We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service to match excellent facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bridgewood Manor - QHotels
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Chatham
Certificate of Excellence
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent service to match excellent facilities”
Reviewed 12 March 2011

I'm a frequent (thrice-weekly) business traveller, well-versed over the past decade in the joys and miseries of hotel stopovers. I recently had reason to stay in this hotel twice within a fortnight. On each occasion I was struck by the unusually excellent and friendly service from reception staff, restaurant staff - even the consultant fitting an updated plasma screen TV in my room when I arrived (early)! I've never had reason to contribute to TripAdvisor before, but felt moved to express my appreciation for an outstanding experience in this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigspybossovich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simonbarker, General Manager at Bridgewood Manor - QHotels, responded to this review, 16 March 2011
Dear bigspybossovich - May I say how honoured I am that you have taken the trouble to submit your first review and give such glowing feedback on my team. The new LCD televisions have indeed been installed and will further enhance our guest experience with the vast selection of freeview channels and full SKY SPORTS packages - a first for any hotel in the Maidstone and Medway areas. The team and I look forward to making Bridgewood your continued home from home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

967 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    406
    299
    165
    59
    38
See reviews for
155
366
37
164
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2011

This was my first experience at a commedy night and it was a gift for my partner. I have to say the commedy was of high quality but unfortunatley the hotel & food let it down. The comedy started with finding foil in my food and the couples around me too had foil and even plastic in their what was a poor effort of a dinner - well from a 4 star hotel, it looked like cheap slop. I felt embarrest watching my husband see this as this was a gift night. My husband who is vegetarian got a dish of what was supposed to be risotto, never having this before he did not know what to expect. It was riddiculous, after him pickingout hard rice fom his teeth he had no idea the rice was supposed to be soft. Im offended that the Bridgewood thought they coul dserve this to a human.
The way management thought they coul dsort the issue was change the plate with foil....uh yeah thats the least you could do and give me and my hubby a free drink. THey also left under my room door vouchers for £10.00 off next visit. I complained in the morning and they did nothing else but say sorry. To top it all the room was freezing and the bed uncomfortable so bad that my husband travelled back home in the middle of the night as he needed a good night sleep. Stillthe management at the Bridgewood, felt there was nothing else they could do.

Having said all that the staff were never rude - i know you expect them to be polite as they are within hospitality but you never know!!! I have booked another night for a friend who i know is not too picky as the commedy is worth it.

I hope that the htel see that i have 2 more visits booked & a couple of spar treatments & maybe are courtious to offer me a free treatment on a different day along with a part refund. I have been prepared to give them another go, so i think i deserve some money back or money off. Oh yes when the commedian asked the audiance did they like the food everyone shouted back a resounding NO, i did not think he expected that .

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank awayfromhome1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simonbarker, General Manager at Bridgewood Manor - QHotels, responded to this review, 8 March 2011
Dear awayfromhome1970 - What a great shame that we have been viewed in this light. I assure you my team would have done everything to atone for any mishaps during your stay had you discussed it with us at the time. Your review leaves me very little room to defend myself but I can assure you that your next stay with us will be remembered for all the right reasons. We look forward to welcoming you and your friend shortly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 March 2011

I did read some other reviews before deciding to stay at Bridgewood Manor and I will be honest it seemed a lot of people were not impressed which almost made me change me mind about staying. I am so glad I took the risk.Bridgewood Manor has the most helpful of staff pleasant, smiling and very welcoming.The room I had was very very clean and it was clear the housemaids took great pride in doing their job.They were also very pleasant too. The food was outstanding and pleanty of it, brekfast had a good variety of foodstuffs if you don't find anything you like there them I think you are looking for something that doesn't exist!!! Lighter bites were good too with the chips in the bar snacks always fresh and piping hot. I did use the spa and although as somone else reviewed it looks dated it did but it was clean,the statff were helpful and to have the opportunity to briefly unwind with a steam room a swim and sauna after a long day of training was very welcome.
I really enjoyed my stay thankyou.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank g0dess52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simonbarker, General Manager at Bridgewood Manor - QHotels, responded to this review, 8 March 2011
Dear gOdess52 - Thank you for your very honest review and I am delighted that we gave you a stay to remember. All that you have written embodies all that we pride ourselves on at Bridgewood, our team are, as I continually write, our greatest asset. Thank you again and I hope that we see you again very shortly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 March 2011

one of the best hotels we have stayed in.Staff were so fast when you wanted something and nothing was to much trouble,Food was superb,

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sallyd7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simonbarker, General Manager at Bridgewood Manor - QHotels, responded to this review, 8 March 2011
Dear Sallyd7 - Thank you for your very punchy review. I am delighted with your opening remark and look forward to welcoming you back to Bridgewood in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 February 2011

Although clashed with major wedding reception we would not have known.
Professionally and sympathetically organised by W endy and overseen by Tracey on the night. Went like clockwork from 18.30 til 01.00. Nice photo opportunities in main area by fireplace.
The Suite was ideal for 50-60 people and the service excellent. Stayed in Junior Suite for five hours but worth it!
Buffet breakfast very good. Hope we're back next year. Ken SE London

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kennywenny90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simonbarker, General Manager at Bridgewood Manor - QHotels, responded to this review, 28 February 2011
Dear kennywenny90 - What a fantastic review! I hope that you come back next year too! I am incredibly proud of my team and full of admiration for the fact that they deliver day after day. Thank you again Kennywenny90 for telling the world about how great the team at Bridgewood Manor are. See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gravesend
1 review
Reviewed 19 February 2011

After a disastrous stay at another Qhotel, we were offered compensation by means of a complimentary night’s accommodation at the hotel, as it was too far to travel for one evening we opted to stay at the Bridgewood Manor hotel in Chatham. From the outset we found our stay at the hotel to be very enjoyable. At check in we were greeted by Samuel who made us feel very welcome - directing us to our room, asking if we needed help with luggage etc. booking a table for dinner, giving us the log in details for the 2hrs free wifi. The room was very clean and well equipped with a view over the tennis court. As it turned out the bed was very comfortable and although being close to a major road junction surprisingly quiet. We went to the bar for a pot of tea - which was served by a very courteous waiter (did not get his name and he also served at dinner). The dinner menu was very varied but we both opted for the Table de Hote (which was included). The food was very good, well presented and of good flavour with more than adequate portions with excellent service. I had mentioned to the Restaurant manager that it was my birthday - and my desert was served on a plate inscribed with “Happy Birthday”, a very simple touch but much appreciated. Breakfast again was good with a full variety of cereal; fruit and full cooked breakfast. My only moan were that there were no hot plates. Overall our stay at the Bridgewood Manor was excellent with very hard working and courteous staff and we would definitely return - even the Sunday lunch carvery sounded tempting.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deeham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simonbarker, General Manager at Bridgewood Manor - QHotels, responded to this review, 28 February 2011
Dear deeham - Thank you for your gracious review and for taking such trouble to individually name members of our team who stood out for you whilst you stayed with us. I shall ensure that Sam, our receptionist and our bar team on duty when you arrived know that you were complimentary of their skills. Our team are our greatest asset and many reveiwers are quick to praise them for their superb skills and attention to detail. Thank you again and I look forward to wlecoming you back to Bridgewood in the very near future - hopefully for Sunday lunch!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orpington
1 review
Reviewed 13 February 2011

We went to Bridgewood Manor for the special Valentines Ball, staying Friday 11th and Saturday 12th of February. Whilst the hotel was very clean the rooms were very dated, the duvet was very lumpy and very hard pillows, also the Spa facilities could be better. Friday night we dined in the Squires Restaurant at 7.30pm, we did not leave here until 10.45pm! We think we were forgotton about between courses and had to keep reminding the staff we were there! The vegetables were undercooked but otherwise very nice.
Saturday we attended the Valentines Ball which I actually regret doing, I understood it to be a romantic night but it was like a "club" atmosphere, Maybe it was just me being picky! It was also a shame you did not have a choice of food on the menu, the main course was massive to say the least!
We were also very dissapointed that on the day of departure there was a problem with the boilers so the whole hotel was without any hot water, we ended up having a freezing cold shower in the room, then onto the Spa we had a freezing cold swim, and we ended up leaving there without having another cold shower! We were offered no compensation for this.
On the Saturday afternoon we asked the receptionist if she could get some more milk for our room, this did not happen, upon asking again she replied "god I havent got a clue whats happening!".
It was a shame as we stayed in this hotel about 10 years ago and it does seem to have gone downhill since then.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VictoriaHannabuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simonbarker, General Manager at Bridgewood Manor - QHotels, responded to this review, 15 February 2011
Dear Victoriahannabuss - Thank you for your review. I am sorry that on this very rare occassion we failed to deliver. I shall investigate your issues with dinner on Friday, but we had some excellent feedback about our Valentines Ball on Saturday. Unfortunately we had a boiler failure on Sunday morning which knocked out the hot water and the pool temperature - all of which have now been rectified. I am sorry that it spoilt your stay. Please let me know the next time that you are staying and I will personally ensure a far better experience. I look forward to welcoming you back to Bridgewood in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chatham
20.0 mi away
Ashford International Hotel
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham
11.5 mi away
Hempstead House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Tudor Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
14.7 mi away
Rowhill Grange Hotel & Utopia Spa
19.4 mi away
Eastwell Manor
Eastwell Manor
#1 of 1 in Boughton Lees
1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bridgewood Manor - QHotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bridgewood Manor - QHotels

Property: Bridgewood Manor - QHotels
Address: Walderslade Woods, Chatham ME5 9AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Chatham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Chatham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bridgewood Manor - QHotels 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the edge of historic Rochester, Bridgewood Manor is in the heart of the Garden of England with enchanting castles, the historic dockyards and many other great attractions on its doorstep. For those that enjoy retail therapy, at nearby Bluewater and exhibitions at Glow Bluewater. The Hotel has great links to the major motorway routes and high speed train route direct to the Olympics; we are a great stop over venue. The hotel is extremely proud of its reputation for high levels of customer service and the hotels intimate and charming characteristics offer the perfect combination for our guests. Unlimited free WiFi throughout the Hotel with dedicated bandwitdh is available for all guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bridgewood Manor - QHotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bridgewood Manor Chatham
Bridgewood Manor Hotel Chatham
Bridgewood Manor - QHotels Chatham, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing