We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Had stayed previously still as bad as ever.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Chatham
Newport Pagnell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Had stayed previously still as bad as ever.”
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Stayed at the this hotel to attend a school re-union day on 17th September 2011. Check in was very bad. I was told by the receptionist that she had problem with the computer. She than asked her colleague. She then went to the reception office, without saying a word to me and never returned. I was left standing at the reception desk waiting until another member of staff came our from behind. This was over 5 minutes, by which time there is a queue at reception.
I forgot my code for the in room safe. Went out to dinner, came back and informed reception. The receptionist did not say a word to me and disappeared. Again left hanging at reception. She came back and informed me that someone will be up to unlock the safe.
The house keeper came to the room and did not knock but just let herself in.
This is the worst Holiday Inn I have ever stayed in, being a Priority Club Member. The last time I complained a got a really condescending reply from the manager.

Room Tip: I stayed at an Executive Room. Not worth the extra, if I had to pay for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank galim29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kcoombs, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham, responded to this review, 13 October 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay with us. I am sorry to learn that you experienced issues with reception during your stay, please be assured that remedial action has been taken to ensure these issues are not repeated. I do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    224
    186
    55
    37
See reviews for
142
169
32
185
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2011

friendly helpfull staff and a lovely room with views over looking the airfield at rochester . the hotel also has a pool and gym

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eurobell99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kcoombs, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham, responded to this review, 13 October 2011
Thank you very much for your feedback with regards to your stay. I am glad to you had a pleasent stay and I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Do not attempt to eat here, you will regret it. 2hr wait for half frozen rubbish, the best part of £20 for a burger?

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy-seua-Morris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kcoombs, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham, responded to this review, 13 October 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I am sorry to learn that your food did not meet our usual high standards, I have passed your comments on to our Head Chef to make sure that this lapse of standards is not repeated. I do hope you will visit us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chatham hotels

grimsby
Level Contributor
96 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

Rooms, decent size, typical functional, choice of pillows. Tea making facilities, but no biscuits.
Beds comfortable, cleanliness exeptional. Bath with shower over, could be difficult for elderly guests.
Bar, lounge comfortable, but service slow. Spa/pool/gym available, looks nice.
Restaurant, at breakfast exceptional choice, every conceivable variation, and food good and hot, service was good
However, eat there in the evening, Ambiance of a canteen, noisy to the extreme.
Food was variable, some hot some not so, the service was poor, and the waiter in charge was surly, refusing to serve wine at the table. Having to queue with 20 odd other people at the bar, being unable to peruse the wine list (which was expensive) at leisure, does not bode well for a relaxed evening meal.
These deficiencies turned what could be an exceptional place to stay overnight into an average budget stopover.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ragrut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kcoombs, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham, responded to this review, 28 September 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback about your recent stay. I am pleased to hear that you had a comfortable stay generally and that you enjoyed breakfast in the hotel. I am sorry to hear that you experienced some issues with the restaurant and bar service during the evening, I will certainly pass your comments back to the staff and look at ways of improving our service for the future. I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2011

I stayed here bank holiday Saturday for a nearby family party. I got an excellent room rate including breakfast so didn't have very high expectations of the hotel but I was very pleasantly surprised.
My ground floor room was very clean and well presented although a long walk from reception and I didn't realise until woken by noisy wedding party revellers that I was on the edge of the function area.

I didn't use the pool but it looked very clean

Breakfast was plentiful and tasty with lots of choice. All in all a real bargain of a stay - thank you!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SazzB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kcoombs, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham, responded to this review, 7 September 2011
Thank you for your recent review of the hotel following your stay with us, I am pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay. I am sorry to hear that some guests attending an event in the hotel were noisy on this occasion, I do hope that it did not disturb you too much. I am glad that you had an enjoyable breakfast and I will certain be passing your comments back to the chef. I do hope that we will have the opporunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, Scotland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2011

Stayed here for 1 night, check in was quick and efficient despite being busy. Room was modern and what I expected from this type of hotel . Booked a couple of months in advance and got a good rate with breakfast. Breakfast was buffet, plenty of it, counter well stocked and tidy and a good start for the following journey home.

Only downside was if there is a function on it can be a little noisy until around 11pm (as was during my stay on a Saturday)

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbeaten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kcoombs, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham, responded to this review, 7 September 2011
Thank you very much for your kind review following your recent stay with us. I am pleased to hear that you had a good stay with us, despite a few noisy guests in the hotel attending an event, I hope it did not disturb your stay too much. I am glad that you enjoyed your breakfast too. I certainly hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

We staye dhere for a meal and a night out on my sisters b'day. The rooms aren't that big but they are well decorated and very quiet. The leisure club and pool are very calm. The evening meal in the restaurant is very nice and quite posh. The berakfast though is to die for with a very vast array anbd people at your service all the time!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ojandlemonade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kcoombs, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham, responded to this review, 7 September 2011
Thank you very much for taking the time write your review with regards to your recent stay with us. I am delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay for your sisters birthday. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed both your dinner and breakfast, and I will certain pass your kind comments on to all my staff. I do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chatham
0.5 mi away
Bridgewood Manor - QHotels
3.8 mi away
Premier Inn Chatham/Gillingham (Victory Pier) Hotel
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Rochester Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The King Charles Hotel
The King Charles Hotel
#1 of 2 in Gillingham
602 reviews
2.3 mi away
St. George Hotel
St. George Hotel
#3 of 6 in Chatham
297 reviews
3.9 mi away
Ship & Trades
Ship & Trades
#5 of 6 in Chatham
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham

Property: Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham
Address: Maidstone Road, Chatham ME5 9SF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Chatham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Chatham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham hotel. This modern, well equipped hotel contains fully air-conditioned bedrooms all with high speed internet access. With our mix of Double, Twin & Family Rooms (Kids Stay & Eat Free) and fuly equipped Spirit Health & Fitness Centre with Pool, the hotel is the ideal location for both business & leisure travellers.The Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham hotel is ideally located for key attractions including Leeds Castle, Historic Dockyard Chatham, Rochester Cathedral, Dickens World & Brands Hatch Race Circuit. Access to the Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham hotel is easy via both the M2 & M20, or by train to Rochester station, making the hotel a central base for touring Kent or a convenient stop-off en-route to Folkestone and Dover.For Conference & Events, the hotel has fantastic facilities for all types of Meetings, Functions & Ceremonies within the Academy Conference Centre. Click here for more info. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham Hotel Chatham
Holiday Inn Chatham
Chatham Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing