate the spa)
We went to the restaurant for light lunch and enjoyed it very much, I cannot eat very much and the food has to be full of flavour and this certainly was. That evening I went again to the restaurant and again a great meal (too much for me to eat).
We found the air conditioning very useful as the kitchens were under our room and it could get very hot but the a/c sorted this out. The bed was very comfortable.
Breakfast was either a full English or Continental and I chose the latter but from what I could see the English looked excellent.
The hotel is a a short walk from the city centre and we enjoyed a walk to the centre.
The Carvery that eventing was excellent with Gammon, Beef and Turkey and a selection of tasty vegetables and some wonderful sweets.
The service at the restaurant was a little bit slow even though it was not that busy and I had to ask for service on one occasion but all in all the service at the hotel was good.
The bar is adequate and while we were there the bar persons were pleasant and chatty.
All in all a great 2 days which helped us come to terms with our situation.
Thanks

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeisuremanLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

The Victoria Hotel is just outside Canterbury but it is only a 10 minute stroll into the City Centre. There's plenty of parking and its really easy to find.
The room we stayed in was a bit jaded but was clean and very comfortable. We slept with the window open, but there was no noise at all.
Breakfast is good value, £5 for a continental breakfast and £7 for the works. The restaurant serves a carvery and a good variety of pub grub.
All the staff were friendly and willing to help. There was a "family-run" feel about the place. I would recommend it and will certainly go there again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Huw104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

The hotel is situated directly on the left off the London Road round-about and might easily be missed if you are not aware of the location.

The car park is a very good size and the path to the hotel Reception is as per the photographs on the web-page. A wonderful display of flowers! There are some table/benches to the left of the pathway and shade is provided by the trees alongside.

We were given a room on the first floor which was large, clean and tidy. Hairdryer and trouser press also in the room. Tea/coffee/biscuits provided daily. Breakfast can be either 'light' (buffet style continental) or 'full' English - both very filling!

We did not have a meal in the Carvery of the hotel or a drink in the bar. However, the area looked very comfortable with leather seating.

The city is a casual 10-15 minute walk and if you chose to go through the park you will see a marvelous display of flowers and the clear river flowing alongside.

If we were to return to Canterbury, we would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BJonesBaza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

We had a family room which was very spacious. Nice comfortable beds for the children too. In the evening we had dinner in the restaurant which we liked very much. Unfortunately the bathroom was in our opinion a real disaster. Moldy !!! We had to ask to change the shower curtain and the shower knob was very sloppy. Housekeeping tried to clean it on our request, futile. Also around the bathtub, fungus is growing with lots of enthusiasm. The location is OK, you can easily walk to the centre of Canterbury. There is a busy roundabout, just in front of the hotel. I suggest you ask for a room at the rear.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gr-mj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews