We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sun Hotel and Tea Rooms
Ranked #66 of 73 Canterbury B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 September 2008

we were greeted by the chef, who was not sure of the location of our room. We asked if we could have breakfast at 8am as my husband was on business, we were told "no". We went out for the evening and when we returned we were refused a drink at the bar. The breakfast consisted of microwaved french bakery and no offer of juice or fresh fruit or indeed anything. Staff most unfriendly and for £195 per night they have a nerve. The sun is not even worthy of a good Bed and Breakfast. My husband left at 8.15 am with no coffee etc and quite frankly it is appalling, that a hotel in Canterbury can get away with such terrible service. I strongly advise anyone not to stay here

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank laurenParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (125)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 125 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2008

My wife and I booked this hotel for one night as we wanted a weekend away before the end of summer. Our first impression was that we could not tell if we had walked into the right door as there was no visible reception. We were soon attended to by the tea room staff so this was not really a problem.

We were shown to our room grandly titled the 'Beckett room' and, apart from it being quite small, we were pleased (at the usual rate of £195.00 - we got it for £130.00 though, we needed to be!). It was spotlessly clean, (a little quirky with this huge four poster bed in such a small room), and the modern and well fitted bathroom was small but perfect.

Spending the rest of the day on the tourist trail, it soon became clear that the high price is as much for location as anything else - at least I though so during the day. Although this is not the hotels fault, the continuous noise from Canterbury's binge drinking finest meant no sleep till about 3.00am (and to the foul mouthed moron giving his poor girlfriend hell for at least 20 minutes at 1.30 in the morning, if you can read of course, I hope she sees sense and DUMPS you).

A rude awakening came at around 7.00am when the street cleaners came and then shortly after the Cathedral bells started (although we can't really complain about that).

So, not much sleep and it was obvious when we went down to breakfast that eveyrone else there at the same time as us felt the same as they all looked shattered!

On that subject, breakfast was distinctly underwhelming. Full English with no salt, pepper, tomato or brown sauce offered and luke warm baked beans. It tasted okay but that's about all. The coffee was terrible.

Another minus point, again not the hotels fault, is the 10 minute walk to the 24 hour unattended open car park .

All in all, despite it being a nice hotel packed with history, I would not stay here again - a little unfair on the hotel as it wasn't them that spoilt it for us.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TL13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2008

Its a beautiful old building, loads of character, room was very nice, but..... loads of noise from outside - from deliveries really early in the morning and then the pub chuck outs late at night.

Considering how much we paid (170 quid per night), there were no biscuits in our room and we were offered 'full english or continental' for breakfast - no cereals, no fruit, no ketchup even for the fry up!!! And to be honest, I'd have been too scared to ask Mrs whoever she is for those things. We felt they took our money but couldn't be fagged to offer the little things. Plus whenever we went downstairs to go out of the hotel, we felt like we were interrupting a family get together. Cheap old b&b for us in future.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank cupcakeDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2008

When we arrived we were not sure where to go as there did not seem to be an abvious reception but we soon found that it was in the restuarant/bar. The staff were very pleasant our room was not ready so they took our bags and checked us in. When we returned later in the eve the owner was there with his baby daughter (5 months old) we were talking to him about the hotel and I was talking to the baby when the older brother who is five came into the room. He smacked my arm and told me to leave his sister alone, I asked him his name and he said "shut up". His mum did tell not to talk like that but he took no notice, he then went off the the kitchen and came back with ice cubes which he threw at me. Again his parents did very little to stop him they just said he was jealous of his sister. I am sorry but I do not pay this kind of money to go away and be abused by a spolit brat like him.
He was also rude to the staff that worked there, I do not have any objection to children in a hotel but they really do need to learn manners or they will have no customers. The hotel itself was pleasant and we had a very nice room, unfortunately they do not have a car park so we have to park in a public car park and this lead to our car being damaged (which is not the hotels fault) but non the less on top of their son and the vandalism I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michellebeckett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2008

the hotel was incredible, as the staff was. When we arrived the owner greeted us very smiling.
The room was great, clean and the toilet amaizing.
Impossible to improve!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! The staff were extremely friendly and approachable, the rooms were clean and well kept, we were made very welcome all through our stay and would definately recommend the Sun Hotel to anyone staying in Canterbury - for anyone wanting an ornate 4-poster bed, try the Dickens Room - not many rooms in this establishment, so quite exclusive! The hotel is also part of the tour in the centre of town, which is quite a novelty. Should the mood take you, watch the people look up in your direction and give you a feeling of having reached at least minor-celebrity status, else close the velvet curtains and sleep well.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank hotelknow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2008

Janine
Mature couple
Eastcote, United Kingdom
September 6, 2007 Staff: Clean: Value for money:
Services: Comfort:

The Sun Hotel was all that we hoped it would be, an authentic and traditional small hotel (500 years old) but modernised where appropriate. The individually named rooms are lovely, full of character, and the location was ideal for our purposes, right at the heart of all the attractions in the city centre, and close to a variety of eating establishments. The manager/owner of The Sun is a very nice man indeed, he was very helpful and friendly to us, and enthusiastic about his plans for the future of his hotel. It is well worth a visit to the tea rooms at The Sun, even if not staying at the hotel, to soak up the atmosphere and admire the building. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, thank you!

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank gavril5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2007

The owner of The Sun was not forthcoming about things like the fact that the internet shuts down when he drops the metal doors at 10:00 PM and that there isn't any internet in the rooms. (Internet Access is an advertised feature here). He also neglected to mention before we arrived, that there was scaffolding on 2 sides of the hotel with construction beginning in the mornings at about 6-7 AM.

The rooms were small with low ceilings. The hotel seemed to sink most of the money into the bathrooms and the giant tub and fancy mosaic tile money could have been better spent on the room, the drapes, more wireless routers, and perhaps some retrofitted sound proofing.

The owner also has a small child that follows guests up to their rooms, rides his bike in the common room (where the owners seem to also live) and runs up and down the stairs.

If you can, find another place to stay in Canterbury.

  • Stayed: August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank anonEmouseScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#6 of 16 in Canterbury
2,033 reviews
0 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
0 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#4 of 16 in Canterbury
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
#1 of 1 in Upper Harbledown
756 reviews
0 mi away
City of Canterbury B&B
City of Canterbury B&B
#9 of 73 in Canterbury
151 reviews
0 mi away
Evenhill
Evenhill
#1 of 2 in Littlebourne
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Hotel and Tea Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Hotel and Tea Rooms

Address: Canterbury CT1 2HX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 73 B&Bs / Inns in Canterbury
Price Range: £114 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sun Hotel and Tea Rooms 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Sun Hotel and Tea Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Hotel Canterbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing