We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pulled it round in the end”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Chatham
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
255 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Pulled it round in the end”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

I recently had a very important family party here. The service prior to the event was not great slow response to emails, no negotiations on prices, not being there for meetings.

On the day of set up the areas were double booked which made setting up hard.

The food was ok and the service on the day was good I think they had realised they had an unhappy customer and tried to pull it back.

Would I go again, not sure.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allisoncsuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear Allisoncsuk,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay with us. Guest satisfaction is important to us and we try our hardest to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. We are so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us and regret the issues you encountered during your stay. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    234
    191
    56
    39
See reviews for
147
180
33
190
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Devon
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Stayed for 2 nights over the weekend. Room was clean and tidy, bed comfortable. Great nights sleep as so quiet. Fantastic breakfast, so much choice and all cooked really well. Lovely pool and gym. Very friendly staff. If in the area again would love to come back :)

Room Tip: We stayed on the 1st floor, long walk from reception but worth it as so peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SandyB1722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your positive review about your recent stay with us. I am very pleased to learn that you had an enjoyable stay and that you managed to experience, everything the hotel has to offer. I look forward to hopefully welcoming you back very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Good overall, but let down by the number of steps one has to negotiate to get around. 10 or so from car park level to lobby, which with heavy wheeled cases is not easy. Thereis a diabled chair lift but this is not for bags! Otherwise thisis a standard HI, clean, functional, with swimming pool and gym facilities. Good motorway access from M2.

Room Tip: ask for a room not facing the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WiltshireDruid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Thank you for your recent review of your stay with us. I am sorry to learn of the inconvenience you found accessing the hotel. We do have access into the lobby from a pathway out the front of the hotel which does not involve using the steps, that some of our guests find easier to use. I do hope that if we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future you will find this access route easier with heavy bags
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chatham hotels

Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Typical HI rooms, very clean and comfortable. Ordered room service and including the ridiculous amount of time it took to get to my room (over an hour) it was very disappointing. I ordered the meat lasagne and it was clearly over-microwaved and had some rock hard garlic bread that really tested my teeth. Fortunately as I have considerable experience of hotel room service I ordered a bowl of chips in case it was in-edible. The chips were very greasy and had the taste of old over used oil in the fryer. By all means stay here but bring sandwiches.

Room Tip: Try the Hilton in Dartford.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJThatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Thank you for your review on your recent stay with us. I am pleased to hear that in general your stay was comfortable. I am very disappointed to learn of your experience of our Room Service and the standard of food you received. This level of service is clearly unacceptable and I would like to assure you that this is not our usual standard. I have passed your feedback to our Head Chef for immediate review. Thank you for bringing this t my attention. I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

On a business conference with a private evening meal which was served efficiently (not always so easy judging from experience elsewhere). Plenty of breakfast (lots of choice, and lots of food - except for a wait for fried eggs one morning, but they are cooked fresh). Pool area (sauna, steam room) compact but adequate. Room fine - choice of pillows, but no safe. Aircon worked fine - but if you like fresh air some roads face the main road so will be noisy with the window open. Easy to get to by public transport, with buses (no. 101) every 15 minutes during the day from Chatham station. Staff all friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: If you want to sleep with a window open, avoid a room facing Maidstone Road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Warringtonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Thank you for taking you time to review your recent stay with us. I am very pleased to hear that your experience was to your expectations and that you had an opportunity to enjoy the facilities that we have to offer. I do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back in to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Rochester to start a celebration holiday with our party of 10. On arrival we had no assistance to get our luggage to our rooms, which were located at the other side of the building. We were followed by a group of pensioners who also struggled with their luggage. The issue was, two flights of steps, one into reception, and one on the other side of the hotel. No ramps were in place, so it was very difficult to move large amounts of luggage. There is a lovely pool with warm temperature, but the experience was spoilt, by a severe lack of cleanliness in the changing rooms. Hair on the floor, and nappy bins un-emptied, with many lockers broken. We had booked a BB & Dinner package, but our biggest disappointment was the restaurant experience. On our first evening the service was extremely slow and the children fell asleep before the food had been served. The choice of desserts was derisory, since you were only allowed 2 choices from 8 dessert dishes, without having to pay an extra cost. We were told that there were no banana splits available, because the hotel had run out of bananas, and none had been available for several weeks, yet there were plentiful bananas available at breakfast the next morning. No syrup was available for pancakes, (the hotel has a pancake making machine), and we understood from staff that none had been available for several weeks either. We had hoped that the evening meal on day 2 would be better, but it was even worse. Our pre-booked party of 10 for 7.30pm, including 4 young children, was placed next to a pre-booked party of 12. It took 30 minutes to order, but another hour before we received our starters. It was not possible to take the buffet since all food was sold out by 7.30pm due to coach parties. As soon as the other party sat down their food was served!! Our meals, when delivered, had not been cooked properly. Plates were either running with blood or grease. This was one of the worst meals we have ever received from a hotel. The staff are charming, but clearly had not been trained. We have stayed at the Holiday Inn Hotels many times before, but this was truly awfull, and so short of expectation. It was meant to be a Celebration for our family
but completely ruined. Are the Holiday Inn Standards dropping? We shall think very hard before booking another break.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TrevorB08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Dear TrevorB08
Thank you very much for bringing your recent experience at the Hotel to my attention. I would very much like to discuss the issues with you in further detail and I would invite you to contact me directly in order to do this. My e-mail address is christopher.ross@ihg.com
I do look forward to hearing from you at your convenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

Booked for lunch with friends and regret to say we were all seriously disappointed. Though not busy by any standards it took 8 minutes for someone to show us to a seat. From that point on matters took a turn for the worse. "Cocking a Snoot" at the trades description act the three course "carvery" got off to a splendid start with a pitiful display in both choice and quality, compounded by a virtual lack of cold meat, prawns drowning in a sargasso of unknown origin and not a single bread roll in sight. To be fair, after a polite request, six slices of Salami and an equal number questionable luncheon meat style slices did put in a brief appearance along with the bread rolls after about 10 minutes so perhaps criticism at this early stage seems a tad acerbic, that is alas until the main event, or rather non event I should say, instead of the greatly anticipated choice of succulent beef, Pork or turkey and gammon joints lovingly prepared and slowly cooked to perfection we were presented with the tail end of a tired gammon joint which would be shamed by its equivalent purchased with food stamps during the Blitz. No alternative was initially offered as they had run out of everything and only under duress was a steak proffered as a solution to this dilemma.
Though the vegetables were mediocre in the extreme one has to admit the catering cheesecake and profiteroles were passable and the single cream a credit to Elmlea.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am very disappointed to learn of your experience at the hotel for your Sunday Lunch recently. This level of standard and service is clearly unacceptable and please be assured that I will be dealing with your comments with my staff internally. I would like to invite you and your party back to the hotel for Sunday Lunch to show you that we are able to deliver on the standard or service and food quality that you would expect. I invite you to contact me direct at the hotel to arrange this. Please do accept my sincere apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chatham
0.4 mi away
Bridgewood Manor - QHotels
3.1 mi away
The King Charles Hotel
The King Charles Hotel
#1 of 2 in Gillingham
627 reviews
3.5 mi away
Travelodge Chatham Maritime Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
St. George Hotel
St. George Hotel
#3 of 6 in Chatham
318 reviews
3.9 mi away
Ship & Trades
Ship & Trades
#5 of 6 in Chatham
356 reviews
3.8 mi away
Village Hotel Maidstone
Village Hotel Maidstone
#3 of 15 in Maidstone
1,644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham

Property: Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham
Address: Maidstone Road, Chatham ME5 9SF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Chatham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Chatham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham hotel. This modern, well equipped hotel contains fully air-conditioned bedrooms all with high speed internet access. With our mix of Double, Twin & Family Rooms (Kids Stay & Eat Free) and fuly equipped Spirit Health & Fitness Centre with Pool, the hotel is the ideal location for both business & leisure travellers.The Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham hotel is ideally located for key attractions including Leeds Castle, Historic Dockyard Chatham, Rochester Cathedral, Dickens World & Brands Hatch Race Circuit. Access to the Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham hotel is easy via both the M2 & M20, or by train to Rochester station, making the hotel a central base for touring Kent or a convenient stop-off en-route to Folkestone and Dover.For Conference & Events, the hotel has fantastic facilities for all types of Meetings, Functions & Ceremonies within the Academy Conference Centre. Click here for more info. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Expedia, IHG, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham Hotel Chatham
Holiday Inn Chatham
Chatham Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing