We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“faux rustic charm”
Review of The Victoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Victoria Hotel
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“faux rustic charm”
Reviewed 13 July 2013

My wife and I stayed here whilst on a short visit to Canterbury. The city itself is well worth a visit and the Victoria is very good base from which to do this. Our room was spacious and well kept, with a four poster bed, many wardrobes and cupboards and a large LCD tv with a fair selection of channels. Free WiFi! Good big breakfasts for a reasonable price and a pretty good selection of food in the restaurant if you want to eat in at night. Perhaps not haute cuisine, but very palatable and at a more than reasonable price. God car parking to the rear. Staff friendly and pleasant to deal with. So, all in all, a really good place to
stay in Canterbury.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BwanaBunduki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    172
    70
    20
    19
See reviews for
97
143
26
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Whitby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Good location within walking distance (about 15 mins) of the centre of Canterbury. An older property that has been converted and with an annex to the rear. Free car park at the rear. Traditionally styled in the main building but could do with some upgrading/maintenance. Room was a subdivision of an original room and there was just enough room to get between the bottom of the bed and the wall/TV. Only one chair although it was a double room. Bathroom quite large with bath and shower although the shower was fixed. Toilet was a Saniflow, therefore noisy. Room was also on front close to a busy double carriageway. Restaurant quite a basic Dinner menu and just about adequate. Breakfast a lot better. The fact that the Staff were so friendly and obliging stopped this review from being worse.

Room Tip: Avoid Room 217, try for the Annex
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

A very friendly hotel which could do with a bit of refurbishing! The room we had last time was superior to the room we had this time! There was a little slope going into the bathroom which I had to be wary of in the middle of the night! We were probably in the original house which was not custom built for paying guests. We cannot fault the staff who were very helpful & pleasant. One thing I would like to see is either water glasses in the rooms or at least a 'good' plastic cup. The ones being used at present are very thin & unattractive!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

The staff were helpful and service in the restaurant was very good, but disappointed with the burger roll it was soft and had been previously frozen, and the vanilla ice cream was tasteless, but otherwise over 3 courses the quantity of portions were generous and the food was of reasonable quality.

Rooms clean and plenty of room drinks available.

Room Tip: Single rooms are very compact.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stan17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

This is our 3rd visit to Canterbury we have stayed in 5* accomodation. We would definitely choose this hotel if we return. It is clean and the staff are friendly. The carvery is good basic food which is just the ticket after a long day out. The rooms are clean and comfortable and off a good standard.a place I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Transalpiners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 June 2013

The staff were excellent and couldn't have been more friendly or helpful. They looked after our tour group very well. We've tried a few hotels in Canterbury for our trips and after our second visit to the Victoria we have settled on this one for the future. The rooms are a decent size and adequately furnished. Didn't notice any noise at night. The food is good, simple, traditional English cuisine. The hotel is not in the centre of Canterbury, but a short walk from the West Gate. There's a big car-park which seems to be secure. All in all, excellent value for money.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

The single rooms are tiny - I mean really small. It felt like my image of a prison cell. I had a room changed to a double and that was a lot more acceptable. We had also booked "the flat" that had two bedrooms and a lounge. Unfortunately it was being redecorated and smelt strongly of paint and other than three cups, there was no crockery, fridge or cutlery in the kitchen (or a cooker for that matter). One room had two single beds and the other a double. All were comfortable and quiet.

The staff were wonderful, very friendly and accommodating and I would return just for them. The restaurant was tremendous. I live outside of the UK and it was great to enjoy all this comfort food again. Nothing was too much trouble.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anzen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
1.3 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
0.8 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
419 reviews
0.7 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#5 of 16 in Canterbury
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
1,847 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
#1 of 1 in Upper Harbledown
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Victoria Hotel

Property: The Victoria Hotel
Address: 59 London Road, Canterbury CT2 8JY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Victoria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Canterbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing