We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely place to stay”
Review of Sylvan Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Canterbury
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sylvan Cottage
Ranked #62 of 75 Canterbury B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A lovely place to stay”
Reviewed 29 May 2012

My wife and I had a 3 very enjoyable nights at Sylvan and would recommend to others.

Positives:

- Friendly/approachable hosts (flexible with arrival/departure times)
- Clean and tidy with thoughtful extras such as fruit bowl, biscuits, shampoo etc. in the room
- Large open conservatory shared area
- Medium sized attractive garden
- Useful small guest kitchen with fridge etc.
- High quality décor throughout
- Wireless broadband (4MB approx.)
- Electric shower
- Good parking
- Located just 5 mins drive from Canterbury centre, a beautiful city

Negatives:

- Bedroom door not sound proofed so need to be considerate of other guests
- No lock on bedroom door
- Beside road (although didn't really hear traffic when bathroom window was closed)
- Not the comfiest bed
- Shower pressure a little on the low side (although most electric showers are in my experience)
- Curtains for decoration only

Note: No swimming pool or leisure facilities

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andypandypud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    10
    1
    1
    4
See reviews for
17
34
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Buxton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

This is our first time posting a review on this website, but the Jac & Chris rightly deserve it.
Fantastic facilities - big, comfortable rooms with lovely touches like fruit, Easter eggs, bottled water, kid's bubble bath/rubber ducks (they even provided a cupboard with items that one may have forgotten to take, like paracetamol, toothpaste/toothbrushes etc).
Beautiful sitting/dining room with access to fully equipped (and stocked!) kitchen.
V comfy beds.
Wonderful breakfast... more than we could possibly eat!
Friendly hosts, helpful and welcoming who went the extra mile to return something precious to us that our daughter had left in the room on departure.
Overall, a wonderful base for exploring Canterbury and its surroundings.
Thanks again Jac
Dan, Alice & Kira

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZ
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012 via mobile

The room, facilities and breakfast were 5 star.
Excelent value for money.

The post it notes and two pages of rules were a bit 1970's Blackpool Landlady.

The owners need to accept that 99% of their clients know how to behave and don't need reminding.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank wadestuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sylvanc0ttage, Owner at Sylvan Cottage, responded to this review, 22 April 2012
We are very pleased these guests found our breakfasts and accommodation good, and agree that considerate and thoughtful guests do prefer the words ’enjoy’ and ‘yes’ without warning signs everywhere. ‘Make sure the front door is kept firmly closed’ is our only ‘rule’ because all guests have their own key.
‘Post it’ orders are very popular during the leisurely 4 hour weekend breakfast slot we offer, as it enables us to serve freshly prepared English breakfast, at a time convenient to individual guests.
Our garden/play equipment signage has to comply with strict safety regulations, and like most establishments we have an ‘information sheet’ which gives guests answers to FAQ’s
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester,Kent.UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

We have just returned from a two night stay at the cottage.Well what can i say....they just seem to have thought of everything! Steps in the rooms/bathrooms for the kids,nightlights,a cot,baby bath,toys,books,dvd's,kids toilettries,nappy bags,toothbrushes and toothpaste if youve forgotten yours,sewing kits,bath robes,high quality linen and towels,high chairs,plastic plates bowls and cups for the kids,a guest kitchen well laid out with tea coffee etc and biscuits.A beautiful freshly cooked breakfast all organic,gorgeous bacon sausage and eggs!!!
We had a double room with an attached room for the kids,with ensuite.Bathroom is very nicely decorated,and a very powerful shower ;)
This place is an absolute little gem,and i hope i get the chance to stay there again in the future.We were attending a wedding next door (50yards away) at Winters Barn wedding venue,i just hope more family decide to do it there now!
Thanks again Chris & Jac
The Horns x

Room Tip: We had the upstairs double room with the attached room for the two kids.Only a few stairs but had gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hornster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Absolutely faultless, ignore the daft reviews written on here I think some people have nothing better to do than whinge!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daveygrohl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisbech, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

We have just returned from Sylvan Cottage where we spent a very pleasant evening and enjoyed our stay. Jac's hospitality was first-class and she had clearly thought of everything. We would just like to mention something in the spirit of constructive criticism which we hope will be taken in the spirit in which it is meant.
As a family of four we divided ourselves between the twin and double rooms at the end of the corridor, Our children were given the twin room with its roomy double shower, whereas my wife and I had the double room. On entering the room my first thought was that there was no bathroom, only to find that it was hiding behind a louvre door. This door, unfortunately, gives very little privacy for the person sitting on the toilet!!

Our suggestion would be to swap the double and twin room round by exchanging the beds and put a new door on the bathroom. Other than that, we were very happy with everything.

Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank 45eminence45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Sylvan Cottage, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
Thanks for your helpful review and pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
Our family room unfortunately gets booked up a long time in advance, otherwise we would have strongly recommended this for your family.
The particular room you stayed in does have a tiny ensuite, which we always tell our guests about beforehand and is reflected in the room rate. Twin beds would obviously not be a sensible option with such a small bathroom, but It is however very popular with single guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeshire UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

We stayed for 3 nights and had the twin/queen bedroom downstairs located just off the guest lounge. Our room, guest lounge and guest kitchen had all been decorated to a very high standard and I particularly liked the tiled floors throughout the downstairs accommodation as I can think of nothing worse than musty smelling carpets , everything was very clean and fresh ( no nasty smells or tatty wallpaper in sight)
The guest kitchen was a real bonus, I am not particularly keen on eating out because I am rather fussy therefore it was great to be able to make simple meals in the evening. The kitchen is well stocked with a fridge, dishwasher, hob, microwave/combo oven, huge selection of crockery and pans, guests are welcome to use the kitchen at any time and this is very useful if you are on a budget as we fine eating out can be rather expensive.
My husband really enjoyed the cooked breakfast and a very good selection of high quality cereals, fresh fruit, yogurts and fresh bread were also on offer. Tea and coffee making in the guest kitchen were available at any time and we enjoyed sitting in the warm cosy lounge in the evening.
We walked into Canterbury across the field at the back of the school (Jac will give you a map if you ask) it took us about 30 minutes.
Jac and Chris are extremely professional it is very clear to see from the standards set that they have been running a B&B for some considerable time. This is a really fantastic place to stay and I would say it is in a league of its own, so much more than your average B&B, Jac and Chris are very friendly and the house has a lovely relaxed atmosphere.

Room Tip: Lovely B&B, downstairs room would be suitable for older guests. Guest kitchen a real BONUS.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MADAMMOZZY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
#1 of 1 in Upper Harbledown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments
1.1 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre Hotel
1.3 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#5 of 16 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
3.1 mi away
Stable Lodge B&B
Stable Lodge B&B
#2 of 4 in Petham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sylvan Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sylvan Cottage

Property: Sylvan Cottage
Address: Sylvan Cottage Nackington Road, Canterbury CT4 7AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Canterbury
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Share our Country Living recommended 17th-century cottage with inglenooks and beams. Large comfortable beds, and en-suite rooms overlooking our secluded country garden surrounded by fields. Enjoy sizzling English breakfast platters, log fires, real country walks and cycle rides. Take a pleasant walk into Canterbury City Centre or stroll down the road to watch some County Cricket. Escape across the Channel, an easy 20 minute drive away. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing