We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT HOTEL”
Review of The Victoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Victoria Hotel
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Reviewed 20 December 2011

Stayed one night and was not expecting too much as the price was so reasonable. however it was excellent. The room far exceeded the price band. Comfortable. Lots of towels, soap, shampoo. Lovely and warm and tea and coffee. Very quiet rooms with comfortable beds.The manager Jackie could not have been friendlier and helpful. The full English Breakfast was amazingly good and the waitresses smiling and personable. the quality of the food was very high. In summary this hotels was excellent in all aspects.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank falcon38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (423)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

300 - 306 of 423 reviews

Reviewed 18 December 2011

Below par for our recent visit! room comfortable and clean, restaurant very busy with Xmas parties so food was poor. If only the staff were more cheerful?

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2011

I booked he Victoria Hotel in Canterbury for 2 nights when I was going to a conference. I chose it because of the location so that I could get to the University of Kent and my husband could walk into Canterbury for the day. This was great for us. The hotel was well priced through booking.com and we found it good value for money. Room was large with a large en suite which had a bath. The room was really clean as was the hotel even if the decor was a bit tired and dated in places. The staff were really nice and friendly and ready to help with directions etc. The downside was that the walls of the rooms are a bit thin! Could hear our neighbours. While it was not really a problem for us on our trip it could be if you had really noisy neighbours!! I would reccommend this hotel as it was good value for money.

Room Tip: Go for a higher room overlooking the rear of the hotel rather than the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mabel1348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

I booked a one night stay in this hotel for the end of November 2011.
We booked the executive room because of the jacuzzi bath and four poster bed.
When we arrived, the room smelt of roast dinners and stale chip fat. It make all our clothes smell.
Adding to this the four poster bed is in definite need of updating, the mattress was extremely lumpy, and sloped down in the middle. The pillows were rock hard. The whole room is extremely dated.
The jacuzzi bath was also broken.
We stayed in room 211, you could also hear ANY noise from the restaurant or kitchen downstairs, from 7am all you can hear is doors slamming and staff talking.
When we checked out there was not a member in staff to complain to.
I would NEVER stay here again.
I would, however, recommend visiting Canterbury, it is a lovely city!

Room Tip: Do not choose the executive rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kirsty g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2011

My husband and I stayed at this hotel during a few-week trip across the UK. During our travels, we saw it all in hotel stays--the excellent, the "it'll do" and the downright horror show. As we were booking our hotels on the fly since we were not following a planned itinerary, hotels were sometimes a catchers-catch-can.

The Victoria is an older hotel, quite traditional, but without the old and moldy feel. You'll find a carvery restaurant and a pub in it as well--which was nice if you don't want to go into town. Our room was like all of the others pictured on the website--dark wood furniture, dark red carpets--large and comfortable. Staff was very nice.

PLUSES:
--Clean, well-appointed, large and comfortable room. Everything looked fairly new and in very good shape
--Restaurant and bar on-site--nice seating areas to relax and review your maps and guidebooks
--Only a few minutes (and easy) drive to downtown Canterbury (and you could walk it as well)
--plentiful, safe parking
--Staff was super nice

DOWNSIDES
--Restaurant was not outstanding, but okay if you just don't want to go out. Breakfast had limited choices compared to other places we stayed (and where breakfast was included)
--If you want to walk outside your hotel door and run smack into charming neighborhood or cultural sites, you won't find it here...but it was very easy to get to town

Room Tip: Rooms not overlooking the beed garden/back entrance might be quieter on a weekend
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deb H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2011

I can only assume I stayed at a different hotel - as none of the reviews posted bear any relation to the establishment I found myself at.
Horrid !

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CastellNedd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2011

We booked to come here for two nights for a get-a-way break. On arrival reception staff friendly and welcoming. We stayed in the executive suite. Which we hadn't booked, but they had allocated this to us. Nice big room, with four poster bed and jacuzzi bath. Unfortunately the bath didn't work, and the room smelt of roast dinners constantly as it was above the kitchen. This is the only negative I have about our stay. Other than that, staff lovely, pub food lovely, bed comfy. Canterbury is a lovely city to visit, and we had a nice time.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosieposie_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
1.3 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
0.7 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#8 of 16 in Canterbury
297 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#4 of 16 in Canterbury
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
#1 of 1 in Upper Harbledown
767 reviews
0.7 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#6 of 16 in Canterbury
2,114 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Falstaff in Canterbury
The Falstaff in Canterbury
#13 of 16 in Canterbury
1,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Victoria Hotel

Address: 59 London Road, Canterbury CT2 8JY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range: £52 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Victoria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Canterbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing