We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Chatham
Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very impressed”
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Used this as a stop off en route to the ferry at Dover.

Room was comfortable and big enough.

The pool was good with steam room, sauna and jacuzzi. Also had a small gym but enough to do a workout on.

Staff were pleasant although when I asked for the fold out bed to be made up for two children rather than one as it had been, the receptionist informed me that I had told him I only had one child (they were both stood with me at the time and to be honest you don't tend to forget that sort of stuff). Even if I had said that he didn't need to pull me up on it. Other than that a pretty much perfect stay.

Didn't dine there as it appeared to be a bit expensive. There's an Asda directly opposite which is handy.

And all this for £51 for the room.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Yellabowley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review on your recent stay at the hotel. I am pleased to hear that overall you had an enjoyable stay with us! Thank you for your comments, as per previous communication we have taken appropriate steps within the hotel related to your feedback. I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    235
    192
    56
    39
See reviews for
147
182
33
190
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hergenrath, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Booked a 3 night stay for a group in July. Our arrival at check-in went very smoothly and everyone was checked-in quickly. From the group there was no complaints about the rooms, clean and tidy.The only problem getting to my Room 59 was the walk from Reception which was roughly 150-170 yards away. Breakfast was buffet style with something for everyone`s taste.
The problem some of our group had was on the Friday and Saturday nights there was an over 30`s night and a disco and the music was very loud making sleeping not very easy. The swimming pool is a good little extra at this Holiday Inn and was used by some of the group. All in all a good stay

Room Tip: Make sure you get a Room away from the disco/party area otherwise sleeping is no possible until 2-3...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for taking your time to review your recent stay with us, I am very pleased to hear that you and your group had an enjoyable stay with us. I do apologise that some of your group was affected by the function happening in the hotel on the Friday night, I do take on board your comments. We do aim to ensure that our guests are situated away from the event to ensure they are not disturbed. I am pleased to hear that you had the chance to enjoy our leisure facilities and of breakfast service. I do hope that the will have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We stayed for 1 night in a family room, yes it was rather a long walk from reception to the room but once inside there was everthing you could need. Decent air con, nice little fridge and a decent pull out sofa. The bathroom was clean and plenty of towels provided and plenty of hot water in the shower. There is a pool area you can use, but we did not have time but it did look clean. The breakfast in the morning was very good everthing you could want to start the day off. All the staff we came across we very polite and helpful, all in all a very good nights staff for what we paid, and will look forward to returning.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nacdac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you for taking your time to review your recent stay with us. I am very pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us and found the hotel offered everything you needed for your stay. I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon and that next time you will have the time to enjoy our leisure facilities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with my family whilst visiting relatives. The room was basic yet functional. It had a small fridge which was useful. We had one of the family rooms which was large, however, it was located a good 5 minutes walk from reception including a set of stairs even though the room was supposedly on the ground floor.

Cleaning was good and the room, though dated, was very clean.

We did not use the bar or restaurant.

The hotel could do with a vending machine for basics like bottles of water.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank michaelstrachan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for taking your time to review your recent stay with us. Thank you for your feedback, I am pleased to hear that the facilities suited the needs of your stay. I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

The De Havilland Suite is functional but lacking a bit of character. The food was a bit late being brought out and they didn't seem to be monitoring the teas, coffees and juices, so they ran out. They opened the bar for those who wanted to purchase drinks (which we hadn;t requested) but there were not enough staff. It's the nlack of attention to detail that willl let a big organisation down. I didn't have the buffet food but my husband thought it was "average".

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for your review of your recent event at the Hotel, I am sorry to learn that you were disappointed with some aspects of your event. I have passed your feedback to the Conference Manager to evaluate the details of your event and address the issues you have raised. She will be in touch with you very shortly to discuss these details further. I do apologise that your event did not meet your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derby
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Stayed over on a trip to France as its only 15mins from the tunnel,yes its a tad dated but don't let that put you off as it really is a comfortable nights sleep,wifi is hit and miss otherwise id have given it top marks.
We booked via the internet with booking.com and got a great price..£48

Room Tip: ASDA over the road if you need to get anything you forgot to pack !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simonmark1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for taking your time to review your recent stay with us, I am pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable night’s sleep and that we were conveniently located for your travel needs. I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Hired this place as a wedding reception venue and a few of us stayed for one night, wonderful venue with lots of pluses, the staff were fantastic and cannot fault them at all, from the receptionist, to the guys in charge of making sure the day went without a hitch, to the chef who cooked the food, to the cleaners, gym and pool were very good and room was comfortable, breakfast was as expected, the only thing that let this place down was the price of the telephone call to make final arrangements, being an 0871 it costs a fair whack, not too sure why either??? surely this can be any number not an expensive one???, had it not been for that I would have definitely recommended, funny how little things get to you!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 310WD40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for taking your time to review your stay and special event with us. I am pleased to hear overall that you had an enjoyable Wedding Reception and that you were well looked after by all the staff involved in making sure your day ran perfectly. Thank you for your feedback with regards to the Telephone Number, this is a Holiday Inn standard, but I do take on board your feedback. Congratulations on your special day and all the best for the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chatham
0.4 mi away
Bridgewood Manor - QHotels
3.1 mi away
The King Charles Hotel
The King Charles Hotel
#1 of 2 in Gillingham
629 reviews
3.5 mi away
Travelodge Chatham Maritime Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Ship & Trades
Ship & Trades
#5 of 6 in Chatham
357 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hilton Maidstone
Hilton Maidstone
#8 of 15 in Maidstone
1,553 reviews
3.8 mi away
Village Hotel Maidstone
Village Hotel Maidstone
#5 of 15 in Maidstone
1,652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham

Property: Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham
Address: Maidstone Road, Chatham ME5 9SF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Chatham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Chatham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham hotel. This modern, well equipped hotel contains fully air-conditioned bedrooms all with high speed internet access. With our mix of Double, Twin & Family Rooms (Kids Stay & Eat Free) and fuly equipped Spirit Health & Fitness Centre with Pool, the hotel is the ideal location for both business & leisure travellers.The Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham hotel is ideally located for key attractions including Leeds Castle, Historic Dockyard Chatham, Rochester Cathedral, Dickens World & Brands Hatch Race Circuit. Access to the Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham hotel is easy via both the M2 & M20, or by train to Rochester station, making the hotel a central base for touring Kent or a convenient stop-off en-route to Folkestone and Dover.For Conference & Events, the hotel has fantastic facilities for all types of Meetings, Functions & Ceremonies within the Academy Conference Centre. Click here for more info. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham Hotel Chatham
Holiday Inn Chatham
Chatham Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing