We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK for short business trips”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Chatham
Sao Jose Dos Campos, SP
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“OK for short business trips”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

This hotel is ok for short business trips. It has a great rate (especially if paid in advance), it is clean, and well maintained. There are a few things that annoyed a little bit, though: (1) there is no iron in the room, and no ironing table also (there is an appliance that will do the job only for trousers); (2) there are no vending machines available for little snacks or drinks; (3) Internet fee is quite expensive. Also I got two less than satisfactory small experiences: pattern for England power outlets is completely different from US and European, and the hotel could not help me with an adapter, and; I requested wake up calls for the same time the whole week but it worked only in the first morning. Restaurant is very good though, with good service and decent prices. Location is good as well, especially if you want to be in the airport surroundings. Breakfast is nice also, though with not that many options.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SrAlves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you for your feedback with regards to your recent stay with us. We can provide an iron and ironing board on request to the rooms. Internet service will be a service that our IHG reward members will be able to enjoy for free as of the 1st July. I do apologise that we were unable to supply you with a suitable adapter during your stay, usually we do have a supply of these but unfortunately guests do not hand them back in after borrowing, I do apologise for the inconvenience this caused. I will pass your feedback on to my Front of House Manager with regards to the wake up calls not happening, once again I do apologise for the inconvenience this must have caused. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the restaurant and that the location is great for your requirements, I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    226
    187
    56
    37
See reviews for
144
175
32
185
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Trowbridge
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

This was our third visit to this hotel on a Bed & Breakfast basis. We have always been very satisfied in the past staying in the winter months but this time found the air conditioning in our room too hot. The hotel tell you not to adjust the controls, so the only alternative was to open the window,which we did, although that was not ideal in a ground floor room.
The facilities in the room are very acceptable & our Breakfast on all 3 mornings was of a good quality & ample choice.
We booked Dinner one evening at the last minute & the service was extremely slow. The Coach party couldn`t really be made an excuse as they had a set menu which was totally self service.
It took us two hours to have 2 courses[6.15 to 8.15.p.m.] which was a very long time considering we were one of the first in the restaurant & ordered straight away.The hotel bang a 10 % service charge on your bill for restaurant meals without consulting you,so beware.
Our recommendation is to stick to Bed & Breakfast and go out for Dinner,which we had done on the first 2 nights.
The Staff overall are very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hughj191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Hughj191,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent visit at our hotel and for providing us with your valuable feedback. I'm glad to hear you found our staff agent to be very friendly and helpful. We're proud of our staff. I would like to apologize for any inconvenience your restaurant experience may have caused you. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future.

Thank you again for your comments as this is very helpful to us to ensure we are able to meet our guests expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We stayed here last year for a night and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. So we pre booked our stay for a night after a day out in London.
When we arrived we was greeted at reception by a very friendly and helpful gentleman. He fully explained my situation about the WiFi that the hotel provides and assisted us with some access.
Our room was ready on arrival and was as before very clean and comfortable. The children's beds were ready and made.
We extremely enjoyed the use of the spa club within the hotel. The swimming pool and sauna was so relaxing after a long day. The gentleman at the Spa club was helpful and very courteous. The only complaint was that the Ladies changing room floor needed to be cleaned more thoroughly or often?
The breakfast the next day was excellent. Great value as the children were able to eat free.
The breakfast staff were very observant to our needs and provided a fantastic service.
We would without doubt and most certainly will stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dean F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Thank you for your lovely feedback with regards to you stay here with us. I am very pleased to read the comments you have made and take on board the feedback with regards to the cleanliness of the ladies changing room. I am very pleased that you and your children enjoyed the facilities and the breakfast service. I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Started well with a swift and efficient check-in. Then we went to our room and impressions took a serious knock.

The room was tiny and boiling hot. The walls were marked and in obvious need of a lick of paint. The light switch for the bathroom had a piece of plaster missing at the side - which was unsightly and possibly dangerous. We managed to cool the room down by using the airconditioning - but it was noisy. The result was a poor nights sleep with the choice between being boiled or enduring the air-con droning. We couldn't keep the wndow open because of the main road traffic noise.

We also noticed badly marked ceiling tiles in the corridor around the lift. It looked like there'd been a leak from the roof at some time. In places the tiles had broken and exposed the inner insulation. not the standard I'd expect from a Holiday Inn.

However.... Breakfast was really good. We're always suspicious of buffet breakfasts as they are often luke warm at best. Everything was piping hot and very tasty.We also loved the fresh pancake machine. Just press OK, wait a couple of minutes and out pop freshly cooked pancakes - delicious! Again the staff were really helpful, offering endless supplies of tea and coffee.

Overall I think the staff are being seriously let down by the Holiday Inn group. They're doing a fabulous job but need the group to invest some money in decor and repairs.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road if you're a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shadylady57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Dear shadylady57,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding breakfast.

However, we’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding the room condition, air conditioning. We will address these concerns. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thatcham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Quick check in having already pre-paid, good instructions and signage to locate the room and afterwards back to the reception. The room was clean and spacious, rather warm on arrival but fortunately the air con cooled it down quite quickly. Bathroom/shower good, towels, large and soft. Did not eat an evening meal or try the bar as I was visiting family. Had a good night undisturbed sleep with a quick check out in the morning. Breakfast was not taken (see below).

Two things I think could be improved:-
Lighting in car park - fairly dark on my arrival.
Having the breakfast option for say £8 for 1 visitor rather than just charging £16 for up to two visitors. Paying £16 for a single breakfast is rather over the top when just a basic breakfast of cereal is required so I brought my own cereal and frozen milk along.

Room Tip: Odd number room (109) was overlooking a central area not on the road side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mdd150407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, I am very pleased to hear that overall you had an enjoyable stay with us and most importantly a good nights sleep. Thank you for the feedback with regards to the lighting in the car park I will be reviewing this issue. We offer breakfast vouchers which can be purchased on arrival for £11.95 per person or breakfast if taken on the day is £15.95 per person. We do offer a light selection of breakfast items such as toast or muffins in our bar area for guests who do not wish to take a full breakfast. I hope you might find this helpful in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S.w. Scotland
1 review
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Surprisingly quiet, except for dining area - dreadful music. Staff generally very helpful. Confusion over opening times of restaurant and payment of bill. Unhappy with disabled parking area - poor lighting at night-time in car park area. Arrived in rain in the dark, found entrance poorly marked.Food good and breakfast very good. Would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Elysabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us. I am sorry to hear that you found the music in the restaurant dreadful, I appreciate the feedback and take on board your comments. Thank you for your feedback with regards to the car park, please be assured I will be investigating the issue further to identify how we can improve the visibility for our guests. I am glad that you had a good stay overall and enjoyed dinner and breakfast in the hotel. We do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Spent a pleasant Friday & Saturday evening in the hotel. Everything was very clean and tidy, plenty of car parking space and a nice view over the airfield (light aircraft & helo only), so absolutely no complaints. We had a very quiet room (161) on the first floor, which was a very long walk! My wife & young son enjoyed the pool too, which was a nice bonus. Having read some of the other reviews, I was quite unsure about the booking, but having stayed, as a Gold rewards member, I'd suggest it's definitely up to the standard of other UK Holiday Inn's. We did not eat in the hotel as we were busy at Brands Hatch all weekend.

Room Tip: Stay near the airfield and it's very quiet with no footfall in morning or at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stu B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, I am very pleased to hear that you and your family had an enjoyable stay with us and you had time to enjoy the leisure facilities. I do hope you will have the opportunity to stay with us again when you are visiting the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chatham
0.5 mi away
Bridgewood Manor - QHotels
3.8 mi away
Premier Inn Chatham/Gillingham (Victory Pier) Hotel
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Rochester Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The King Charles Hotel
The King Charles Hotel
#1 of 2 in Gillingham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
2.3 mi away
St. George Hotel
St. George Hotel
#3 of 6 in Chatham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
3.9 mi away
Ship & Trades
Ship & Trades
#5 of 6 in Chatham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham

Property: Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham
Address: Maidstone Road, Chatham ME5 9SF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Chatham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Chatham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham hotel. This modern, well equipped hotel contains fully air-conditioned bedrooms all with high speed internet access. With our mix of Double, Twin & Family Rooms (Kids Stay & Eat Free) and fuly equipped Spirit Health & Fitness Centre with Pool, the hotel is the ideal location for both business & leisure travellers.The Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham hotel is ideally located for key attractions including Leeds Castle, Historic Dockyard Chatham, Rochester Cathedral, Dickens World & Brands Hatch Race Circuit. Access to the Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham hotel is easy via both the M2 & M20, or by train to Rochester station, making the hotel a central base for touring Kent or a convenient stop-off en-route to Folkestone and Dover.For Conference & Events, the hotel has fantastic facilities for all types of Meetings, Functions & Ceremonies within the Academy Conference Centre. Click here for more info. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham Hotel Chatham
Holiday Inn Chatham
Chatham Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing