We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed!”
Review of The Victoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Victoria Hotel
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Booked 2 rooms(a single and a double) through Booking.com then needed to change booking from Fri/Sat to Sat/Sun. Rang hotel who said that was fine and I rang back to confirm once I had spoken to my travel companions. When we arrived on the Sat evening the hotel said we were a no show for the previous night, so had cancelled my booking!! To add insult to injury they tried to charge us for for the night I had cancelled........I am fighting this charge!! We were eventually offered a 3 bedded room which we really didn't want, but there was no option. The front desk appears to be totally disorganised and no one wanted to take responsibility for the mistake.....which was clearly theirs. Beds extremely soft and uncomfortable. Only real plus point was the convenience to the town centre.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (407)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

241 - 247 of 407 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2013

The hotel & carvery is located just outside Canterbury city centre so well located for a £5 taxi ride into the city- much cheaper than feeding a meter all day even if you find a space. The rooms were very nice indeed and included a four poster bed/jacuzzi bath and loads of room all for a reasonable £65 a night.

Our room was overlooking the back & kitchens, however tghis was not a proble.

Very clean and clearly undergoing a refurb. Friendly staff.

The resturant was a carvery so loads of good quality food and very resonably price. Very impressed indeed.

Room Tip: Ask for room 216
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ted H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2013

Massive thanks to all the staff....The level of service was superb, they went above and beyond. We were in Canterbury last minute, because an extremely close relative was in a local hospice.

the rooms were spotless and look to be recently revamped, Room 110 is huge with chairs an coffee table, and spotlessly clean. Also the rooms are very well equipped
We paid £80 with breakfast for 2 adults and 1 child, which in Canterbury is an absolute bargain..

The staff could not have done more for us. The reception held our room, as we were in the hospice finding out how long we would stay, a waited for conformation. Then house keeping took care of all our bags and moved us between rooms, as they juggled the rooms around, even though they had a coach load turn up on the following morning and check in was hectic.

Even when I left things in the room as we left in a hurry, they posted our items the next day.
the item was expensive, you all know in most hotels the items would "have gone missing" not in this hotel.

The level of service was superb, the hotel is very easy to find by car, and is a short walk from the historic city center.

small family B and B's want the same money, so you might as well get all the benefits of a hotel for the same price. finally breakfast is plentiful including full cooked and the help yourself fruit, cereal, yoghurt, juice, toast / jam etc bar is a nice touch.

We will stay here every time we are Canterbury

Room Tip: room 110 huge, 1 double bed and 2 singles including seats and coffee table. The rooms we saw looked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robertinnorthdevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2013

Picked this hotel off the internet, glad we did, the room was first class with a large four poster, enough hanging and storage space ( could have fitted our entire wardrobe in it ). The staff were helpfull, happy and willing. The restaraunt food was well cooked and well presented would recomend the in house Fish and Chips. Every where was clean and tidy. Bathroom first rate. 15 minutes walk from the town where parking can be a bit of a nightmare. All in all I would recomend this hotel and would stay again myself.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

We stayed for a short break and was rather left with no option, but this hotel if we wanted to be near the city centre.
We found the hotel easily on the approach to Canterbury. Ample car parking to the rear.
The reception was efficient and friendly.
The rooms were large and smart with a huge bed.
The bathroom was clean and fresh.
The sister in law had a 4 poster bed she was overjoyed.
The stay was enhanced by the lack of noise or fuss during the night.
We stayed up to have a pint in the bar, this is a little tired but re-furbishment was due to take place.
We had the breakfast in the morning and found it to be more than adequate.
The breakfast was served by the lady who checked us in. She is a credit to the hotel.
Overall this is a little gem away from the noise of the students yet close enough to amble in to town.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 9badger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

This was an excellent choice, 15 min walk into the centre. Very clean even though it was being refurbished. Excellent friendly helpful stuff. The restaurant is very good and breakfast started the day just right. The staff were always polite and helpful. The rooms a good size and very clean and tidy. Would visit again

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013 via mobile

The room was clean and roomy well stocked with tea and coffee .Large clean bed plenty of towels and good TV.The breakfast was good value evening meal was good value too.A one little downside the hotel needs a little updating.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Service
Thank 123Suzywong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
1.3 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
0.8 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
455 reviews
0.7 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#6 of 16 in Canterbury
1,980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
#1 of 1 in Upper Harbledown
741 reviews
0.7 mi away
Castle House Hotel
Castle House Hotel
#11 of 16 in Canterbury
326 reviews
0.7 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Victoria Hotel

Address: 59 London Road, Canterbury CT2 8JY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range: £57 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Victoria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Canterbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing