We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very disappointed”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Fort Amherst

Fort Amherst
Ranked #3 of 31 things to do in Chatham
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Originally constructed during Napoleonic times in preparation for a possible invasion, Chatham's Fort Amherst was also used as a civil defence centre in both world wars. The Fort has been in a near constant state of restoration since the 1980's by the Fort Amherst Heritage Trust, a charity who works hard to manage and maintain the vast site whilst sympathetically returning its grounds and buildings to their original state to ensure Britain's largest Napoleonic Fortress can be enjoyed by all.
Canvey Island, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

We booked for a 90 minutes guided tour that unfortunately only lasted 45 minutes. We felt a little short-changed there. What made it worse was that our guide, an extremely scruffy man, had a very unpleasant and strong body odour which worsened when he leant close to people, which he did quite often. The walk round the site before the tour was interesting, and the tunnels themselves were fascinating, but I would have preferred to have guided ourselves, as all the relevant information was on the boards throughout the walk.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Phil E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FortAmherst, Manager at Fort Amherst, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear Phil,

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We certainly appreciate the feedback and I can promise you that the information has been passed on to our volunteer coordinator for investigation. As you rightly say, the tours are conducted by volunteers giving their time for free, and for that we are very grateful. However, this in no way excuses significant deviation from the promised tour times, or the other issues you described so we will be looking into this. I must say though that our volunteers are usually highly praised, particularly for their tunnel tours as you’ll see from various other Trip Advisor reviews, most of which gave us a full 5 stars so there may well be mitigating circumstances in this instance.

The vast majority of the feedback we get regarding the tours and visits to Fort Amherst in general is positive, but I understand that this does not help you - so I have sent you an email with more details as I feel that the more personal elements of your complaint should be discussed less publicly in fairness the gentleman involved.

Thank you once again for giving us the chance to rectify this.

Yours sincerely,


Fort Amherst.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    56
    24
    3
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Halloween Horrors Event at Fort Amherst”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

I've got to share with you the amazing experience that is the Halloween Horrors. We went along last night and had a truly horrifying but exceptionally fun evening. The tours are so well put together, costumes and make up is quite brilliant. My 15 year old daughter was in horror heaven. We jumped and screamed out of skins. Even my 6ft 4in husband was lured in the scary world at the Fort for a full 45 minutes.

I urge you to go next year if you can. But only if you are brave and aged over 15 if accompanied by an adult!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montgomery, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

Well organised with informative guided tour. Good café. Staff at this place very enthusiastic. I am claustrophobic so felt apprehensive once underground but really pleased I made it through it was worth quite an experience.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank welshlassie65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twyford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sadly disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

We travelled from Berkshire to see Fort Amherst, plus a few other sights in the area. We went on a Saturday and for all intent and purposes it was closed. The tunnels were locked up and not accessible and sections of the Fort roped off for a kids Halloween event(!). A real shame as we would loved to have learnt and experienced more.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FortAmherst, Public Relations Manager at Fort Amherst, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Dear Barry,

We are very sorry to hear of your disappointment, especially as you had travelled some distance. The tunnels are usually open, but are closed every October as they are the main focus of our annual Halloween Horrors – an event which enlists the help of some 150 volunteers who take the opportunity to raise money for the Fort which is run as a charity. The Halloween event is by far our largest throughout the year and we rely on it heavily to fund the expensive restoration work required around the site, and to maintain the grounds which are open to the public free of charge.

Under the ‘tunnel tours’ section of our website there was a notice stating that the tunnels were shut throughout this period – however having read your review we will be posting tunnel closures on the home page from now on to try and avoid similar situations in the future, so thank you for bringing this to our attention. Please accept our apologies that this was not previously made clearer. We would encourage you to contact us if you have plans to be in the area again and would be prepared to revisit our attraction, so that we may have the chance to show you our unique and historic site in full.

Yours sincerely,


Fort Amherst.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A little gem over shadowed by the dockyard”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

Well worth a visit, the tunnel tour is a must, well presented and informative. Full of history often presented by very motivated staff.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank grumpyandIknow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fort Amherst also viewed

 

Been to Fort Amherst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing