We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bridgewood Manor - QHotels
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Chatham
Certificate of Excellence
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“A fantastic break”
Reviewed 27 November 2010

Wanted a pleasent couple of day's break,with partener.Found a pleasent and friendly reception,with warm and honestly pleasent staff.The hotel's atmosphere made you feel immediatly relaxed,a very good start to the weekend.The hotel layout is easy to navigate,which makes finding your room a breeze.So onto the room;a comfortable and welcoming room,with ample and comfortable bed,and a clean and tidy bathroom.You know you'll enjoy your night's rest.We had already booked a table in the resturant for that evening,for ourselves and my partners sister and partner.The resturant and bar;both a very comfortable and welcoming layout and atmosphere,with very pleasent and helpful staff,who always went that extra bit to help and assist.Backed up with a very pleasent and tasty meal,with a very varied wine list.We all enjoyed a relaxed and wonderful evening.After a very good nights sleep,we recieved our breakfast in bed,with everything we'd ordered on time,and a real plus 'hot', which i know is always the hard part.After a lovely shower,we had to sadly check out,which was as easy and relaxed as check in had been.A totally wonderful and pleasent experiance, thank you to all the staff.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markblue46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simonbarker, General Manager at Bridgewood Manor - QHotels, responded to this review, 29 November 2010
Dear Markblue46 - Many thanks for your very positive review. I will share this with the team. They will be delighted. Our staff are our greatest asset and they take tremendous pride in their responsibilities. We all look forward to welcoming you back to the Bridgewood Manor in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

929 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    387
    291
    157
    57
    37
See reviews for
146
350
37
161
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Any
English first
Kent
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 November 2010

We visited Bridgewood Manor as part of a Last Minute.com Spa Day deal and having looked at the hotel's website thought we had made a good choice. In truth, the hotel itself did appear smart, clean and modern - however when stepping in to the "Spa" it was the complete opposite - dull, shabby and dirty. A real shock compared to the rest of the hotel.

Firstly the reception area had three tables full of dirty cups when we arrived, three hours later the cups were still there and the two people at reception were just sitting chatting. The changing room was dirty, shabby and speckled with rust. There was one just ladies toilet in the whole of the Spa which I don't think needs describing and one of the shower cubicles had a broken lock.
The swimming pool wasn't much better with a rim of muck around the edge of the pool and the steam room had a foul smell of mould which none of the guests seemed to be able to endure for more than 2 minutes. The "gym" consisted of about 6 machines in a back room, the safety of which looked dubious. We didn't see anyone use this facility.
The tiles on the floor were hazardous when wet, my friend slipped when walking to the sauna and luckily didn't injure herself thanks to grabbing a hook on the wall.

To make matters worse, the Spa was undergoing maintenance work which we hadn't been informed of when we boooked. Firstly - painting, which meant the Spa was filled with unpleasant paint fumes and we had to be careful where we were walking. Then came the drilling throughout the morning and which ruined the treatment my friend was supposed to be enjoying. Unbelievably the therapist didn't think it necessary to ask the workmen to stop the noise during the treatment. We ended up asking reception if they could stop the drilling only to be told 'don't worry it won't be much longer'... it lasted the duration of the treatment. What was perhaps most frustrating is that it was such minor maintenance work - painting some doors and drilling holes for noticeboards? What about the bigger picture?

Although everyone else in The Spa were offered complimentary gowns to wear over their swimming costumes, as we had booked their "special offer day" we weren't given that dignity. Even when we requested these we were declined. So instead we were left to walk around in just bikinis - a real way to make us feel welcome.

Even other couples at the Spa that day were openly expressing their disgust at the facilities and several planned to cut their visit short. It was the complete opposite of what we had expected and the staff seemed incredibly inconsiderate. Why were not told about the workmen when we booked or why did the staff not even apologise when we got there? Why were we made to feel like second class guests because we had booked via Last Minute.com? Surely the reason they are offering their facilities on the affliate website is to increase visitor numbers and to encourage positive word of mouth and repeat business. The extent of the poor service, cleanliness and facilities at Bridgewood Manor has meant we will not be recommending them in future - quite the opposite.

A real disappointment.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anonymous_Visitor_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simonbarker, General Manager at Bridgewood Manor - QHotels, responded to this review, 6 December 2010
Dear Guest - Thank you for your review. Whilst essential maintenance was unavoidable during your visit I will speak to the team about consideration towards our guests. The £10 spa deal that you booked on does state that robes and slippers are not supplied, we are not attempting to make our guests feel like second class citizens but had you booked on our full package you would have recieved these items. There is also a slight exaggeration in your description of our gym as we have more than 6 machines. Had you been disappointed with your experience then a member of our management team would have been more than happy to discuss your issues with you at the time. I would very much like to make amends and would appreciate you contacting me direct so that we are able to atone. I look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stanford-Le-Hope, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 November 2010

hey everyone, just got back from this so called relaxing trip, normally i look at the reviews but i thought with these pictures they have presented you couldnt go wrong.... however as we arrived i was shocked that nobody approached us and made us feel welcome the woman jacueline at the reception was rude and unwelcoming, also we felt the things we asked made us feel that we was putting her out, we got to our room after waiting for an hour and shockingly it was a stingey box room with a very very small double bed so much for luxery, anyway we had a phone call in the room to say we had to go back downstairs because jacqulene forgot our details so we had to rush back down, we complained about the room and they moved us to the luxery suite which was lovely but the two 32" tvs wasnt working so moved room agiain same problem, moved room AGAIN but with the 3rd move the matress on the bed had a huge stain on it and all the covers were chucked on the floor we then found out after our stay we wasnt even meant to be put in there as it wasnt open yet, the 4th room stunk of smoke as wasnt as cosy as the 3rd one, we was 10mins late for our spa treatments which we made them aware but still came out 15mins early!!! wasnt to botherd as i couldnt enjoy it anway iv had much better for lower money, in the end we complained and got it all for FREE except we paid 50 for dinner as we couldnt fault it. you might have a enjoyable stay but dont hold your breath very plain and boring and quite old and full of to many suits!!!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charliratford87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simonbarker, General Manager at Bridgewood Manor - QHotels, responded to this review, 22 November 2010
Dear Charliratford87 - Thank you for your review. I am sorry that we were seen in this light. I have investigated with the team and unfortunately several small issues attributed themselves to you to make a less than impressive stay. I can assure you that our standards are usually far higher than this as many other reviewers can confirm. We hope to see you again at the Bridgewood and ensure a far better experience for you and your partner. Please ensure that you let me know when you are next booking so that I may personally ensure a far more rewarding experience for you both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2010

As soon as you arrive at Bridgewood manor you are welcomed by the reception staff, nothing is too much trouble for them.
The room is comfortable and clean.
The pool area and pool it self are maintained to a high standard and the female receptionist was informatiive and helpful.
We enjoyed a great meal and few drinks, again the staff were friendly and helpful. Even dealing with a diffucult customer with a smile.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crillyRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simonbarker, General Manager at Bridgewood Manor - QHotels, responded to this review, 10 November 2010
Dear crillyRose - Thank you for your great feedback and review. I shall share your review with the team who will be delighted with your comments. Please let me know when you are back with us at Bridgewood.Thank you again crillyRose and Bridgewood looks forward to looking after you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 November 2010

Had a great stay here whilst visiting family, the hotel is clean and the staff friendly.

The breakfast was superb on the Sunday morning, just what was required.

Thanks

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Squeaky63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simonbarker, General Manager at Bridgewood Manor - QHotels, responded to this review, 10 November 2010
Dear Squeaky63 - Many thanks for your great comments. You now have no excuses for seeing the family more. Just think about the gorgeous breakfast that awaits you each and every Sunday. We look forward to welcoming you back. Please let me know when you are planning your next visit. See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 October 2010

got it as a mystery 4star hotel with lastminute and we were delighted with the result.
The hotel staff were friendly and the breakfast was the usual luscious buffet. All the food seemed fresh and the staff were attentive. I didnt want the scrambled or fried egg and so ordered a poached egg. that was no extra trouble at all. There was free internet access in the room which is a bonus.
The swimming pool was great, the time i went was very quiet and their changing rooms were nice and spacious. I did not actually try any of their spa products, which reading the other reviews were not great.
We did not eat there as the food seemed pricey, however their high tea looked very good.
The hotel did seem dated, needing a refurb but the excellent eservice and friendliness of staff makes up for it.
It was a great base for visiting Hever Castle Leeds Castle, Canterbury and the coast to try seafood

Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank doris_parvit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simonbarker, General Manager at Bridgewood Manor - QHotels, responded to this review, 29 October 2010
Dear doris_parvit - Thank you for your very kind review. It's a great shame that you missed out on trying our spa and dinner offering. I think that you would have been very surprised by both. Your comments regarding our location and our service are well made. We are very well placed to explore England's garden and all that it has to offer and our team work incredibly hard to exceed our customers expectations. I hope that you will book direct with us next time as our website presents excellent value for money offers. The team and I look forward to welcoming you back to Bridgewood in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2010

Nice 4 star hotel with small pool, facilities good ,staff friendly and efficient. rooms good and very clean Breakfast excellent choice and standard. Dinner a bit of a disappointment.
£25.00 3 course meal with steak sandwich and chicken pie as the only meat options, vegatables raw over reliance on frozen food

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Del&Ang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simonbarker, General Manager at Bridgewood Manor - QHotels, responded to this review, 27 October 2010
Dear Del&Ang - Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you found our dinner menu less than inspiring. We are currently changing all of our menus but please be rest assured that we use an abundance of fresh produce in our dishes. We will ensure that the new menus fully support this and improve the level of variety available. We look forward to welcoming you back to Bridgewood in the very near future to test our new offering.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chatham
20.0 mi away
Ashford International Hotel
14.7 mi away
Rowhill Grange Hotel & Utopia Spa
19.4 mi away
Eastwell Manor
Eastwell Manor
#1 of 1 in Boughton Lees
1,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Hempstead House Hotel and Spa
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham
6.3 mi away
Tudor Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bridgewood Manor - QHotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bridgewood Manor - QHotels

Property: Bridgewood Manor - QHotels
Address: Walderslade Woods, Chatham ME5 9AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Chatham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Chatham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bridgewood Manor - QHotels 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the edge of historic Rochester, Bridgewood Manor is in the heart of the Garden of England with enchanting castles, the historic dockyards and many other great attractions on its doorstep. For those that enjoy retail therapy, at nearby Bluewater and exhibitions at Glow Bluewater. The Hotel has great links to the major motorway routes and high speed train route direct to the Olympics; we are a great stop over venue. The hotel is extremely proud of its reputation for high levels of customer service and the hotels intimate and charming characteristics offer the perfect combination for our guests. Unlimited free WiFi throughout the Hotel with dedicated bandwitdh is available for all guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Bridgewood Manor - QHotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bridgewood Manor Chatham
Bridgewood Manor Hotel Chatham
Bridgewood Manor - QHotels Chatham, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing