We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Wincheap Guest House
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Canterbury
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
Canterbury Hotel(Canterbury)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Castle House Hotel(Canterbury)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
ABode Canterbury(Canterbury)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Pilgrims Hotel(Canterbury)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
The Victoria Hotel(Canterbury)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (73)
Filter reviews
73 results
Traveller rating
61
12
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
61
12
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslast minute tripwelcoming stayan excellent hostb bclose to townclean roomsexcellent breakfastjoeguesthousetoiletries
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 73 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2013

when we decided we needed a long weekend away, and had settled on caterbury, this place stuck out amongst the list. having now stayed here i feel we can confirm every oustanding review it has been given! Its located perfectly, only a five minuit walk away so your not smack in the middle of a busy town, but is no hassle to get there. The rooms where comfortable and clean, as was the entire building, its very well looked after and you feel very much at home. Most importantly the owners are exceptionaly friendly and took every care to make your stay as nice as possible. We enjoyed having a chat with them every day, and the home cooked breakfast is unbeatable!
We thoroughly recomend this place to anyone who wishes the visit canterbury, the standard is beyond what you would expect, and worth every penny!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013

We stayed one night whilst in a short break to visit Canterbury. We felt as if nothing was too much trouble and Joe was very helpful allowing us to leave our car for a few hours on the day of departure. The guest house is a short walk from the town past the ruined castle which is free to walk around and very interesting . Our room was very comfortable and the only thing I might recommend is if you want to avoid noise from the road to ask for a bedroom at the back.. Breakfast was perfect and the lady Val who helps Joe is lovely. We had a fabulous meal at the indian restaurant a few doors away which Joe recommended.

Room Tip: Our room was at the front of the hosue and was quite noisy so maybe ask for one at the back if this bothers you.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LizLambourn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Another belated review dating from summer 2012. Joe is a marvellous host who takes care to anticipate his guests' every need. An end of terrace period house on a rather dreary road out of the city, Wincheap makes up for this with a riot of flowers covering the facade. Our room at the back (view of the gasholder!) was small, simply and elegantly decorated with a good bathroom, all spotless. Welcoming touches included good quality cookies and excellent reading lights and pillows. Breakfast was a feast - as well as pastries and the 'full English', there was a real treat - a huge platter of every kind of fresh fruit, beautifully prepared, which added a Hollywood touch to the pretty, period dining room. Joe himself is a fount of wonderful stories - ask him about his past in the music business! We were made welcome not just by him but even his neighbours. It is lovely to feel part of a community (if you so wish), even on a short stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank metalingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2012 via mobile

Very Late review. I stayed here a few months ago and would advise anyone to do the same. You are treated with the upmost respect. Rooms are beautiful and clean. Near to the town. The owner called me a taxi and it arrived in under 30 seconds, yes 30 seconds. Probably due to the fact that Cab Co Taxis are based in the house next door, not that you would ever know. i never heard a peep out of them. Flagged one of their cabs down in town and he took me back for next to nothing as he was returning to base anyway. They also took me back to the airport and beat all other price enquiries i had made. I cannot comment myself on the breakfast as I was to hung over to get up but other guests said it was beautifully cooked and presented. Don't worry though the sportsman cafe opposite was a fantastic alternative at midday and very responsibly priced. 24 hour garage 2 minuet walk away along with newsagents, fish and chip shops. Fantastic nights stay on the way back from France. Oh and plenty of parking

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben-Eastwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

It was my first experience of staying in a guesthouse rather than a 'hotel' and it was perfect! A very friendly welcome by the owner, flexible check-in time, large clean rooms, only a 10min walk to the city centre, reasonably priced. Even though it is situated on a reasonably busy road, once you are inside, you can't hear the traffic. Breakfast in the morning was superb, a good range of cereals, fruit, coffee, tea, hot breakfast choice, pastries. Going forward I will now be looking at staying in guesthouses rather than hotels as a result of the warm friendly welcoem and service we received at The Wincheap. If you go to Canterbury, stay here, you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews