We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best ruby in Chatham”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Gurkhas Brother

Gurkhas Brother
Ranked #3 of 129 Restaurants in Chatham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Nepalese, Eastern European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Fine dine Indian & Nepalese cuisine with bar , A perfect venue for dining with quality food and friendly service.
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best ruby in Chatham”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

Best in the Chatham for sure! I love the curry here but the Nepalese dishes are the ones to go for. A rare treat in this part of the world!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JamesActon1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    62
    14
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
chatham kent
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant in the South East”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

We have been four times now to Gurkhas Brother and each time the food has been excellent - freshly cooked and each dish is definitely different, not like some Indian restaurants where you wonder if they have one pot and just add the odd thing for each choice!!. The service is second to non, the staff are very tentative, extremely polite yet not in your face. I took a party of six last week and we all want to go back yet again.

I run a B&B in Chatham Dockyard and have sent quite a few guests down and everyone is in awe of the food - one couple went back three nights running.

A excellent choice if you are in the area. Absolutely five star.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank officershill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichtenfels, Bayern, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

To be honest, it's not the greatest Indian restaurant I've ever been to, but it is very, very good. None of us went home dissatisfied or vaguely hungry, and the staff were helpful, friendly and efficient. And to top it all off, when the waiter tried in vain to phone a taxi for us, he simply whipped out his car keys and drove us back to the hotel! Would certainly go again!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brompton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant in the Area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

I've eaten here a handful of times since moving to the area 6 months ago and I've got to say it's the best place around.

The food is fresh and really well cooked; I only ever order their Nepalese dishes as you can get well cooked "Indian" curries in many places around here. Give their Gurkhali Lamb a try for the perfect blend of heat, flavour and perfectly soft Lamb that just melts in the mouth...

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RobDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

What a fantastic meal. Lovely people, good service and very carefully spiced food.

Highly recommended

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Radioheadkiduk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andaz_12, Owner at Gurkhas Brother, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Great comment thank you very much
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gurkhas Brother also viewed

 

Been to Gurkhas Brother? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing