We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful hosts” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Acacia Lodge & Tanglewood Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Canterbury
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Acacia Lodge & Tanglewood Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #10 of 81 Canterbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

This was our second visit to Acacia Lodge and the welcome we received from our hosts was just as warm as it was when we first stayed here two years ago. This cosy B&B is in an ideal location within walking distance from the town centre, railway station and uni. The rooms are comfortable and clean and the breakfast certainly hits the spot. The off street parking is a real bonus as parking in the area is limited. It was lovely to meet the other guests over breakfast and the owners really go the extra mile to ensure their guests have a wonderful stay in Canterbury.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are slightly quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigCatTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    18
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
46
59
12
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malta, Europe
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013 via mobile

I have been to stay there several times and would definitely not consider staying anywhere else. Tam and Mark have been so good to us and really helped out when we were in a fix! They treated us like family.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

Acacia Lodge is a special place in Canterbury. Lovely B&B with wonderful hosts who make you feel right at home! Great location, walking distance to town centre and with easy bus links for trips out of town. Rooms, although on the smaller side, fit perfectly the old house and the breakfast is always great - really good coffee needs a special mention! A great part is the chance to meet people over the breakfast table - from tradesmen and workers to Uni lecturers, with Tam, the owner, breaking ice for everyone present. Free parking is a great bonus, as Canterbury's streets are rather tight for parking places.
If you're looking for a reasonably priced place with character, where the owners will make you feel like a part of the family, Acacia Lodge is a perfect choice!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aleksandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

The rooms are well presented, spotlessly clean, no-frills and the bathrooms bright and functional.

Breakfast is more than adequate and the seating convivial. We met families, tradesmen, students, lecturers and foreign visitors over breakfast; all had the same positive impression as myself.

It is an ideal B&B for overnight stays or for several nights. I can recommend it for it's outstanding family friendliness and is very good value for money.

John Trinder/ Luxembourg

Room Tip: Apart from the general quality of the B&B, there is room to park cars off-road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hubert-John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

We stay at Acacia Lodge every time we come to visit family in Canterbury. Spotless rooms, freshly laundered linens and towels, beautifully made beds and delicious full English breakfast. Free parking, great location, walking distance to the city centre and train station - great base for visiting this area. Excellent value for money!
In addition, Tam and Mark are very friendly and helpful, always go an extra mile to satisfy our little requests e.g. late arrival time, extra serving at the breakfast, booking theatre tickets etc.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lboro_monsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langley, BC
Level Contributor
148 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

This B&B is very well-located and run by Tam - a charming hostess who has a very interesting story to tell. The double rooms are small. The pillows were awful and the bath towels extremely thin! This things can be easily fixed. Full English Breakfast was very good. At 70 pounds per night it was a good value. Tam, thank you for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ladydocBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

Although we only live 20 miles away, fancied a nice day/evening out in Canterbury & as it was last minute decision & bank holiday weekend we had trouble finding somewhere to stay. Found this on a different site from the norm & phoned on the off chance, one room left. So pleased when we arrived, great location just a short walk into town, friendly welcome, fantastic room. Can't wait to come back, we love Canterbury & now we have found our ideal B&B with comfy beds & perfect hosts we will be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank richardlizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.6 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
1.2 mi away
Abbots Barton Hotel
Abbots Barton Hotel
#3 of 17 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,038 reviews
0.6 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 17 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,093 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#13 of 17 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Retro B&B
The Retro B&B
#6 of 81 in Canterbury
5.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acacia Lodge & Tanglewood Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acacia Lodge & Tanglewood Bed & Breakfast

Property: Acacia Lodge & Tanglewood Bed & Breakfast
Address: 39 London Road, Canterbury CT2 8LF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Canterbury
Hotel Class:4 star — Acacia Lodge & Tanglewood Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and Breakfast Hotel in Historic Canterbury. These two charming 19th-century cottages are conveniently located for the city, Canterbury West Station, and the University of Kent. This family-run B & B offers clean & comfortable accommodation at affordable prices. Off-street parking is available. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing