We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Delightful homely renovated medieval property”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Old Alms House

The Old Alms House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Old Alms House
Living Room 
View A Living Room 
View B
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
The Old Alms House
Living Room 
View A
Living Room 
View B
Looking out to south garden
Kitchen 
View A
Kitchen 
View B
Bedroom 4
View A
Bedroom 4
View B
Bedroom 4
En-suite shower room
Bedroom 3
View A
Bedroom 3
View B
Bathroom
Bedroom 2
View A
Bedroom 2
View B
Bedroom 2
View C
En-suite Shower room
to Bedroom 2
Bedroom 1
View A
Bedroom 1
View B
South terrace
Table, seating and bar-be-cue to south terrace
south garden
Oak framed building to give undercover parking
The Old Alms House showing the relationship to the Granary
Wingham Church a short walk away.
Distance view to Wingham Church
Wingham- the local shopping centre.
Canterbury Cathedral- a fifteen minute drive away
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Canterbury, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Marion B
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
1 review
“Delightful homely renovated medieval property”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Our family enjoyed a relaxing week in this thoughtfully renovated Alms House in the peaceful countryside of Wingham near Canterbury which is within easy reach of the Kent coast. As mentioned in other reviews there is plenty of green (not lawn) area for play outside - we took a swing ball and Frisbee with us. Besides Wingham Wild Life Park close by, there is also Howletts zoo a few miles away or for those interested in walking or cycling there is Fowlmead a designated walking/cycling park with a children's play area.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: The airy ambience of the downstairs area and quiet location.
Liked least: The fridge space was rather limited.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penny C
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful, fascinating property in a peaceful location”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

It was a real pleasure staying in the Old Alms House - having the chance to live in a real piece of history, yet with a very homely and contemporary feel. The owner was very welcoming, and happy to answer all our questions about how he had created this space, extending the original building with another fascinating piece of architecture - the oak framed vaulted wagon lodge. The photos give a good idea of the lovely furnishings and the light, airy feel, but what they cannot convey is the spaciousness of the living area - a really sociable, relaxing space, with beautiful vaulted ceiling. We enjoyed a summer stay, and were very fortunate with the weather which meant we got to make good use of the outdoor space, including the lovely outdoor table. The dining table is a very generous size, and I could imagine the Old Alms House making a great venue for a winter/Christmas get together. There are some nice pubs around where we occasionally ate, when we were too lazy to make use of the well equipped kitchen, including a lovely large oven, and it was also very convenient for visiting Canterbury. We would definitely recommend this property!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H T
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delightful character cottage”
Reviewed 8 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

A delightful cottage with a period but modern feel. Set in a quite estate with a huge garden for children or adults to run around. It came with a decent size outdoor barbecue which made having a bbq on a gorgeous day absolutely perfect with the wooden outdoor seating to compliment.
Ample parking for 3 cars. Nearest supermarkets ie. Tesco etc in canterbury town about 5 miles away.
Beaches easily reachable under 30 mins. Dover very close, and even zoo for the kids less than 10 mins away.
It was a great stay and the owner very helpful and considerate.
Would recommend to everyone.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anjana T
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“An absolutely amazing cottage..”
Reviewed 30 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

I must say that this is one of the best cottages I have stayed in so far. The owner James, was very nice and polite. He had everything that we would need in the cottage for us. Knowing that we were travelling with children he even had plastic cuttlery for the kids. The bbq in the garden was just amazing. The cottage is stunning with a big garden. I must say that the pictures don't do justice to the cottage as it is much more beautiful in real. If we get a chance to go to Canterbury again we would definitely stay there.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jsingh311...
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“To me and my family it was live living in peace and happiness so quiet and peaceful”
Reviewed 27 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

I would be happier to have extended my stay by month or two but everything has to come to a end. The home was clean and no problems at all shop and supermarkets were close and we even when to the white cliff which was 30 minutes away. Beaches are very close too the only problem was the weather it rained for two days and sun shined for two

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing