We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm welcome in a blizzard”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Victoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Victoria Hotel
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Devon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Warm welcome in a blizzard”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2010

Three of us arrived at midnight, stranded by the snow in Canterbury. We were quickly accomodated, the bar remained open and we had a good night's sleep and a great breakfast.

My colleagues did notice the "shredder problem" referred to in other postings.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dr_Pedro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    167
    70
    20
    19
See reviews for
93
140
26
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2010

Our third stay at the Victoria Hotel, as always the service and room were excellent, the distance into town is not a problem,only a ten minute walk, the restaurant does need to be a little better though, but overall a good base in which to visit Canterbury

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2010

We spent 5 nights here visiting our daughter at University. The room was quite big and clean. The bathroom was also clean and the shower worked perfectly and no sign of a shredder in the toilet. The room and bathroom were cleaned every day and tea, coffee and biscuits replenished everyday. The only negative we have is that the morning breakfast service was lacking. The staff were very polite and apologetic and the manager was also very disappoonted that we had problems regarding our breakfast. He also tried to resolve the issues and we appreciated this. Would we stay again? Yes it was good value for money and the bed was enourmous, soft, bouncy and very comfortable and we had a flat screen tv with freeview and free wifi. We walked into Canterbury everyday and it was a pleasent walk through a park and although the hotel is situated on a main road we couldn't hear any traffic in our room.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrudiN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2010

We stayed at this hotel for a visit to daughter at Uni in Canterbury.
The good bits:
Service excellent and staff very polite
Location not bad, about a 10 min walk into the centre
Beds comfy

The bad bits:
Nasty smell in hotel, which it appears they are trying to mask with cleaning fluids?
Very worn, seats in dining room threadbear
Shower rubbish, went from hot to cold and back again

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaddyScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2010

Although this hotel is about a 15 minute walk to the heart of the city, it was worth the stay. We found the hotel staff to be very friendly and helpful. The room and hotel were always clean.
The price of the hotel was a value and helped us with our budget.
The restraunt/carvery, was very good and the food quite tasty.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aaron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2010

Got a midweek deal ( £59 ex breakfast) for wife & I. Room was 205 I think - a double bed and a single on top floor of rear block - no real view. I see the other reviews are mixed! There was no sign of a shredder (macerator) attached to our lavatory, and I never heard one operating, but obviously I cannot speak for the other rooms. It was quiet at night and in a quiet area although the main road was nearby. The walk into Canterbury is about 10 minutes and the reception clerk will explain a route which is partially through a park.
The reception and corridor areas had an unpleasant smell, of food or polish - not sure which, but the room was OK although quite dark. Bathroom was clean.
Meal at night was about £15 p head, - standard pub fare - lasagne, steak & chips etc.. Hotel probably too far to walk back into Canterbury to dine. Breakfast was standard continental or cooked (we paid extra for breakfast).
The public bar and dining areas are dated (like an explosion in a timber yard with stencils applied)
This is sold as a 3* hotel, and if you can get a room at a 3* price, you can be reasonably satisfied (shredder permitting).

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank northamptonoldby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
118 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2010

This hotel is in need of a refurbishment. The location is quite good with car parking but on a road and not the most desirable of areas.

On arrival, not the most friendliest of greetings, were not asked if we needed any help with our luggage or informed what time breakfast/dinner was. The communal areas were very dark and dingy, as was our room on the 2nd floor. The carpets in our room were grubby and dusty, the dark wood furniture was also dusty, the bathroom needed to be ripped out, the shower curtain was mouldy as was the bathroom ceiling. The walls are paper thin, could hear someone stomping around at 01.30.

The bar staff and the restaurant staff were very accommodating and the food in the evening wasn’t that bad. Breakfast isn’t included and thought that it was over priced.

To sum our stay up, we would say over priced and would not return.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S&ALLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
1.3 mi away
Abbots Barton Hotel
Abbots Barton Hotel
#3 of 16 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,067 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
0.7 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#4 of 16 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
0.9 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 16 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,112 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Falstaff in Canterbury
The Falstaff in Canterbury
#12 of 16 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Victoria Hotel

Property: The Victoria Hotel
Address: 59 London Road, Canterbury CT2 8JY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Victoria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Canterbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing