We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good room and service, could do with a single person's breakfast option” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Chatham
Thatcham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good room and service, could do with a single person's breakfast option”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

Quick check in having already pre-paid, good instructions and signage to locate the room and afterwards back to the reception. The room was clean and spacious, rather warm on arrival but fortunately the air con cooled it down quite quickly. Bathroom/shower good, towels, large and soft. Did not eat an evening meal or try the bar as I was visiting family. Had a good night undisturbed sleep with a quick check out in the morning. Breakfast was not taken (see below).

Two things I think could be improved:-
Lighting in car park - fairly dark on my arrival.
Having the breakfast option for say £8 for 1 visitor rather than just charging £16 for up to two visitors. Paying £16 for a single breakfast is rather over the top when just a basic breakfast of cereal is required so I brought my own cereal and frozen milk along.

Room Tip: Odd number room (109) was overlooking a central area not on the road side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mdd150407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, I am very pleased to hear that overall you had an enjoyable stay with us and most importantly a good nights sleep. Thank you for the feedback with regards to the lighting in the car park I will be reviewing this issue. We offer breakfast vouchers which can be purchased on arrival for £11.95 per person or breakfast if taken on the day is £15.95 per person. We do offer a light selection of breakfast items such as toast or muffins in our bar area for guests who do not wish to take a full breakfast. I hope you might find this helpful in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    223
    183
    55
    37
See reviews for
140
166
32
182
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
S.w. Scotland
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

Surprisingly quiet, except for dining area - dreadful music. Staff generally very helpful. Confusion over opening times of restaurant and payment of bill. Unhappy with disabled parking area - poor lighting at night-time in car park area. Arrived in rain in the dark, found entrance poorly marked.Food good and breakfast very good. Would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Elysabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us. I am sorry to hear that you found the music in the restaurant dreadful, I appreciate the feedback and take on board your comments. Thank you for your feedback with regards to the car park, please be assured I will be investigating the issue further to identify how we can improve the visibility for our guests. I am glad that you had a good stay overall and enjoyed dinner and breakfast in the hotel. We do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

Spent a pleasant Friday & Saturday evening in the hotel. Everything was very clean and tidy, plenty of car parking space and a nice view over the airfield (light aircraft & helo only), so absolutely no complaints. We had a very quiet room (161) on the first floor, which was a very long walk! My wife & young son enjoyed the pool too, which was a nice bonus. Having read some of the other reviews, I was quite unsure about the booking, but having stayed, as a Gold rewards member, I'd suggest it's definitely up to the standard of other UK Holiday Inn's. We did not eat in the hotel as we were busy at Brands Hatch all weekend.

Room Tip: Stay near the airfield and it's very quiet with no footfall in morning or at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stu B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, I am very pleased to hear that you and your family had an enjoyable stay with us and you had time to enjoy the leisure facilities. I do hope you will have the opportunity to stay with us again when you are visiting the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed this hotel especially the leisure gym sauna spa etc really nice the gym small but enough machines there n good quality.food at resturant quite dear as with all hotel chains the breakfast was lovely as had stay and breakfast deal.rooms facing the road a little noisy if u av window open as found it hot in the room rooms are small but clean comfy bed and smart hotel at back faces a small airfield

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank EnglandSierra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Thank you for taking your time to review your recent stay with us, I am pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and that you were able to enjoy the facilities we had to offer. I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

I stayed here for one night as i was in the area for business. Easy to find with good size free car park. Check in was easy and fast - The room (room 127) was fairly compact but appeared clean although the furniture had some wear to the edges. There was no iron or ironing board in the room and the fridge wouldn't open. TV was large flat screen, had all the other things you would expect of a hotel of this standard, kettle, room service, hair dryer, trouser press. Room was air conditioned and got quite stuffy in the middle of the night but you could adjust this. Shower in room was a nice powerful spray. Restaurant in this hotel is poor, more like a canteen type atmosphere with hard chairs a and hard floor, not nice so opted for room service - food is priced far to expensive for what it is, paid £18 for 2 bottles of Pepsi, hot dog and fries and side order of garlic bread. Would advise to stay on a bed and breakfast basis and find a local pub to eat for better value and more for your money.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to feedback on your recent stay at the Holiday inn Rochester. I am pleased to hear that overall you had an enjoyable stay at the hotel and that your room was clean and comfortable for your stay. Thank you for your feedback with regards to our Restaurant, I take on board your comments with regards to the atmosphere prices and I will be looking at ways that we can improve on this. I do hope that you will have the opportunity to stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

Really good service as always at Holiday Inn , bit disappointed with tiny room but still very clean and comfortable. Food was from various menu's and also the buffet. If you stay have the buffet, amazing food and one drink well worth it. Asda across the road if you need things, town 10 mins drive or bus away.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Patrick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Thank you for taking your time to review your recent stay with us. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed one of the specialty buffets that we have throughout the week, from Indian to Italian; we have found them very popular with our guests. I am sorry that you found your room was not to your expectation, however that you found it comfortable. I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

First time we have stayed in this hotel, it was lovely. Friendly staff greeted us on arrival. Our check in was quick and easy. Our room was on 2nd floor, facing into court yard and overlooking the airport. It wasn't noisy, the room was lovely and clean, the bed was comfortable, the bathroom was also clean. only downside to room was only one chair to sit on. but that wasn't a hardship!
We didn't have an evening meal in the hotel as we were going to a function but the food smelt great when we left to go out.

After a quite nights sleep we went down to breakfast, once again greeted by friendly staff who showed us to our table. A clean and tidy restaurant, even with lots of people coming and going. The breakfast (full english) was hot and extrememly tasty, plenty to choose from too.
Would definitely recommend this hotel and would use again.


We didn't use the swimming pool facilities so cannot comment on those

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jezkirsty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Thank you very much for taking your time to write a lovely review of your stay with us, I am very pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable and rest night sleep with us. I will certainly pass your comments back to the staff and we certainly hope that you will have the opportunity again in the future to stay with us again when you are in the area and hopefully you will have a bit more time to enjoy our leisure facilities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chatham
0.5 mi away
Bridgewood Manor - QHotels
3.8 mi away
Premier Inn Chatham/Gillingham (Victory Pier) Hotel
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Rochester Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The King Charles Hotel
The King Charles Hotel
#2 of 2 in Gillingham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
2.3 mi away
St. George Hotel
St. George Hotel
#3 of 6 in Chatham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hilton Maidstone
Hilton Maidstone
#8 of 15 in Maidstone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham

Property: Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham
Address: Maidstone Road, Chatham ME5 9SF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Chatham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Chatham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham hotel. This modern, well equipped hotel contains fully air-conditioned bedrooms all with high speed internet access. With our mix of Double, Twin & Family Rooms (Kids Stay & Eat Free) and fuly equipped Spirit Health & Fitness Centre with Pool, the hotel is the ideal location for both business & leisure travellers.The Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham hotel is ideally located for key attractions including Leeds Castle, Historic Dockyard Chatham, Rochester Cathedral, Dickens World & Brands Hatch Race Circuit. Access to the Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham hotel is easy via both the M2 & M20, or by train to Rochester station, making the hotel a central base for touring Kent or a convenient stop-off en-route to Folkestone and Dover.For Conference & Events, the hotel has fantastic facilities for all types of Meetings, Functions & Ceremonies within the Academy Conference Centre. Click here for more info. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham Hotel Chatham
Holiday Inn Chatham
Chatham Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing