We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel but thier childrenspolt it.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sun Hotel and Tea Rooms
Ranked #67 of 75 Canterbury B&B and Inns
Surrey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel but thier childrenspolt it.”
Reviewed 1 June 2008

When we arrived we were not sure where to go as there did not seem to be an abvious reception but we soon found that it was in the restuarant/bar. The staff were very pleasant our room was not ready so they took our bags and checked us in. When we returned later in the eve the owner was there with his baby daughter (5 months old) we were talking to him about the hotel and I was talking to the baby when the older brother who is five came into the room. He smacked my arm and told me to leave his sister alone, I asked him his name and he said "shut up". His mum did tell not to talk like that but he took no notice, he then went off the the kitchen and came back with ice cubes which he threw at me. Again his parents did very little to stop him they just said he was jealous of his sister. I am sorry but I do not pay this kind of money to go away and be abused by a spolit brat like him.
He was also rude to the staff that worked there, I do not have any objection to children in a hotel but they really do need to learn manners or they will have no customers. The hotel itself was pleasant and we had a very nice room, unfortunately they do not have a car park so we have to park in a public car park and this lead to our car being damaged (which is not the hotels fault) but non the less on top of their son and the vandalism I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The spoilt brat of a son
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michellebeckett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    25
    25
    11
    30
See reviews for
16
69
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
london
1 review
Reviewed 6 May 2008

the hotel was incredible, as the staff was. When we arrived the owner greeted us very smiling.
The room was great, clean and the toilet amaizing.
Impossible to improve!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! The staff were extremely friendly and approachable, the rooms were clean and well kept, we were made very welcome all through our stay and would definately recommend the Sun Hotel to anyone staying in Canterbury - for anyone wanting an ornate 4-poster bed, try the Dickens Room - not many rooms in this establishment, so quite exclusive! The hotel is also part of the tour in the centre of town, which is quite a novelty. Should the mood take you, watch the people look up in your direction and give you a feeling of having reached at least minor-celebrity status, else close the velvet curtains and sleep well.

  • Liked — The location, the room and everything else about the hotel.
  • Disliked — Has no faults at all
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank hotelknow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canterbury
1 review
Reviewed 1 May 2008

Janine
Mature couple
Eastcote, United Kingdom
September 6, 2007 Staff: Clean: Value for money:
Services: Comfort:

The Sun Hotel was all that we hoped it would be, an authentic and traditional small hotel (500 years old) but modernised where appropriate. The individually named rooms are lovely, full of character, and the location was ideal for our purposes, right at the heart of all the attractions in the city centre, and close to a variety of eating establishments. The manager/owner of The Sun is a very nice man indeed, he was very helpful and friendly to us, and enthusiastic about his plans for the future of his hotel. It is well worth a visit to the tea rooms at The Sun, even if not staying at the hotel, to soak up the atmosphere and admire the building. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, thank you!

  • Liked — location- atmosphere-building-staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank gavril5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2007

The owner of The Sun was not forthcoming about things like the fact that the internet shuts down when he drops the metal doors at 10:00 PM and that there isn't any internet in the rooms. (Internet Access is an advertised feature here). He also neglected to mention before we arrived, that there was scaffolding on 2 sides of the hotel with construction beginning in the mornings at about 6-7 AM.

The rooms were small with low ceilings. The hotel seemed to sink most of the money into the bathrooms and the giant tub and fancy mosaic tile money could have been better spent on the room, the drapes, more wireless routers, and perhaps some retrofitted sound proofing.

The owner also has a small child that follows guests up to their rooms, rides his bike in the common room (where the owners seem to also live) and runs up and down the stairs.

If you can, find another place to stay in Canterbury.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — rooms, amenities
  • Stayed August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank anonEmouseScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Canterbury hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.0 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
0.1 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,819 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pilgrims Hotel
Pilgrims Hotel
#10 of 16 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Castle House Hotel
Castle House Hotel
#11 of 16 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hawks Lane Lodge
Hawks Lane Lodge
#41 of 75 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
0.1 mi away
Greyfriars Lodge
Greyfriars Lodge
#66 of 75 in Canterbury
3.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Hotel and Tea Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Hotel and Tea Rooms

Property: Sun Hotel and Tea Rooms
Address: Canterbury CT1 2HX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sun Hotel and Tea Rooms 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Sun Hotel and Tea Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Hotel Canterbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing