We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rather ordinary”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bridgewood Manor - QHotels
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Chatham
Certificate of Excellence
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Rather ordinary”
Reviewed 2 June 2013

First impressions were good: the building, the entrance and reception area were smart and modern; the staff were friendly. We found our bedroom to be small and rather dull, perhaps geared more for just one guest. The bed was not a good size double, and there was only one (supposedly) comfortable chair. In the bathroom there were products enough for one person which, by the way, were not replaced the following day. The tea and coffee-making facilities were, I would say, a health and safety hazard - on a shelf just a few inches off the ground so the guest has to lift the whole tray onto the work top then weave the kettle lead behind the television. If the television were to be wall mounted, this would solve the problem and create more space. The duvet and pillows had man-made fillings so we were not comfortable and the bed was not firm enough so we kept rolling into the middle, and when one of us fidgeted the other person was disturbed as it felt like being on a boat.
We ate in the restaurant for the two nights we stayed and it was disappointing. The dining room had no atmosphere and the spotlights were harsh. The menu looked interesting, but the waitress was not able to answer our few queries. While we were ordering, the chef came out to discuss an event with the couple at the table next to us. He crouched down alongside our table to talk to them and treated us to the sight of at least three-quarters of his distinctly hirsute bare backside. Thank goodness we weren't eating!
The food prices were high for the amount on the plate. My dish on the first night was meant to come with parmentier potatoes. There were just five, each smaller than a dice. When I mentioned this to the waitress she laughed and said, "Oh yes, that's the sea bass dish."
Although the menu read promisingly, the taste of the food did not live up to our expectations and we were still hungry and couldn't fill up with bread as it was stale. For a restaurant with a seemingly sophisticated menu, there was no black pepper in a grinder and no salt crystals, just the normal flowing salt and stuff that looked like sand in the pepper pot.
We come to this area once every six weeks or so and were hoping that this hotel could be our regular stopover but, apart from the breakfast which was very good, we will need to find a hotel that is not a really ordinary place trying to dress up as something else.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jospanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire J, General Manager at Bridgewood Manor - QHotels, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Dear Jospanner,
Thank you for your comments, it is always nice to hear constructive comments however it is only through clients such as yourself that we get to know some of our short comings. please rest assure I will speak to all departments concerned and will use your experience as constructively as possible.
once again thank you for taking the time to bring this to my attention.
Kind regards
Michael Lavizani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

948 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    395
    296
    162
    57
    38
See reviews for
150
358
37
163
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Any
English first
Hergenrath, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Stayed for a 3 night break in May. Got special rate for DBB (excellent offer)
Check in no problem as paper work was done in advance
Room clean and of good size. Breakfast had a super choice for every taste. The evening meal which was included in our rate was very very good indeed. Excellent value for money.
Spa facility very good including swimming pool. This time the sauna and steam room was open which added to the enjoyment.
Special thanks to the Restaurant staff they were excellent.

Room Tip: they are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire J, General Manager at Bridgewood Manor - QHotels, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Dear John G,
Thank you for your very kind comments, I will pass on all your comments to the staff.
Once again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind Regards
Michael Lavizani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lestat
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Stayed two nights at Bridgewood, Lovley hotel, sooooo comfy, ideal location for where I wanted to be, We did not have dinner, however breakfast was superb, great quality and choice ( I am a fussy eater)- but nothing for me to complain about, Room was large, clean to a high standard.

Most definately will be back

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linda71842003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire J, General Manager at Bridgewood Manor - QHotels, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Dear Linda71842003
thank you for your very kind comments, I will most certainly let everyone know about your stay with us.
Once again thank you for taking the time to write.
Kind Regards
Michael Lavizani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Great stay. Public areas are comfortable and nicely decorated. I ate in the bar and the bar staff were friendly and very helpful, even when I asked for substitutions from the menu. Food was good and the breakfast was buffet style and excellent. I was impressed with the helpfulness of the staff. I got a great last minute deal and stayed in a standard double room on the ground floor, which was spotless and comfortable. Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel helped. It's also well situated for easy access to the motorways.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dr-Jenni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire J, General Manager at Bridgewood Manor - QHotels, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Dear Dr-Jenni,
Thank you for your very kind comments, we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
once again thank you.
kind regards
Michael Lavizani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
263 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Good location for both Rochester and Chatham and other surrounding places of interest. Public areas are good with comfortable seating in the bar area. Rooms are comfortable, we paid extra for a QStar room which was good but a bit tired and in need of decoration. A bit noisy as next to main road if you have the windows open. Dinner in the restaurant was OK albeit the plates were cold as was the veg. Breakfast is excellent. Prices are what you expect in a hotel but not too expensive and there are bar food and snakcks available which are a bit cheaper. Staff very friendly and polite.

Room Tip: Either pay for a QStar room or ask for an upgrade. To avoid noise ask for a room on 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JC1LondonEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire J, Manager at Bridgewood Manor - QHotels, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
Dear JclLondonEngland,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with, I am pleased that you found us to be conveniently located for local attractions, and enjoyed you stay with us. I am sorry that you found your evening meal not be be of correct temperature, I send my apologies regarding this and I will speak to our team to ensure this is rectified.
I hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel again in the near future
Kind regards

Claire johnson- Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We took advantage of their two night bed and breakfast deal with dinner on the first night. Hotel is really well situated for visiting the Chatham and Rochester Area. Hotel was clean and comfortable with free wi-fi. Staff really helpful. Breakfasts were very good and the evening meal was delicious. Swimming pool was very clean and only two other people using it at 8am. Bedroom was comfortable although the walls were rather thin. Would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan499616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire J, Manager at Bridgewood Manor - QHotels, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
Dear Susan499616,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at Bridgewood Manor. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us for two nights and made the most of the facilities here during your relaxing break. I hope you will pay us another visit again in the not to distant future as we will be pleased to welcome you back.
Kind regards
Claire Johnson- Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2013

where oh where do l start!!!!! the room, superior double ha ha the sheet was a single sheet, the pillows were like concrete, the walls tooooo thin and that the positive side, the food, well if you can call it food, we made the mistake of booking an evening meal, l had the smoked duck breast, nothing smoked, cold, raw, selection of local market veg was 16 very old chant carrots, raw mange tout and over squeeky grn beans!!! my husband had sea bass that was more of a samphire soup, all sent back - no charge, well breakfast, supp to be fresh local cooked, most prob was at 6am, every thing swimming in fat, bread very stale and for that they would have charged £13n ph for breakfast, stay away it is a rip off and disgusting

Room Tip: stay away, do yourself a favour and book a premier inn, half price, good night sleep guarenteed
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacquie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire J, Manager at Bridgewood Manor - QHotels, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
Dear Jaquiem,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Bridgewood Manor. I am sorry that you were disappointed with many aspects of your stay. I can assure you that I have investigated them thoroughly, as you can tell from many satisfied customer reviews this is not typical of the standards here. Please feel free to contact me directly should you wish to discuss any of your issues further cjohnson@qhotels.co.uk
Once again thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us
Kind regards Claire Johnson- Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chatham
20.0 mi away
Ashford International Hotel
11.5 mi away
Hempstead House Hotel and Spa
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Rowhill Grange Hotel & Utopia Spa
19.4 mi away
Eastwell Manor
Eastwell Manor
#1 of 1 in Boughton Lees
1,197 reviews
6.3 mi away
Tudor Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bridgewood Manor - QHotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bridgewood Manor - QHotels

Property: Bridgewood Manor - QHotels
Address: Walderslade Woods, Chatham ME5 9AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Chatham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Chatham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bridgewood Manor - QHotels 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the edge of historic Rochester, Bridgewood Manor is in the heart of the Garden of England with enchanting castles, the historic dockyards and many other great attractions on its doorstep. For those that enjoy retail therapy, at nearby Bluewater and exhibitions at Glow Bluewater. The Hotel has great links to the major motorway routes and high speed train route direct to the Olympics; we are a great stop over venue. The hotel is extremely proud of its reputation for high levels of customer service and the hotels intimate and charming characteristics offer the perfect combination for our guests. Unlimited free WiFi throughout the Hotel with dedicated bandwitdh is available for all guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Bridgewood Manor - QHotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bridgewood Manor Chatham
Bridgewood Manor Hotel Chatham
Bridgewood Manor - QHotels Chatham, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing