We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shame...”
Review of Chatni - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Chatni
Price range: US$40 - US$50
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Business meetings, Romantic, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Shame...”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

I used to love coming to this restaurant when it was Apeksha, but now it seems to have really changed. I had a chicken korma as my main dish but the chicken wasn't cooked properly, some bits looking purple! When we told one of the waiters, rather than apologising he said it was all pre-cooked and then cooked with the sauce, so basically saying it couldn't be raw but he would tell the chef. Another one came over a while later, our plates still on the table, and asked if there was a problem and we explained again, he took our plates and said he would tell the chef. A little bit later he came back over and said they would take 10% off our bill as we weren't happy. A whole 10% wow! I would have rather the dish was just taken off the bill as I didn't eat it. They then offered us a complimentary drink of either baileys or brandy, this then came in a shot glass with crushed ice! Talk about tight. It's a shame this has gone downhill but I won't be coming back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bubble B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    20
    13
    5
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
166 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Poor”
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

I suppose in this day and age you can't expect much for £8.95.
However 'taste' would be a start.
'Cooked chicken' would be another.

Ok, so we stopped for a cheap bite. Advertised as 25 dishes, all you can eat buffet etc, etc, blah, blah...
Food at the buffet wasn't labelled with what it was? We guessed korma, tikka, beef something, possibly lamb. Some really rubbish, bland noodles, couple of rice dishes.....that was about it t.b.h,
It was all Luke warm.
The worst thing was it was SO bland. No spices. No taste.
The wife complained about under-cooked, raw chicken in the korma.
The waiter explained 'it was a vein'! Beautiful!
The worst Indian food I've ever had & the only buffet restaurant where we didn't bother with seconds or a desert.
Avoid, avoid at all costs.
Terrible.

Helpful?
Thank Klubfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
360 reviews
286 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“A VERY PLEASANT SURPRISE”
Reviewed 21 December 2013

We dropped in on a Friday night, without a reservation. Got a table, with a nice friendly welcome. Food was really good. The menu is not adventurous but everything is carefully cooked and spiced, and the side dishes in particular were very tasty. A cut above your normal high street curry house.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oxford
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise”
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Walked past at 8:pm, no-one in. Gave it a try anyway and we were not disappointed: good service excellent dishes, no regrets, one to remember.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jabmak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Really gone down hill since changing its name”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Was one if the most consistent Indians in Canterbury food and service always good since a name and staff change has gone downhill rude manager and poor food I will not go back and will be looking again after many years to find another Indian restaurant

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lilyjack2201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chatni also viewed

 
Pett Bottom, Canterbury
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing