We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing ancient building” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sun Hotel and Tea Rooms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sun Hotel and Tea Rooms
Ranked #73 of 81 Canterbury B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing ancient building”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

If you want to stay somewhere with bags of character and a great sense of history, this might be the place for you. An exquisite building, now thought to date from the 1480s, rescued from a derelict state by the personable and friendly owner. We were in the Canterbury room, a family room, very comfortable with a lovely bathroom. The view down the road and of the cathedral towers was magical. Just bear in mind that you are overlooking a thoroughfare which would be noisy on a Saturday night, not from traffic, but revellers.

The stairs are pretty steep - it is an ancient rambling building, after all - I have MS, so my mobility isnt great, but it was worth the climb; just keep it in mind if you have mobility probs. and are thinking of booking one of the top floor rooms.There is a photo on the Sun Inn website so you can assess it.

A few things do still need tweaking- my recommendation would be to have the reception area staffed and the door open. At the moment, there is a notice by the door with a number to call to be let in - fine for a B&B, but calling it a hotel means that people do have certain expectations. As there is no informational signage outside, I doubt they get much passing trade, which is a shame.

It really could be marketed as an authentic medieval pilgrim hostelry - with a bit more polish to the reception area it would really have an amazing all round ambience.
We enjoyed our stay - what an amazing building.

Room Tip: Just check out photos of the stairs or ing ahead if you have mobility problems
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ceeforina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    25
    25
    11
    30
See reviews for
16
69
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

The good points:

Breakfast was very nice and plenty of it.
The owner is a pleasant chap to talk to.
The location is in the centre and easy access for sights and shops etc.

The bad points:

The pilgrim room at £100 is a waste of money, I left feeling completely ripped off. There is no picture of this room on the Sun hotel website (or any other website) for a reason, because it is a tiny all white soulless room. A travel lodge room has more 15th century charm. While the other rooms have wood beams and 4 poster beds adding a little charm, the pilgrim room is terrible.

The bed in the pilgrim room was broken. This is not acceptable.

The en-suite has the worlds noisiest saniflow that will wake the dead in the Cathedral.

I wouldn't pay more than £30 to stay in this room. With a large portion of that money being for the breakfast.

While it has a good location in the centre for easy access to everything, it has no parking nearby. You have to park at a pay and display several minutes walk away and use a guest house car park voucher at £6 for 24hrs.

Additionally, on a warm night if the window is open do not expect to sleep because the noise from the drunks in the street will keep you awake all night. Its either close the window and bake or open window and no sleep. We initially went to bed early, but after several hours of no sleep we got up and just went out to get drunk so we could return later and pass out rather than fall asleep.

Room Tip: Do not stay in the pilgrim room. There is a reason there is no photo of this room. The room is tiny...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ALynchy76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Canterbury hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

Canterbury in the summer is always busy so hotel rooms are at a premium. We booked The Sun Hotel as it was one of the very few with rooms available for the weekend we wanted. At £175 a night we did raise an eyebrow but the weather was good, the hotel was bang in the centre of the old city, I was visiting my old university city and it was a weekend away.
The Sun is expensive partly because it was a derelict medieval building which need shoring up and restoring before renovating. That must have come at a fair old price but it's all been done well. Everywhere is carpeted and the creaky staircases are authentic (scary but safe!). The rooms are named after local authors and worthies so we had the Chaucer Room.
Our room was actually more like a suite with bathroom, bedroom and a sitting area. A bit more thought could have gone into what furniture went where and a wardrobe as opposed to a poky corner cupboard would have been nice. Some pictures would have helped to break up the monosyllabic pastels of the décor. But the bed was really comfortable and we had a great night's sleep.
Breakfast was served in the reception area and, frankly, for a £175 a night hotel was a disappointment. Fried eggs are not that difficult to cook to order for a limited number of people so getting a hard egg with tasteless sausage wasn't that much to write home about. There are plenty of farms around and good butchers who could, and would no doubt, supply decent quality ingredients. A breakfast chef who can cook must be affordable too.
The service was friendly and helpful when it came to giving out information but not so great when it came to dealing with problems. There was a problem in our room with the bath plug mechanism which I sorted with a typical 'bodge it and flog it' solution. When I reported it I didn't expect a response saying, more or less, it's always like that.
Overall, The Sun Hotel needs a bit of a kick up the backside. Charging £175 a night brings with it certain expectations of facilities and service as well as charm and location.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank DodgerW3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

Last minute on-line booking resulted in an upgrade to a family room- the Cathedral room. Exactly like the pic on the site. The decor was cleverly done and the characteristic windows overlooked the cathedral. You won't get anything closer! The host, Andrew, was there to meet us and gave us a great welcome. It's probably one of the best bike parks our bikes have ever experienced! Nothing was a problem... And actually, this was the only place in Canterbury that could cater for cyclists! Boy were we lucky to end up here. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Reading some of the other reviews now, we feel as if we were cheated out of a ghost experience!!!! For an authentic Canterbury experience, the Sun Hotel is the place to go!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank darina f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

My boyfriend came to visit, not knowing where to stay in Canterbury, he decided to book a room at the Sun Hotel. The location waas perfect, but everything else was so unfortunate.

First, we could not find the entrance to the HOTEL. We asked nearby shops and none of them knew where to find it – THE HOTEL IS 600 YEARS OLD!!!

Second, we had the pleasure of meeting the receptionist/ironing lady/cleaning lady/waitress, which ended up being ONE PERSON. The reception was dark, old, clearly somewhere you do not want to be at midnight – alone and unarmed.

Third, our room had too much furniture for its size. We could barely walk from one side of the bed to the other without overcoming the couch obstacle, side tables, and electric heater. It was such a heavy atmosphere.

One night we were unpleasantly disturbed by the Canterbury Ghost Tour, where the guide was flashing his flashlight at our window, claiming that a young girl had died in our room many years ago. For client retention, the “hotel” should definitely do something about this.

Our cook was also the doorman and security guard. Once we even walked in on him reading in the dark. We have never been in such a dodgy place in our lives.

However, what really shocked us was the price. For £175 a night, we were expecting great service and decent sheets - A big rip-off.

If you want to have a great laugh, book a room there, it is an adventure in itself.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms. Find another hotel !
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Victoria2204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

Nice small quiet clean hotel with character. very comfortable bed and nice bathroom. Hotel by cathedral in the heart of the town.
Staff very nice. and helpfull, good breakfast.
No problems whatsoever, would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marta P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

My husband and I accidently booked the wrong date with this hotels own website ( the booking went through as being the same day that we were booking it) and so we immediately tried to phone to amend it. However, after ten hours of answerphone messages , my husband finally spoke to the manager the next morning only to be told that we had lost our money (£100 ) and there was nothing he could or, indeed, would do. Their unhelpfulness on this matter has been a real eye-opener and considering other websites have a policy of amending a booking with this hotel for people we cannot ascertain why re-booking is such a problem.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank shamill1_209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.0 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
0.1 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 17 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,743 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pilgrims Hotel
Pilgrims Hotel
#11 of 17 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Castle House Hotel
Castle House Hotel
#10 of 17 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hawks Lane Lodge
Hawks Lane Lodge
#41 of 81 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
0.1 mi away
Greyfriars Lodge
Greyfriars Lodge
#66 of 81 in Canterbury
3.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Hotel and Tea Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Hotel and Tea Rooms

Property: Sun Hotel and Tea Rooms
Address: Canterbury CT1 2HX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sun Hotel and Tea Rooms 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Book Direct Rooms and Hotels.com so you can book your Sun Hotel and Tea Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Hotel Canterbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing