We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located hotel”
Review of The Victoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Victoria Hotel
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Woking, Surrey
Level 6 Contributor
296 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Well located hotel”
Reviewed 21 June 2012

The Victoria Hotel is an ideal place to visit all that Canterbury has to offer from. It is about 10-15 minutes walk from Westgate and, therefore, no more than 20 minutes from the Cathedral. And, of course, it offers you free car parking in a city that I would not describe as car-friendly!

The staff are very friendly and accommodating and the food is what you'd expect in your local pub - Brakes Bros-style cuisine but OK if you can't face another walk into the city! Good value breakfasts, however!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CesmeTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    173
    72
    20
    19
See reviews for
99
144
27
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stamford
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

We found this hotel a pleasant stay, easy to find off the road from London and a short walk to the town centre,

Staff were friendly, breakfast was first class and the room had room to swing a handbag in.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 June 2012

We stayed here for 1 night to explore the city. Overall service was good and staff were very friendly.we had booked a double room with a travel cot for our son some time ago but upon check in we were told we were on the 1st floor and there was no lift, this was a bit awkward as we had a buggy and multiple bags. The Travel cot provided was handy however the base was solid and we had to line with multiple blankets to make it comfortable for our son. The room was clean but pretty cramped and the bed very lumpy. Location wise the hotel was very good, it only took about 10 minutes to get to the shops. Overall the stay was ok, I would have been happier if the room fee was a bit cheaper however I believe the cost was in line with other city centre hotels. I can't comment on the breakfast as we decided against it as felt it was a little expensive.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kings8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Stayed at The Victoria Hotel for 4 nights in May.

Room was very spacious, clean and comfortable.
Staff very friendly.
Location was fab, 15 minute walk to the city centre and very good value for money, what more could you want?!

Canterbury Cathedral is a must and Dover Castle.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SassySoph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

A budget hotel situate close to (within walking distance) of the city centre. Ample guest parking, simple, clean and attractive accomodation and charming staff.
The hotel itself is quiet although on a main road, easy to find and quite well cared for and the breakfasts at just over £6 for a full English are remarkable value. Individually prepared and served to you in the dining room. I have paid four times as much at expensive hotels for breakfasts of far less quality.
The bar area could do with revamping and some of the interior decor is somewhat dated. However, all in all, very good value and worth a visit.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GourmetEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

The Victoria was the final hotel out of 4 in 7 days, and whilst it was a bit 70/80’s in furniture and décor, and the room a little cramped, it was a good stay. The bathroom was fully functional but badly dated and a bit chipped around the edges. The food in the restaurant was good traditional fair, and we felt good value for money. My partner had the beef lasagne and said how good it was. The staff in the restaurant and Jackie in reception, were great, friendly and appropriately attentive (the male mgr needs to remember that when he is asking staff why there is “a 2 on a 4” in a stressed and loud way in the kitchen, guests have ears…). Having been in the hotel and catering business for 14 years, I couldn’t really fault them – god knows I always try! Overall, a bit ‘Crossroads’, but really enjoyed our stay despite the road noise and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaxCameron128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

Stayed 3 nights due to working in the area, good friendly staff, fair priced reasonable food, i had a small but adequate room but there were bigger better rooms.

What let my stay down was the noise from the saniflow system, anyone who flushed their toilet in the night created such a noise it woke me. The system also seems to randomly make loud noises for no reason. Its let the place down.

if you use the loo through the night be prepered to go and apoligise for waking everyone.

Room Tip: don't get and even numbers between 210 and 220
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mike m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
1.3 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
0.7 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#5 of 16 in Canterbury
278 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#6 of 16 in Canterbury
1,917 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
#1 of 1 in Upper Harbledown
725 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Victoria Hotel

Property: The Victoria Hotel
Address: 59 London Road, Canterbury CT2 8JY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Victoria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Canterbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing