We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Delightful country cottage”

Review of The Stables

Set in a pretty courtyard, The Stables is clad with traditional Kentish clapboard
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Set in a pretty courtyard, The Stables is clad with traditional Kentish clapboard
Large airy sitting room leading onto your private terrace with views over the garden In the Summer, the barn in the courtyard is full of colour in the hanging baskets
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
Set in a pretty courtyard, The Stables is clad with traditional Kentish clapboard
Large airy sitting room leading onto your private terrace with views over the garden
In the Summer, the barn in the courtyard is full of colour in the hanging baskets
A view from the bedroom end looking towards the kitchen and bathroom, with French doors to the left
The Old Bakehouse, which houses picnic basket, blanket,hot water bottles and other goodies!
Your private terrace on which to unwind after a hard day's sightseeing!
The Stables and The Gardener's Cottage as you enter the courtyard
A view of the magnificent mulberry tree, a magnet for birds - we have yet to try one!
The old barn in the courtyard, always full of colour in the Summer
Large, private guest parking
Luxury bathroom with walk-in shower
The walk-in shower has a handy grab rail, and we provide a safety mat too
Luxury bedlinen, very comfortable bed mean you wake refreshed and ready to face the day well rested
Fully equipped fitted kitchen including bean to carafe coffee machine.
A modern space to create mouth-watering dishes, or just order some of our excellent frozen meals!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Canterbury, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
David M
1 review
“Delightful country cottage”
Reviewed 4 July 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Wonderful location. Plenty of nearby attractions to visit. Owners very friendly and helpful if you have any queries. Attention to detail in the accommodation is very good, a great walk-in shower and a lovely welcome hamper. The garden is well kept and nice to sit in the garden and enjoy the sun. Plenty of car parking. Nice and quiet. Would recommend this cottage to anyone.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jul 2018
Thank you David, we try to make sure our guests are comfortable, and go home rested! It was a pleasure to meet you both, and hope to see you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIRIAM L
1 review
“Lovely apartment”
Reviewed 6 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

We stayed in the gardeners cottage over the bank holiday weekend. Was really lovely and would definitely stay again. The cottage is very well stocked (should you want to cook) and comfortable, with Anne on hand for any questions and recommendations about good places to visit/eat nearby.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jul 2018
Thank you for your kind words! Always good to know that we're doing things right. We aim to provide all you'd need for a break away from home. We are in a great location for visiting all the various attractions around Kent. Pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
j0hnhaw0r...
Rossendale, United Kingdom
1 review
“Cottage at shatterling”
Reviewed 20 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Good location for many towns and places of interest inc. Canterbury ,herne bay,sandwich,deal,dover and the white cliffs. very well equipped cottage with nice
gardens and sitting out area.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jul 2017
So glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We are ideally situated to enjoy the many coastal and inland towns of interest in the area. It was a pleasure to meet you both,and hope to see you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brenda S
1 review
“Simply The Best”
Reviewed 17 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

The Stables was a great location for us to visit nearby family. It was a gem of a place to stay - beautifully converted and immaculate with positively everything we could possibly need during our stay. It is everything you hope your holiday accommodation will be when you book it and more! Kent at this time of the year is stunning with so much in bloom and lots to do. Thanks Anne ands Rob for being great hosts.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jun 2017
Hello Brenda, and weren't you lucky with the weather!
Although we can't always guarantee the weather, we can say that we try to make our guests as comfortable as possible. We look forward to seeing you both again, Kind regards, Anne & Rob
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire B
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gorgeous stay”
Reviewed 24 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Beautiful place so relaxing and private! Turned out to be a perfect base for exploring the area. Lovely days in Canterbury and strolls on the bay beaches. The accommodation was perfectly equipped and very tastefully done. Enjoyed the morning and evening birdsong in the garden.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Apr 2017
Hello Claire and Maz
It was a pleasure to meet you both, and to be able to provide you with a holiday! So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, our aim is to try and meet our guest's needs, if not exceed it. The old Mulberry tree at the back of the cottages provides a good base for the wide variety of birds who visit the garden. Do hope we see you again soon, kind regards, Anne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kenandgre...
Sherborne, United Kingdom
1 review
“Would Recommend to Anyone”
Reviewed 2 December 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Would be hard pushed to find anything wrong with this property. The owners were very welcoming, a vase of flowers and card, showed us where everything was kept and then left us to enjoy our holiday but were there to help if required. Very well equipped and a very comfortable bed. A lot of thought had been put into making the cottage a home from home. An excellent location, we didn't use the car as the bus was 2 minutes walk away to take us where we wanted to go eg 20 minutes to Canterbury. Good pub down the road if you didn't want to cook and the bought in meals from the owners were excellent.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jan 2017
Apologies for the delayed response-internet problems! So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, we're so lucky to have the bus stop so close by. No parking problems in Canterbury! We try to make sure that our guests stay is as comfortable and enjoyable as it can be. It was a delight to meet you both, and hope to meet you again. Warmest wishes, Anne & Rob
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E1823FFia...
Colchester, England
1 review
“Outstanding accommodation and friendly welcoming owners.”
Reviewed 1 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Ask any question and we would say excellent!!! Stunningly rebuilt old stables, can't think of any change that would have improved our holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Nov 2016
What can I say! Thank you - we strive to make the cottages the best in the area. We listen to our guests when they make suggestions for added extras or improvements. So glad you enjoyed your stay, and we hope to see you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing