We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sun Hotel and Tea Rooms
Ranked #67 of 74 Canterbury B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 April 2013 via mobile

Such a beautiful hatel and great servive that made us feel very welcome. Our room was very clean and had been freshly painted. I like to say thank you Sun for a lovley stay and hope to stay again very soon

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sakispa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (125)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 125 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2013

This is a lovely place, with stunning bedrooms and great location. It's a pity that is not given a worth use. The staff is friendly, yes, but when I am paying those amounts, I expect more than friendly manners. The wi-fi didn't covered our room and no alternative was offered. The breakfast was sad... The staff being absence, it was the owner to cook it... as I said, it was sad The second day we didn't dare.
In my opinion, you could level up your service to balance it with the rest.

Room Tip: Sun Room with the jacuzzi, I think that is the only reason I would come back to the place. But remem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pepita P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2013 via mobile

Unique and charming place in a very central but quiet location, just seconds from the cathedral entrance. I couldn't have wished for a more comfortable stay, my only regret was that my stay was for just the one night.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geo360h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2013

On our arrival we were met by a helpful member of staff who upgraded us to the Sun room. Loved the room which was warm and clean and had a jacuzzi and beautiful bed. Yes, you could hear the goings on of the street below but it's a very old building! It did seem a little odd that the place was rather deserted as the staff were only there to let us in and in then in the morning. Both of whom were very friendly. It suited our needs perfectly and I would happily stay again. The only drawback being no on site parking but that's expected given the location.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jubbags4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

This delightful little hotel is in a perfect spot right in the middle of the old city and on the face of it all is perfectly acceptable. Apart from the price. When I am paying three times as much as just about anywhere else in town, I want better attention to detail. The staff were friendly and it is only niggles that annoyed me but as I said for the money, they could try a lot harder to satisfy the more discerning of visitors.

Room Tip: I was in the Sun Room. Great views along three medieval streets and a whirlpool bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2013

I booked a £100 room last weekend and when I arrived there was nobody there. All doors were locked with just a piece of paper with a phone number stuck to a wall. I called but it went straight to voicemail, a redirected landline to a mobile. 26 calls later over 1 hour in -2 conditions and the same! In the end I had to pay another £100 for another hotel elsewhere. The guy didn't even reply to a single voicemail message I left. Compete scam!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Immy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

The hotel has a fantastic location right in the heart of Canterbury next to the Cathedral. The hotel itself is a very old building which was very charming, as were the staff. We booked a family suit but sadly it wasn't suitable for children as it had no bath and lots of cables running down the walls from tv's/ videos's / kettles etc. it also had lots of plug holes at toddler face height with no covers, most annoyingly there was no high chair or breakfast option for kids ie no fresh fruit or yoghurt or cereal. Sleeping was tricky due to the bright hall lights coming in under the door and a previously set alarm going off on snooze from 5am. However a charming hotel great for seeing the sights of Canterbury.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#6 of 16 in Canterbury
2,029 reviews
0 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
0 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#4 of 16 in Canterbury
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
#1 of 1 in Upper Harbledown
755 reviews
0 mi away
City of Canterbury B&B
City of Canterbury B&B
#9 of 74 in Canterbury
151 reviews
0 mi away
Evenhill
Evenhill
#1 of 2 in Littlebourne
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Hotel and Tea Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Hotel and Tea Rooms

Address: Canterbury CT1 2HX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in Canterbury
Price Range: £97 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sun Hotel and Tea Rooms 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Sun Hotel and Tea Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Hotel Canterbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing