We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Used to be amazing food, now just average!”

The Old Coach & Horses
Ranked #33 of 375 Restaurants in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$32
Cuisines: Contemporary, British, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: A lovely old English Coach House in the picturesque village of Harbledown. Just 5 minutes drive from Canterbury City Centre, or a leisurely 15 minute walk. A village pub with a friendly, informal atmosphere serving top qualtiy food from local suppliers and seasonal ingredients. Open for Lunch and Dinner every day, serving a wide range of local beers, cask ales and the finest wines. There is also a lighter bites Lunch/Garden every lunchtime excluding Sundays. Our garden is simply breathtaking with stunning views of the surrounding woods. Open for drinks all day. Now open for lunch and dinner Mondays.
Hawkinge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Used to be amazing food, now just average!”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

I have recently eaten here a few times and the food quality has gone down hill from what it was two years ago, it used to be amazing food, perfectly cooked and presented. Now it is average food, the only thing quality about it is the description on the menu, and then the disappointment when it's not as nice as described!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Matt_Vic2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    222
    79
    26
    13
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Delicious and friendly”
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

A few days ago I went for dinner at the Coach, we were welcomed by a friendly barmaid. It's a beautiful restaurant, the food was excellent and every one I was with enjoyed there meal. Definitely coming back!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“disappointing”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Well, what a shame...have been here a few times before and had a great experience. But not tonight.....slow, unfriendly service, not particularly warm food and all at a premium price. I'm afraid none of our table want to come back!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Tracie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theoldcoachandhorses, Manager at The Old Coach & Horses, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
We are so sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your meal here recently. As far as we are aware our staff are always very friendly, so it is surprising to read your comments.
If you had made us aware that your food was not warm enough for you at the time, we would have been happy to replace it. Our food is cooked to order from fresh so it does take a little longer than a fast food restaurant to come to your table. We do advise customers to let us know if they are in a particular hurry so that we advise on which meals will take longer than others. We do hope that you will visit us again in the near future. Hopefully your meal will live up to the expectations we have for our new business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfectly OK but not what it once was”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

My husband and I have dined at the Old Coach & Horses on a number of occasions over the years and have always been more more than satisfied with the food and the service. This time was a spontaneous meal as we had originally just popped in for an early evening drink. The burger and fish & chips were perfectly fine although I do have an aversion to eating off a wooden board when there is lemon juice or any other liquid dripping off the edge. The desserts were also very nice although not memorable. The staff were very friendly and enthusiastic but rather amateur, with an error on our bill (which was quickly rectified) and generally shouting other table's orders to one another across the room. We will return but it would definitely benefit from the staff being supported with a little more training,

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank debseh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Glen has gone”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We have used this restaurant on many many occasions and have loved it . Knowing that Glen (the former owner) had left we went with an open mind last week for a meal. The meal was OK
although we were disappointed to find that the menu had lost both the lamb dish and slow cooked pork dish for which the pub is famous for. There was plenty of staff and the guy behind the bar welcoming but there was no atmosphere an although the chef came out to the bar he made no effort to speak to us although we were sitting at the table and had finished our meal. This has always been a foodie pub that has been full of laughter, superb food and a good night out. It badly needs some personality behind it to prevent it becoming yet another managed pub.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank blobby70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Old Coach & Horses also viewed

Wingham, Canterbury
 
Wingham, Canterbury
Canterbury, Kent
 

Been to The Old Coach & Horses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing