We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean hotel, friendly staff and convenient location”
Review of The Victoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Victoria Hotel
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Clean hotel, friendly staff and convenient location”
Reviewed 14 December 2011

I booked he Victoria Hotel in Canterbury for 2 nights when I was going to a conference. I chose it because of the location so that I could get to the University of Kent and my husband could walk into Canterbury for the day. This was great for us. The hotel was well priced through booking.com and we found it good value for money. Room was large with a large en suite which had a bath. The room was really clean as was the hotel even if the decor was a bit tired and dated in places. The staff were really nice and friendly and ready to help with directions etc. The downside was that the walls of the rooms are a bit thin! Could hear our neighbours. While it was not really a problem for us on our trip it could be if you had really noisy neighbours!! I would reccommend this hotel as it was good value for money.

Room Tip: Go for a higher room overlooking the rear of the hotel rather than the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mabel1348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    172
    72
    20
    19
See reviews for
98
143
27
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

I booked a one night stay in this hotel for the end of November 2011.
We booked the executive room because of the jacuzzi bath and four poster bed.
When we arrived, the room smelt of roast dinners and stale chip fat. It make all our clothes smell.
Adding to this the four poster bed is in definite need of updating, the mattress was extremely lumpy, and sloped down in the middle. The pillows were rock hard. The whole room is extremely dated.
The jacuzzi bath was also broken.
We stayed in room 211, you could also hear ANY noise from the restaurant or kitchen downstairs, from 7am all you can hear is doors slamming and staff talking.
When we checked out there was not a member in staff to complain to.
I would NEVER stay here again.
I would, however, recommend visiting Canterbury, it is a lovely city!

Room Tip: Do not choose the executive rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kirsty g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Vermont
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2011

My husband and I stayed at this hotel during a few-week trip across the UK. During our travels, we saw it all in hotel stays--the excellent, the "it'll do" and the downright horror show. As we were booking our hotels on the fly since we were not following a planned itinerary, hotels were sometimes a catchers-catch-can.

The Victoria is an older hotel, quite traditional, but without the old and moldy feel. You'll find a carvery restaurant and a pub in it as well--which was nice if you don't want to go into town. Our room was like all of the others pictured on the website--dark wood furniture, dark red carpets--large and comfortable. Staff was very nice.

PLUSES:
--Clean, well-appointed, large and comfortable room. Everything looked fairly new and in very good shape
--Restaurant and bar on-site--nice seating areas to relax and review your maps and guidebooks
--Only a few minutes (and easy) drive to downtown Canterbury (and you could walk it as well)
--plentiful, safe parking
--Staff was super nice

DOWNSIDES
--Restaurant was not outstanding, but okay if you just don't want to go out. Breakfast had limited choices compared to other places we stayed (and where breakfast was included)
--If you want to walk outside your hotel door and run smack into charming neighborhood or cultural sites, you won't find it here...but it was very easy to get to town

Room Tip: Rooms not overlooking the beed garden/back entrance might be quieter on a weekend
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2011

I can only assume I stayed at a different hotel - as none of the reviews posted bear any relation to the establishment I found myself at.
Horrid !

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CastellNedd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2011

We booked to come here for two nights for a get-a-way break. On arrival reception staff friendly and welcoming. We stayed in the executive suite. Which we hadn't booked, but they had allocated this to us. Nice big room, with four poster bed and jacuzzi bath. Unfortunately the bath didn't work, and the room smelt of roast dinners constantly as it was above the kitchen. This is the only negative I have about our stay. Other than that, staff lovely, pub food lovely, bed comfy. Canterbury is a lovely city to visit, and we had a nice time.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosieposie_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summerville, SC
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2011

We only had one night in Canterbury, and this hotel suited us perfectly! There were two twin beds and one queen. Lots of space for the family. It was also the best sleep we had in the UK. The beds were so comfortable. Very charming hotel with friendly service. Wish we could have stayed longer!

Room Tip: Very spacious, comfortable beds and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scrivner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2011

I spent two nights on victoria, and I havent much to say about it. It is an old familiar hotel, with large rooms. The location is okay, very quiet,not far from Canterbury center.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCAlmeida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
1.3 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
0.7 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#6 of 16 in Canterbury
277 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
1,877 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
#1 of 1 in Upper Harbledown
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Victoria Hotel

Property: The Victoria Hotel
Address: 59 London Road, Canterbury CT2 8JY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Victoria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your The Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Canterbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing