We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (458)
Filter reviews
458 results
Traveller rating
147
187
79
23
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
147
187
79
23
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews city centre big car park minute walk hot chocolate and biscuits triple room pub grub main road family room the ground floor booked rooms full english short break tea and coffee ideal location weekend stay four poster bed bed was comfortable
Filter
Updating list...
358 - 363 of 458 reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2010

We stayed at this hotel for a visit to daughter at Uni in Canterbury.
The good bits:
Service excellent and staff very polite
Location not bad, about a 10 min walk into the centre
Beds comfy

The bad bits:
Nasty smell in hotel, which it appears they are trying to mask with cleaning fluids?
Very worn, seats in dining room threadbear
Shower rubbish, went from hot to cold and back again

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaddyScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2010

Although this hotel is about a 15 minute walk to the heart of the city, it was worth the stay. We found the hotel staff to be very friendly and helpful. The room and hotel were always clean.
The price of the hotel was a value and helped us with our budget.
The restraunt/carvery, was very good and the food quite tasty.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aaron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2010

Got a midweek deal ( £59 ex breakfast) for wife & I. Room was 205 I think - a double bed and a single on top floor of rear block - no real view. I see the other reviews are mixed! There was no sign of a shredder (macerator) attached to our lavatory, and I never heard one operating, but obviously I cannot speak for the other rooms. It was quiet at night and in a quiet area although the main road was nearby. The walk into Canterbury is about 10 minutes and the reception clerk will explain a route which is partially through a park.
The reception and corridor areas had an unpleasant smell, of food or polish - not sure which, but the room was OK although quite dark. Bathroom was clean.
Meal at night was about £15 p head, - standard pub fare - lasagne, steak & chips etc.. Hotel probably too far to walk back into Canterbury to dine. Breakfast was standard continental or cooked (we paid extra for breakfast).
The public bar and dining areas are dated (like an explosion in a timber yard with stencils applied)
This is sold as a 3* hotel, and if you can get a room at a 3* price, you can be reasonably satisfied (shredder permitting).

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank northamptonoldby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2010

This hotel is in need of a refurbishment. The location is quite good with car parking but on a road and not the most desirable of areas.

On arrival, not the most friendliest of greetings, were not asked if we needed any help with our luggage or informed what time breakfast/dinner was. The communal areas were very dark and dingy, as was our room on the 2nd floor. The carpets in our room were grubby and dusty, the dark wood furniture was also dusty, the bathroom needed to be ripped out, the shower curtain was mouldy as was the bathroom ceiling. The walls are paper thin, could hear someone stomping around at 01.30.

The bar staff and the restaurant staff were very accommodating and the food in the evening wasn’t that bad. Breakfast isn’t included and thought that it was over priced.

To sum our stay up, we would say over priced and would not return.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Destination802713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2010

This hotel has shredders installed under every toilet. Every time somebody uses one, it makes one hell of a noise for about twenty minutes. I didn't sleep at all.
I talked to the staff and I sent a complaint, but they never got back to me.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vintiek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews