We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This was the only hotel available in Canterbury at a reasonable price but that price was too expensive for this hotel.”
Review of The Victoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Victoria Hotel
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“This was the only hotel available in Canterbury at a reasonable price but that price was too expensive for this hotel.”
Reviewed 18 July 2010

This is a very old hotel that feels a little like an old people's home. It is straight from the 70's although the rooms are ok with a modern flat screen tv. No real problems though, good location, staff were fine, it's just about 20 pounds a night too expensive and DONT get the breakfast, overpriced and not high quality. Go down the road to Wetherspoons and get breakfast there, slightly better and a thrid of the price.

An average hotel that is over priced.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveyG1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    172
    71
    20
    19
See reviews for
98
143
26
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
westgate on sea
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 July 2010

The staff here were so friendly, rooms were very comfortable, and the food was excellent value for money.
I travel to canterbury regularly and will certainly stay here again

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 July 2010

I just stayed at this hotel in Canterbury for 2 nights. I found the hotel in good walking distance to town. As others have commented, this hotel needs an update. But I found the staff to be friendly and helpful. The room was a decent size and clean and I slept well.

However based on the price I found it a good value and decent place to stay in Canterbury.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robert_john_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
binfield
1 review
Reviewed 13 June 2010

I am not sure where all the friendly staff were but we found the one male member of staff surly and unwelcoming, the restaurant staff could have been more attentive and happier but the rest of the receptionists seemed more accommodating and had smiles on their faces. The hotel certainly needs a facelift as the rooms are dark with all the red paint and carpets around. On the plus side you could walk into the centre from the hotel, it was clean and there was no noise which was amazing as its near the main road into Canterbury. We wouldn`t stay there again!!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank braywood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2010

I booked this hotel for a short break because of all the excellent reviews here. I have to say that I was a little disappointed.

Good Points:
The hotel was clean, the staff were friendly, the food was reasonably cheap and generally reasonable without being either good or bad. The hotel doesn't get much road noise which is surprising since it's on a busy roundabout.

The best point about this hotel is that it's about 15-20 minutes walk to Canterbury town centre so very well placed for tourists.

Bad Points:
The rooms were a little "tired", the bathroom was poor - one of the handles on the bath was missing and someone had tried (possibly with eyes closed) to cover this up using tile sealant. Two taps rather than mixers on the bath and sink is irritating.

The ordered paper never materialised (but at least they didn't try to charge for this).

The breakfast was quite greasy (and I love full English breakfasts but even so...) and not cheap.

The fire doors on the ground floor were noisy at night - on the one nearest our room it thumped when anyone tried to open it - obviously the hinge broken - which was really noisy.

The walls were very thin (could hear people in the next room talking) so very wary about using the TV at a decent volume as it was mounted on the wall itself.

Worst thing about the hotel was the bed - very soft and springy - you could feel the individual springs and were likely to roll off the bed if you ventured near the edge.

When we checked out the guy didn't ask if we'd enjoyed ourselves - think he may have known...

Overall - the hotel is ok, quite tired, friendly enough staff and clean rooms but not very comfortable. For a cheap short break you'd be better off at a Premier Inn. I didn't hate this hotel - but I think I was a bit surprised after having read the reviews here.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HellsBells30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2010

as with most of the reviewers of this hotel i can highly recommend both the room and the food

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2010

Excellent value for money.
Hotel is slightly tired but staff friendly and very welcoming.
Bed very comfortable and I normally sleep on a memory foam mattress.
Breakfast excellent..
Didn't have an evening meal at the hotel.
Excellent base.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IsobellaEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
1.3 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
0.8 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
419 reviews
0.7 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#5 of 16 in Canterbury
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
1,848 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
#1 of 1 in Upper Harbledown
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Victoria Hotel

Property: The Victoria Hotel
Address: 59 London Road, Canterbury CT2 8JY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Victoria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Canterbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing