We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and reasonable priced rooms”
Review of The Victoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Victoria Hotel
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Reviewed 2 November 2010

We spent 5 nights here visiting our daughter at University. The room was quite big and clean. The bathroom was also clean and the shower worked perfectly and no sign of a shredder in the toilet. The room and bathroom were cleaned every day and tea, coffee and biscuits replenished everyday. The only negative we have is that the morning breakfast service was lacking. The staff were very polite and apologetic and the manager was also very disappoonted that we had problems regarding our breakfast. He also tried to resolve the issues and we appreciated this. Would we stay again? Yes it was good value for money and the bed was enourmous, soft, bouncy and very comfortable and we had a flat screen tv with freeview and free wifi. We walked into Canterbury everyday and it was a pleasent walk through a park and although the hotel is situated on a main road we couldn't hear any traffic in our room.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrudiN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (419)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

326 - 332 of 419 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2010

We stayed at this hotel for a visit to daughter at Uni in Canterbury.
The good bits:
Service excellent and staff very polite
Location not bad, about a 10 min walk into the centre
Beds comfy

The bad bits:
Nasty smell in hotel, which it appears they are trying to mask with cleaning fluids?
Very worn, seats in dining room threadbear
Shower rubbish, went from hot to cold and back again

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaddyScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2010

Although this hotel is about a 15 minute walk to the heart of the city, it was worth the stay. We found the hotel staff to be very friendly and helpful. The room and hotel were always clean.
The price of the hotel was a value and helped us with our budget.
The restraunt/carvery, was very good and the food quite tasty.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aaron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2010

Got a midweek deal ( £59 ex breakfast) for wife & I. Room was 205 I think - a double bed and a single on top floor of rear block - no real view. I see the other reviews are mixed! There was no sign of a shredder (macerator) attached to our lavatory, and I never heard one operating, but obviously I cannot speak for the other rooms. It was quiet at night and in a quiet area although the main road was nearby. The walk into Canterbury is about 10 minutes and the reception clerk will explain a route which is partially through a park.
The reception and corridor areas had an unpleasant smell, of food or polish - not sure which, but the room was OK although quite dark. Bathroom was clean.
Meal at night was about £15 p head, - standard pub fare - lasagne, steak & chips etc.. Hotel probably too far to walk back into Canterbury to dine. Breakfast was standard continental or cooked (we paid extra for breakfast).
The public bar and dining areas are dated (like an explosion in a timber yard with stencils applied)
This is sold as a 3* hotel, and if you can get a room at a 3* price, you can be reasonably satisfied (shredder permitting).

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank northamptonoldby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2010

This hotel is in need of a refurbishment. The location is quite good with car parking but on a road and not the most desirable of areas.

On arrival, not the most friendliest of greetings, were not asked if we needed any help with our luggage or informed what time breakfast/dinner was. The communal areas were very dark and dingy, as was our room on the 2nd floor. The carpets in our room were grubby and dusty, the dark wood furniture was also dusty, the bathroom needed to be ripped out, the shower curtain was mouldy as was the bathroom ceiling. The walls are paper thin, could hear someone stomping around at 01.30.

The bar staff and the restaurant staff were very accommodating and the food in the evening wasn’t that bad. Breakfast isn’t included and thought that it was over priced.

To sum our stay up, we would say over priced and would not return.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S&ALLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2010

This hotel has shredders installed under every toilet. Every time somebody uses one, it makes one hell of a noise for about twenty minutes. I didn't sleep at all.
I talked to the staff and I sent a complaint, but they never got back to me.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vintiek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2010

This is a very old hotel that feels a little like an old people's home. It is straight from the 70's although the rooms are ok with a modern flat screen tv. No real problems though, good location, staff were fine, it's just about 20 pounds a night too expensive and DONT get the breakfast, overpriced and not high quality. Go down the road to Wetherspoons and get breakfast there, slightly better and a thrid of the price.

An average hotel that is over priced.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveyG1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
1.3 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
#1 of 1 in Upper Harbledown
765 reviews
0.7 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#6 of 16 in Canterbury
2,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#4 of 16 in Canterbury
469 reviews
0.7 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
296 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Falstaff in Canterbury
The Falstaff in Canterbury
#11 of 16 in Canterbury
1,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Victoria Hotel

Address: 59 London Road, Canterbury CT2 8JY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range: £45 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Victoria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your The Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Canterbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing