We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Visiting an old friend”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Canterbury
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Acacia Lodge & Tanglewood Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #12 of 81 Canterbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
1 review
“Visiting an old friend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

The rooms are well presented, spotlessly clean, no-frills and the bathrooms bright and functional.

Breakfast is more than adequate and the seating convivial. We met families, tradesmen, students, lecturers and foreign visitors over breakfast; all had the same positive impression as myself.

It is an ideal B&B for overnight stays or for several nights. I can recommend it for it's outstanding family friendliness and is very good value for money.

John Trinder/ Luxembourg

Room Tip: Apart from the general quality of the B&B, there is room to park cars off-road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hubert-John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    18
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
46
59
12
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

We stay at Acacia Lodge every time we come to visit family in Canterbury. Spotless rooms, freshly laundered linens and towels, beautifully made beds and delicious full English breakfast. Free parking, great location, walking distance to the city centre and train station - great base for visiting this area. Excellent value for money!
In addition, Tam and Mark are very friendly and helpful, always go an extra mile to satisfy our little requests e.g. late arrival time, extra serving at the breakfast, booking theatre tickets etc.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lboro_monsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langley, BC
Level Contributor
155 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

This B&B is very well-located and run by Tam - a charming hostess who has a very interesting story to tell. The double rooms are small. The pillows were awful and the bath towels extremely thin! This things can be easily fixed. Full English Breakfast was very good. At 70 pounds per night it was a good value. Tam, thank you for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladydocBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

Although we only live 20 miles away, fancied a nice day/evening out in Canterbury & as it was last minute decision & bank holiday weekend we had trouble finding somewhere to stay. Found this on a different site from the norm & phoned on the off chance, one room left. So pleased when we arrived, great location just a short walk into town, friendly welcome, fantastic room. Can't wait to come back, we love Canterbury & now we have found our ideal B&B with comfy beds & perfect hosts we will be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richardlizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2013

Acacia Lodge is a lovely B&B in great location. We are regular visitors to Canterbury and Tam and Mark really make you feel at home during the stay. The rooms are lovely, the breakfast is delicious and the hosts are wonderful. What more could you want?

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony_M0_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
437 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 358 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2013

Cute accommodations, lovely hosts, and great location! Innkeepers were sweet and full of knowledge on where to go and what to do. Rooms were cozy and clean with coffee and tea. The breakfast was delicious and plentiful. Location is great - quick walk into town, but not too close to hear the Uni students out on the town at night. Great stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HollisterRanchGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013

We've been visiting Canterbury every Summer for the last 10 years and always come back to Acacia Lodge. Tam and Mark are the perfect hosts, unfailingly polite and nothing's ever too much trouble. Great prices and great location too. I'd happily recommend Acacia to anyone looking to visit this beautiful city, always a treat.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarcP240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.7 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
1.2 mi away
Abbots Barton Hotel
Abbots Barton Hotel
#3 of 17 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
0.6 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 17 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,111 reviews
0.7 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#4 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
0.3 mi away
House of Agnes
House of Agnes
#2 of 81 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acacia Lodge & Tanglewood Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acacia Lodge & Tanglewood Bed & Breakfast

Property: Acacia Lodge & Tanglewood Bed & Breakfast
Address: 39 London Road, Canterbury CT2 8LF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Canterbury
Hotel Class:4 star — Acacia Lodge & Tanglewood Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and Breakfast Hotel in Historic Canterbury. These two charming 19th-century cottages are conveniently located for the city, Canterbury West Station, and the University of Kent. This family-run B & B offers clean & comfortable accommodation at affordable prices. Off-street parking is available. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing