We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good location, friendly staff...and quite charming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sun Hotel and Tea Rooms
Ranked #67 of 75 Canterbury B&B and Inns
Québec (ville), Canada
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very good location, friendly staff...and quite charming”
Reviewed 4 September 2011

This was our first hotel along a three week vacation around southern England - we stayed one night with our two young sons. Staff was very friendly and helpful. The reception area was not pleasant at all, but once you were along the winding stairs and charming rooms, everything was fine. We had the room at the top of the building, with charming leaded windows and superb views of the street and the cathedral. The furniture was cheap, but fine. The bathroom was beautifully refurbished. We were literally in the center of the old city, minutes from the cathedral, so it can become noisy at times - but we were so tired we barely noticed. Please note that parking is almost impossible as I had to park in a public parking about a 10 minute walk from the hotel - but there was a place to leave the car in front of the hotel to pack and unpack.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pascpat4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    25
    25
    12
    30
See reviews for
17
70
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2010

We were visiting Canterbury for the day and stayed at the Sun Hotel for one night, as it is situated right in the middle of the City it had no car park, but one of the staff members helped us find the car park right near to the hotel, we wre greeted with a very warm welcome and stayed in the Dickens Suite, which was most comfortable and every need catered for.
There are absolutey loads of different resteraunts to choose from for an evening meal, but don't eat to late because breakfast is Fantastic.
All in all it was a very very nice stay. would recommend.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark2010186298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liege, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 November 2010

very expensive and not worth the money; we haven't had the room we booked (but "higher "standard as said); heathing wasn't working : we had an electric heather, a bit damaged! but the cold was coming from the window (not double glazed); the bed wasn't comfortable at all and the sheets weren't very clean; the man at reception was odd but the worse was the noise coming from outside due to the location ( It's possible to sleep between 2 and 6 o'clock); breakfast wasn't very good and served in a cold room; when we complained, the man said that the room we had booked "would have been as noisy"!!
the only good point : the jacuzzi in the bathroom (working properly!)
this location shouldn't be considered as a hotel, not even an inn.
when we left, he asked us if we wanted a receipt!!!which is compulsory!!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liege45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Canterbury hotels

Oxford, Mississippi
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 October 2010

We were very surprised to find this old place (507 years) so cozy and comfortable. The room had all the amenities under the old oak beams. The staff upgraded us to a nice little suite up a set of narrow, steep and winding stairs. Breakfast was very good. The staff was helpful and pleasant. The only downside is that being in the middle of the pub area, the revelers in the streets can be loud late at night.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SOscarD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magny-les-Hameaux, France
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2010

A very nice hotel in the historic Canterbury. Our room was cosy and well decorated. The street was a bit noisy on the Saturday evening but acceptable. Confortable bed, nice bathroom. We appreciated the staff who was very kind to us.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidpauline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2010

This was a great hotel, lovely hotel, lots of charachter ,very clean and unique hotel.
Breakfast was great and for a small family run hotel , hard to find better.
I will be back.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lazycouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2010

Hotel nicely situated,just what we wanted a place to stay while we explored the area,would stay there again

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brilyn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.0 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
431 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pilgrims Hotel
Pilgrims Hotel
#11 of 16 in Canterbury
293 reviews
0.1 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
1,876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#5 of 16 in Canterbury
276 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hawks Lane Lodge
Hawks Lane Lodge
#40 of 75 in Canterbury
26 reviews
0.2 mi away
The White House
The White House
#6 of 75 in Canterbury
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Hotel and Tea Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Hotel and Tea Rooms

Property: Sun Hotel and Tea Rooms
Address: Canterbury CT1 2HX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sun Hotel and Tea Rooms 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Book Direct Rooms and Cancelon so you can book your Sun Hotel and Tea Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Hotel Canterbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing