We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A more than adequate stopover”
Review of The Victoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Victoria Hotel
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
161 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“A more than adequate stopover”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

This hotel is ideally places just on the outskirts of the town, it has plenty of parking and we found it ideal for a nights stopover. The rooms are very well equipped and comfortable. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and the breakfast very adequate and reasonablt priced. We would definitley stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back to aviod road noise as the hotel is situated on the very busy main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    167
    70
    20
    19
See reviews for
95
140
26
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night... Originally booked for 2 at 150 pound. Decided to stay just 1 night due to family commitments although they did agree to bring the price down by 25 pound the hotel was advertising 55 pound rooms when we got there. What a slap in the face. We also had to pay on arrival(not welcoming at all) and breakfast was NOT included. Can i please have my eyes back with the change?

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Avoid that hotel. We had family booked there for 3 days and they had to leave. The restaurant was run by a bunch of young students, that neither of them cared about customer service. The meny old and repetitive. Food was never hot, especially the roast, was hard meat and salty and the waitresses ignored the drinks because they werent' expensive enough. When we complained about the cold food and the service, we were laughed at. Rooms are dirty, towels are dirty and the reception hardly answers. There is no provision for kids there either. when we had a 7 year old ty a slot machine , he was told off by staff in case he breaks it. Barman serves tiny portions for 7£! Gave the impression nobody cares whether they have guests or not as they are all transient. Noisy and unfriendly towards older people, also garden is rough and backs directly to the parking lot whch makes it dangerous for children playing. For that price we went to a 4 star in town and were treated decently.

Room Tip: Ask for a back room though the noise is pretty bad as the hotel is also a pub and drunken students s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amir Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We stayed at the Victoria hotel in Canterbury on the 12th and 13th of july. Party of 3 adults 1 x singe room and 1 x double. We found the rates to be reasonable the single was £110.00 for the 2 nights and the double £138.00 for the 2 nights. Both rooms were clean and well equipped having a kettle and genorous amounts of tea, coffee and hot chocolate. There was also a fan in the rooms which was much needed due to the hot weather. The hotel is about a 10 to 15 min easy walk to the town centre. We had breakfst one of the mornings which was very nice I went for the full english (£7.95) whilst my dad went for the light breakfast (£5.95). We all had toast ceareals and tea and coffee. The staff in the bar were very welcoming even providing us with an ice bucket for the wine we had taken with us. A round at the bar was about £8.00 that was for 2 x halves larger and one baileys so all in all not bad value . Canterbury was a bit disapointing, we all thought it was untidy and a bit run down, however the cathederal was a delight, dont forget when you buy your tickets to gift aid that makes them valid for a year. I must take a moment to mention a small bar in the town called the Lady Luck, my partener who is a vegan ate like a king there and highly recommends the chille dog (it was enourmous) I had the fried chicken and garlic dip and dad had the ploughmans platter which he said was lovely. In conclusion I would reccomend a stay at the victoria hotel if you are going to canterbury it is a perfectly nice place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gillyworksop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

My wife and I stayed here whilst on a short visit to Canterbury. The city itself is well worth a visit and the Victoria is very good base from which to do this. Our room was spacious and well kept, with a four poster bed, many wardrobes and cupboards and a large LCD tv with a fair selection of channels. Free WiFi! Good big breakfasts for a reasonable price and a pretty good selection of food in the restaurant if you want to eat in at night. Perhaps not haute cuisine, but very palatable and at a more than reasonable price. God car parking to the rear. Staff friendly and pleasant to deal with. So, all in all, a really good place to
stay in Canterbury.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BwanaBunduki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Good location within walking distance (about 15 mins) of the centre of Canterbury. An older property that has been converted and with an annex to the rear. Free car park at the rear. Traditionally styled in the main building but could do with some upgrading/maintenance. Room was a subdivision of an original room and there was just enough room to get between the bottom of the bed and the wall/TV. Only one chair although it was a double room. Bathroom quite large with bath and shower although the shower was fixed. Toilet was a Saniflow, therefore noisy. Room was also on front close to a busy double carriageway. Restaurant quite a basic Dinner menu and just about adequate. Breakfast a lot better. The fact that the Staff were so friendly and obliging stopped this review from being worse.

Room Tip: Avoid Room 217, try for the Annex
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

A very friendly hotel which could do with a bit of refurbishing! The room we had last time was superior to the room we had this time! There was a little slope going into the bathroom which I had to be wary of in the middle of the night! We were probably in the original house which was not custom built for paying guests. We cannot fault the staff who were very helpful & pleasant. One thing I would like to see is either water glasses in the rooms or at least a 'good' plastic cup. The ones being used at present are very thin & unattractive!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
1.3 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
0.8 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
0.7 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#5 of 16 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
0.9 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 16 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Falstaff in Canterbury
The Falstaff in Canterbury
#13 of 16 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Victoria Hotel

Property: The Victoria Hotel
Address: 59 London Road, Canterbury CT2 8JY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Victoria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your The Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Canterbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing