We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Canterbury
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wincheap Guest House
Ranked #24 of 72 Canterbury B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 February 2013

We stayed one night whilst in a short break to visit Canterbury. We felt as if nothing was too much trouble and Joe was very helpful allowing us to leave our car for a few hours on the day of departure. The guest house is a short walk from the town past the ruined castle which is free to walk around and very interesting . Our room was very comfortable and the only thing I might recommend is if you want to avoid noise from the road to ask for a bedroom at the back.. Breakfast was perfect and the lady Val who helps Joe is lovely. We had a fabulous meal at the indian restaurant a few doors away which Joe recommended.

Room Tip: Our room was at the front of the hosue and was quite noisy so maybe ask for one at the back if this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LizLambourn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (73)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 73 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2013

Another belated review dating from summer 2012. Joe is a marvellous host who takes care to anticipate his guests' every need. An end of terrace period house on a rather dreary road out of the city, Wincheap makes up for this with a riot of flowers covering the facade. Our room at the back (view of the gasholder!) was small, simply and elegantly decorated with a good bathroom, all spotless. Welcoming touches included good quality cookies and excellent reading lights and pillows. Breakfast was a feast - as well as pastries and the 'full English', there was a real treat - a huge platter of every kind of fresh fruit, beautifully prepared, which added a Hollywood touch to the pretty, period dining room. Joe himself is a fount of wonderful stories - ask him about his past in the music business! We were made welcome not just by him but even his neighbours. It is lovely to feel part of a community (if you so wish), even on a short stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank metalingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2012 via mobile

Very Late review. I stayed here a few months ago and would advise anyone to do the same. You are treated with the upmost respect. Rooms are beautiful and clean. Near to the town. The owner called me a taxi and it arrived in under 30 seconds, yes 30 seconds. Probably due to the fact that Cab Co Taxis are based in the house next door, not that you would ever know. i never heard a peep out of them. Flagged one of their cabs down in town and he took me back for next to nothing as he was returning to base anyway. They also took me back to the airport and beat all other price enquiries i had made. I cannot comment myself on the breakfast as I was to hung over to get up but other guests said it was beautifully cooked and presented. Don't worry though the sportsman cafe opposite was a fantastic alternative at midday and very responsibly priced. 24 hour garage 2 minuet walk away along with newsagents, fish and chip shops. Fantastic nights stay on the way back from France. Oh and plenty of parking

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben-Eastwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

It was my first experience of staying in a guesthouse rather than a 'hotel' and it was perfect! A very friendly welcome by the owner, flexible check-in time, large clean rooms, only a 10min walk to the city centre, reasonably priced. Even though it is situated on a reasonably busy road, once you are inside, you can't hear the traffic. Breakfast in the morning was superb, a good range of cereals, fruit, coffee, tea, hot breakfast choice, pastries. Going forward I will now be looking at staying in guesthouses rather than hotels as a result of the warm friendly welcoem and service we received at The Wincheap. If you go to Canterbury, stay here, you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We stayed there from 16th. to 18th of June 2012. We had a nice and good room, slept well and had a perfect englisch brekafast, prepared by Joe.

In the morning (breakfasttime) he was supported by a lovely lady from the countryside of Canterbury.

They both could tell where to go and whart to see.

If you are afraid of staying anywhere in a foreign country, stay in the wincheap guesthouse and feel safe as at home and enjoy the 'Full English Breakfast'.

PS: You get fesh fruit too.

Jürgen und Cornelia Ehmke, Hamburg, Germany

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Juergen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Very courteous and polite hosts who were keen to help at all times. Lovely clean, spacious rooms with hot running showers and comfortable beds. Close to town and lots of local information readily available along with an excellent choice of sweeties!
Breakfast was good with a wide selection of fuits, yogurts, pastries and cereals followed by a full English. My only criticism would be that I would have liked some baked beans and hash browns with mine!

Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
Thank AnnaBee272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012 via mobile

Joe and Val were great hosts, the guesthouse is well located to walk into Canterbury and has private parking. the rooms are nicely furnished although as I'm a light sleeper and we had a room at the front of the house the street noise kept me up a bit.
The breakfast was excellent and the local information was great.
All in all a very good choice.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jenwebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
#1 of 1 in Upper Harbledown
767 reviews
1.2 mi away
City of Canterbury B&B
City of Canterbury B&B
#11 of 72 in Canterbury
153 reviews
1.1 mi away
Harriet House B&B
Harriet House B&B
#3 of 72 in Canterbury
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
House of Agnes
House of Agnes
#1 of 72 in Canterbury
846 reviews
1.7 mi away
Howfield Manor Hotel
Howfield Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chartham
401 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wincheap Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wincheap Guest House

Address: 94 Wincheap, Canterbury CT1 3RS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in Canterbury
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing