We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Professional efficient and very friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bridgewood Manor - QHotels
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Chatham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 September 2010

We stayed overnight when there were 3 large wedding parties going on, nevertheless the staff had time to respond to our needs speedily. Furthermore, despite the parties (one at least with disco) once we were in our room all was quiet enough. At breakfast we were impressed with the range, quality and quantity of food on offer and even more impressed by the number of staff on duty which meant no-one had to wait to be served despite the restaurant being full.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valjen014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simonbarker, General Manager at Bridgewood Manor - QHotels, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2010

Thank you for your very kind response. The team will be delighted with your comments. They work very hard to ensure that all of our guests are very well looked after. It is very pleasing to note your comments regarding a comfortable nights sleep followed by a super breakfast the next day. The team and I look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,069)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

991 - 997 of 1,069 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2010

We stayed 3 nights to attend a wedding (not held at the hotel) and relax a little. We had concerns about the quality of the rooms beforehand, having read some reviews, but contacted the hotel and they were sufficiently reassuring for us to go ahead with visit. On arrival we were pleasantly surprised that the room did not have tired decor and the fittings were of an acceptable standard. The bathroom was clean though it was just about ready for a refurb. The bed was comfortable and all bedding clean. We only ate breakfast in the hotel but it was good quality, with plenty of choice and pleasant staff. Our room was at the back of hotel and so were not bothered by the functions but noise could be a problem in other bedrooms so it's worth checking with hotel when you make a reservation. The proximity to a major road did not bother us and traffic noise was not excessive. The pool area was small but adequate although, like the bathroom, it is ready to be refurbed. The steam room and sauna were ok.The only major disappointment was with reception. We found the staff were not very knowledgeable nor helpful on very basic matters. Most tellingly, we requested an iron and board on arrival and were told they were all out with guests but we would get one when they were returned. We asked again at 9.30am. but despite further reminders it did not come before we had to leave for the wedding at 1.30pm. No-one on reception seemed to take ownership of this problem nor was any apology made, despite the fact we had to attend a wedding in creased clothing. This is a simple matter to get right and we don't know if it arose through shortness of staff or lack of care. It is unfortunately our over-riding memory of the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ukmummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simonbarker, General Manager at Bridgewood Manor - QHotels, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2010

Thank you for your response. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit albeit that our reception team could not help with the iron and board request. More have since been purchased to assist with the high demand from our guests. I look forward to welcoming you back to Bridgewood in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2010

We were assigned room 39.

A room trapped in the 80's. It had a bedspread which did not match the curtains, towels in the bathroom so thin, when you held them up to the light, you could see through them. A heated towel rail, that was not heated. A tissue dispenser that contined no tissues. A TV that only provided viewing of Sky News, CBBC, Chanel 4. We completed the card, provided by the hotel, which boasted anything not working in the room would be fixed, and handed it to reception at 19.30, as we were dining in the hotel, and thought it would be attended to when we got back to our room as 22.30. Sadly this was not the case, nothing had changed.

Be careful if you use the gym. Some of the equipment is very old. No water in the dispenser.

The staff are helpful in the bar, but they have the TV on loud with football showing. Not everyones choice, background music would have been more condusive.

If you wanted a bathrobe, they made a charge!

Squires reastaurant was an enjoyable experience, staff friendly, service efficient, food of good quality. Varied wine list.

Our room cost £115 including breakfast. 7th September 2010. Not cheap and not up the the quality of the Shires Hotel Group, check them out and see how a hotel should be run.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank champagneboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simonbarker, General Manager at Bridgewood Manor - QHotels, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2010

Thank you for your review. I trust that my e-mail response to you has addressed your concerns. I look forward to welcoming you back to Bridgewood in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2010

I took my wife for a weekend away to relax before going back to work. I chose to stay at the Bridgewood Manor Hotel and wasn't disappointed. The staff were very friendly and courteous. The room was very nice and comfortable and the food in the restaurant was superb. The hotel was in a handy location for all sorts of visitor attractions. We visited Canterbury and the Chatham Hstoric Dockyard.
We were very pleased to have chosen this hotel and would do so again without a second thought!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexElstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simonbarker, General Manager at Bridgewood Manor - QHotels, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2010

Thank you for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed our superb location, one of our strongest assets and within reach of so many highly rated local attractions. I will share your kind comments with the team regarding their service, they all work exceptionally hard to ensure our guests feel thoroughly spoilt. We look forward to welcoming you back to Bridgewood in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2010

Advertised as "an elegant hotel in a charming location" with "superb modern facilities" including a spa, sauna, swimming pool and jacuzzi with a 4* rating it sounded perfect for our needs and so we booked up and were sent the details for Bridgewood Manor Hotel. Within two hours of arrival we were already desperately searching for an alternative option and booked into a slightly cheaper local b&b a few miles down the road.

Located under a motorway, Bridgewood Manor reminded me of a Travelodge....but not the nice new ones you find nowadays, rather a dated, manky one, with uncomfortable beds and unsoundproof rooms.

The spa facilities can only be described a joke, with one manky looking treatment room, a pool you could spit scross, a steam room that smelt like sewage and a sauna that buckled under my weight (just under 10 stone!)...not exactly the advertised luxury.

To make matters worse, on the bathroom towel was a long, black, curly hair and as we sat on the bed we realised we could hear the person in the adjacent room going for a wee....

Do not stay here unless you have to, it's not worth the money and there are some much better, and cheaper local places if you look around!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TeacherCat27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simonbarker, General Manager at Bridgewood Manor - QHotels, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2010

Thank you for your review. Our spa and leisure club is extremely popular and very well used but I will pass your comments onto the team so that they may action. I hope that you will visit the Bridgewood again and see the improvements that we have made.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2010

Stayed on a spa break, not great. The room was clean and comfortable and the service was excellent. Most of the staff are friendly and willing to go the extra mile. However, the spa is hardly big enough to be called a spa, it is a swimming pool and a couple of treatment rooms with a sauna/steam room. The 'spa' area was shabby and dirty with clumps of dirt and hair around the pool. The temperature of the pool was also cold. The door to the steam room is broken so it doesn't keep the steam in. The toilet in the ladies changing room was very dirty and stained.

The food was terrible with the exception of the breakfast which was good with plenty of choice. For the first night we ate in the restaurant, the waitress managed to get the order wrong and when the food came it did not taste very nice leaving a funny aftertaste. The second night we ate in the bar and as the food came from the same kitchen it was no surprise that it again was awful as it was both overcooked and cold and again left a funny aftertaste.

Overall, a bit of a waste of money. The place is a hotel first and a spa last so don't stay here just for the spa facilities. There were some functions going on and yes the previous reviews are right, the music is very loud, not really ideal for a relaxing spa break!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pixie22_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simonbarker, General Manager at Bridgewood Manor - QHotels, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2010

Thank you for your review. The arrival of our new head spa therapist will ensure that the comments you raised will be dealt with effectively and speedily. Our food is not usually an issue but nevertheless your comments will be discussed in detail with the team. Thank you again for your comments and I hope that we will see you again at the Bridgewood in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2010

A poorly located hotel which claims to be luxury but is a 3 star at best.

Nice and clean rooms but windows don't open.

The food however more than makes up for it for both breakfast and evening meal.

The spa area is extremely basic and dated. We were there with a hen do group of 6 and were let down by the spa. The treatments were nice but in cramped cold rooms with cd player constantly breaking which distracted from the treatment and relaxation. We were also unable to use the bar area as there were two weddings on that weekend, something we were not informed about. The robes in the spa were of a beige well washed colour and weren't the quality you would expect in a spa hotel.

Overall it was a mixed experience with some rather good food along the way.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KKX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simonbarker, General Manager at Bridgewood Manor - QHotels, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2010

Thank you for your response. Our location is generally regarded as one of our plus points for its ease to Maidstone and the Bluewater shopping complex. I am sorry that you did not share a view enjoyed by scores of our guests. I will certainly look into your comments regarding the spa treatments but the arrival of our new head spa therapist will no doubt significantly improve our current offering. I will share your excellent comments regarding our food with Trevor Parson our head chef. His team work incredibly hard and they will be delighted with your comments. I hope that you will visit us again and see the improvements we have made to our spa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chatham
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham
6.3 mi away
Tudor Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
11.5 mi away
Hempstead House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Hilton Maidstone
Hilton Maidstone
#8 of 17 in Maidstone
1,709 reviews
20 mi away
Ashford International Hotel
5 mi away
The Black Horse Inn
The Black Horse Inn
#1 of 1 in Thurnham
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bridgewood Manor - QHotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bridgewood Manor - QHotels

Address: Walderslade Woods, Chatham ME5 9AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Chatham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Chatham
Price Range: £67 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bridgewood Manor - QHotels 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the edge of historic Rochester, Bridgewood Manor is in the heart of the Garden of England with enchanting castles, the historic dockyards and many other great attractions on its doorstep. For those that enjoy retail therapy, at nearby Bluewater and exhibitions at Glow Bluewater. The Hotel has great links to the major motorway routes and high speed train route direct to the Olympics; we are a great stop over venue. The hotel is extremely proud of its reputation for high levels of customer service and the hotels intimate and charming characteristics offer the perfect combination for our guests. Unlimited free WiFi throughout the Hotel with dedicated bandwitdh is available for all guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Stayforlong S.L., Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Bridgewood Manor - QHotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bridgewood Manor Chatham
Bridgewood Manor Hotel Chatham
Bridgewood Manor - QHotels Chatham, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing