We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food but expensive and poor service!”

The Goods Shed Restaurant
Ranked #36 of 369 Restaurants in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$47
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great food but expensive and poor service!”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Great setting and quality of food good. Lunch prices expensive with main courses around £16 and starters £7.Poor service- Unfortunately the waitress brought olives instead of almonds , could not tell if the wine was the chardonnay we ordered , passed me the plate needlessly and said its very hot !She could not tell the difference between fish and chicken dish!! Credit card machine failed to work so paid in cash with a generous tip. This was rewarded with 27 x 10p coins in my change! Purports to be a quality restaurant but needs higher standards

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank falcon38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    279
    179
    58
    26
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very good restaurant, great atmosphere.”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

There were five of us and everything we've ordered was good, honest food beautifully prepared. Pricing very reasonable. For all of us enjoying great food on a terrace overlooking bustling food market was a big plus.

This is the restaurant I would visit at least once a month if I lived in close enough proximity.

Helpful?
Thank Boris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire, UK
Level Contributor
99 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“What a find...”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Without doubt the best restaurant we found during a holiday in Canterbury.
Inside the old Goods Shed, (along with the Farmers' Market where they get most of their ingredients) so it's a nice rustic feel. It's a large space which helps keep the noise down. (If you like noisy restaurants with music, etc, go somewhere else!)
The food was excellent, the wine list is good and the service was cheerful, friendly and efficient.
Would love to go again but I live 200 miles away!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank php5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
257 reviews
194 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Good traditional british cuisine”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

It's a restaurant inside the market, it's a very nice location just 50 metres from the local station.

It's not too big so it's better to book. I really enjoyed the starters "fishcakes" and "courgettes", the main courses "Kr Chicken" and "Rabbit main". I expected more from the cake, a "Buttermilk". Anyway, noone is perfect!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank francemer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Hake so fresh”
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

Our third visit to Rafael at the goods shed and it didn't disappoint .although Rafael was not cooking his staff did not let down.
The crab risotto followed by the hake was cooked to perfection.
Our waitress was very attentive and friendly.
A truly good night had by all.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Goods Shed Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Goods Shed Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing