We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy Room, otherwise ok”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bridgewood Manor - QHotels
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Chatham
Certificate of Excellence
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Noisy Room, otherwise ok”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We stayed here on a Saturday night as we were at the local karting track that was only a couple of minutes drive away. On arrival the hotel seemed to be very busy with a wedding, a conference and a birthday celebration, however we were checked in smoothly.

We stayed in room 20- avoid this at all costs. We noticed that this was the closest room to the wedding celebrations, which was not a problem until the celebrations came to a close and all we could hear was the staff clearing away, talking and clunking glasses together. The walls here are extremely thin. The other thing that we had not realised is that our room backed onto the two lifts so we could hear the lift going up and down throughout the night and early morning. I am sure if we had been given a different room these things would not have been an issue.

The room itself was a little tired looking but was comfortable. The room had lots of lights but even with all of these turned on the room was still very dark which didn’t help when putting on make up. The shower was good although we couldn’t get the fan to work.

We had dinner at the hotel which was very nice, the portions were generous and very tasty. The service started very well but as it got busier the staff seemed to struggle and the service came to a standstill. We then went for a drink at the bar, which again started off fine, but as the wedding guests came through from the party the staff could not cope. We waited for 20 mins at the bar to get some water to take back to the room.

The breakfast served is a buffet with cereals, pastries and a full english. This was very good and was being refreshed continuously.

The hotel has a Spa and we used the Pool and Sauna. The pool area and changing rooms could do with a good clean, however the staff were friendly and helpful. The pool itself is quite small so you would struggle to do any lengths. We used the sauna but the wooden bench is broken in many places and felt very unstable.

Overall I would say the stay here was average, if we had been given a different room I am sure we would have given it 4 out of 5. I think we would stay here again due to the location of the hotel and the good food, however we would make sure we did not have room 20 and probably wouldn’t use the spa.

Room Tip: Check you have not been allocated room 20- very noisy with the lifts backing onto it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LottieHertford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire J, Manager at Bridgewood Manor - QHotels, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Dear TAlottie,
Thank you for your detailed review of your recent stay with us here at Bridgewood Manor. i take on board all of the comments that you have raised and will discuss these with the relevant team members and department managers her at the hotel. I will certainly look into the allocation of room 20 to guests particularly when there is a function in the hotel. I am very sorry that you got a disturbed nights sleep.
I hope that you return again soon where we shall ensure that you are well looked after and have a peaceful stay with us.
Kind Regards
Claire Johnson- Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

964 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    405
    299
    163
    59
    38
See reviews for
155
363
37
164
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

A superb hotel with friendly staff and excellent service. The room was spacious and quiet and the food beautifully cooked and served. The leisure club, while not large, has all the facilities one would expect. Overall the stay was excellent value for money and we would definitely stay there again if in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank p_a_collier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire J, Manager at Bridgewood Manor - QHotels, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Dear P_a_collier,
Thank you for taking the time to complete such a kind review of your recent stay with us here at Bridgewood Manor. I shall ensure that I share your comments with the whole team who will be delighted that you enjoyed your visit.
I look forward to when you are next in the area so we can welcome you back.
Kind Regards
Claire johnson- Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hook, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

Have to agree that nearby road is noisy but hotel is very comfortable. The staff were all very friendly and attentive even though it was very busy with weddings etc. I would stay here again if I was in the area. Pool a bit too small - 2 strokes and you were at the other end!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dawnh9997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire J, Manager at Bridgewood Manor - QHotels, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Dear dawnh9997,
Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us, I am pleased that when the hotel was busy with weddings and events you were not disturbed and had an enjoyable stay with us.
I hope that you will return again in the near future to enjoy another stay with us.
Kind regards
Claire Johnson - Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

Booked this hotel last minute with a friend, just for a bit of a girlie break. Exceptional value at £119 each. This included lunch, dinner, bed and breakfast. 50 min spa treatment. Bottle Pink fizz and choccies in room. Use if facilities, robe, slippers and access to complimentary tea/coffee all day. Staff were efficient and friendly. Treatments were great. Food was very good. Room was well equipped. My Bed mattress was uncomfortable. No jacuzzi was disappointing but there was space around pool and spa area to chill as well as outside. Overall excellent value for money although bar very expensive (7.50 2 small coffee). Great price for a little treat with friends. I would recommend it for this reason as we had a great time. If you want a luxury-spa experience then this is not for you but then this is reflected in the price.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brucemiddlemiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire J, Manager at Bridgewood Manor - QHotels, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Dear CARNATIOUS,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent spa break here at Bridgewood Manor that you enjoyed with your friends. i am pleased that you found it to be good value, we do often have packages and offers including treatments that are great value which you might like to keep an eye out for, for future stays. I am sorry that you found your mattress to be uncomfortable, I will look in to this as we have recently had new beds and mattresses purchased for the hotel. I hope that we can welcome you back for another relaxing stay in the near future
kind regards - Claire Johnson- Operations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Stayed at this hotel for a wedding we were attending at Kent Life. We stayed in a twin disabled room due to my mums health. Reception staff were friendly & efficient, Room was great, room service was great, breakfast was great. Didn't use the spa facilities as we didn't have time. I would recommend to friends.

Helpful?
Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire J, Manager at Bridgewood Manor - QHotels, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Dear Sue W,
Thank you for your short and sweet review of your recent stay with us here at Bridgewood Manor. I hope that you found you room comfortable and the the accessible room had all of the facilities you required. I am sorry that you did not get the chance to use our leisure and spa facilities, I hope that you can return for a leisure break here in the future to make use of these.
Kind regards - Claire Johnson- Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Hmmm, room ok but motorway noise makes sleep impossible. Staff, if you can find anyone, is rather defensive or disinterested at best. We had booked and prepaid for 2 nights and ended up foregoing one night in favour of getting some sleep at home.

On the plus side, the hotel does allow dogs. A big thumbs up for that - Hence the 3 star rating, otherwise I would have given them 1 star only.

Room Tip: Bring earplugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SussexLady34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire J, Manager at Bridgewood Manor - QHotels, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Dear Sussexlady34,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to Bridgewood Manor. I am sorry that you did not get a peaceful night sleep, it is unusual for guests to be disturbed by traffic noise. I will look into the customer service issues you mentioned and organise staff retraining where necessary. I am glad that you made use of the facility of us allowing guests to bring their pets to the hotel, this is certainly popular for guests who do not want to leave their animals behind when they are away.
I hope that i can welcome you back to the hotel again in the near future
kind regards
Claire Johnson- Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We stayed at the hotel on a one night spa break. Firstly the rooms could do with modernization. There's nothing wrong with them, but they could be nicer. Check-in was quick, and the room was ready early. We headed to the spa, for lunch, that we had been told we would have on the day of arrival at time of booking. When we arrived they informed us this was not normally the case, but managed to fit us in. Simple choices for lunch, jacket potatoes, sandwiches ect... but they were fine. Dinner was very nice. and on a budget of £26 pp we managed to have 3 courses, not including drinks. All very nice! And our server was great. The only downside to the spa was the size. The pool is hardly big enough to do laps, and there are not many seats. The 2 heated loungers were great, but there were only 2! The showers in the womens changing rooms left a LOT to be desired, I almost decided against going in, mold and everything. Breakfast was great though, lots of choice and all very well cooked! Just needs a little TLC and would be great!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChelAar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire J, Manager at Bridgewood Manor - QHotels, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Dear ChelAar,
Thank you for your review of your recent one night visit here at Bridgewood Manor. I have looked into the comments that you have raised regarding the bedrooms and spa and addressed the cleanliness issues that you have raised. We are currently organizing a refurbishment program for the hotel, and I hope that you will return in the future to see the benefits of that.
Kind Regards
Claire Johnson- Operations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chatham
20.0 mi away
Ashford International Hotel
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham
11.5 mi away
Hempstead House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Tudor Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
14.7 mi away
Rowhill Grange Hotel & Utopia Spa
19.4 mi away
Eastwell Manor
Eastwell Manor
#1 of 1 in Boughton Lees
1,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bridgewood Manor - QHotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bridgewood Manor - QHotels

Property: Bridgewood Manor - QHotels
Address: Walderslade Woods, Chatham ME5 9AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Chatham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Chatham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bridgewood Manor - QHotels 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the edge of historic Rochester, Bridgewood Manor is in the heart of the Garden of England with enchanting castles, the historic dockyards and many other great attractions on its doorstep. For those that enjoy retail therapy, at nearby Bluewater and exhibitions at Glow Bluewater. The Hotel has great links to the major motorway routes and high speed train route direct to the Olympics; we are a great stop over venue. The hotel is extremely proud of its reputation for high levels of customer service and the hotels intimate and charming characteristics offer the perfect combination for our guests. Unlimited free WiFi throughout the Hotel with dedicated bandwitdh is available for all guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and LateRooms so you can book your Bridgewood Manor - QHotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bridgewood Manor Chatham
Bridgewood Manor Hotel Chatham
Bridgewood Manor - QHotels Chatham, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing