We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff earned their pay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Chatham
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Staff earned their pay”
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

Have stayed in a number of places on the way to Dover and this was our first time here. Firstly, I will say that with the computer systems down the staff worked their socks off. Especially with two coaches. The staff are a credit to the company.

We got a good rate at 99 for d b b. Food was good and our little one liked the fact she had her own buffet. The swimming pool is good for little ones and she enjoyed using it.

Rooms are the usual hi standard. The air con was good and needed. The only negative I have were the pillows. They were not great yet they are important for a good night's sleep.

Would I stay here again? Yes. It is much better than the hi in Canterbury. The only place i would use instead would be the premier Inn in Dover but this is only because it is so close to the ferry.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank simplymark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham, responded to this review, 17 September 2014
Thank you for taking your time to review your recent stay at the hotel, I am very pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable time. Thank you very much for the feedback with regards to the Team during a very challenging time at the hotel, my team and I worked around the clock to try and ensure the disruption to the guests was minimal and your feedback and understanding is most appreciated. Thank you for your feedback with regards to the pillows I will pass your feedback on to my Housekeeping Manager to review this. I am very pleased to hear that you would stay here again; we look forward to welcoming you back
Paul Ellison, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    234
    191
    56
    38
See reviews for
147
180
33
189
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gillingham, Kent
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

I have stayed in this hotel a few times now when I am passing through Kent. It is a pleasant and clean hotel and the staff service is excellent. The downside is the throughput of visitors on a day to day basis - Coach tours and party nights. If you are seeking a quiet peaceful stay then maybe this is a little loud and busy. However, it is value for money with pleasant amenities. The staff really do make this place though and the only reason I am not staying here again when I next go through is I want a bit more of a relaxing, quiet environment.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms on the ground floor are quite a way from reception and the restaurant so if this i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 790SharonG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Thank you for your review with regards to your recent stay with us. I am pleased to hear that overall you find the hotel clean and friendly. I am sorry to hear that you have encountered some of our busier times in the hotel over recent weeks and that this has impacted on your decision to stay with us on your next visit, however, I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon
Paul Ellison, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackpool
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

I stay in IHG group hotels a couple of nights each week, this hotel was exactly what I expected.
Clean, reasonably well maintained, usually services etc.
What made this hotel stand out was great service given by Matthew both in the restaurant and on room service, he gave good attentive service without being intrusive.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveller88Blackpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Thank you for your kind review of your recent stay at the Hotel. I am pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay. Thank you for feedback with regards to Matthew, I will ensure that he is recognised internally. I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.
Paul Ellison, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Location is OK close to the motorway & not far from Rochester. The rooms are well kept although a bit small but the quality & friendliness of the service is exceptional. The breakfast was also very good.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for taking your time to review your recent stay at the Hotel, I am pleased to hear that you found the location convenient for your travel needs and that you were able to enjoy our breakfast before setting off to your next destination. I do hope that you will choose us again for your future travel requirements.
Paul Ellison, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

We booked for one night when attending a family party nearby. The hotel was easy to find and close to the motorway. The hotel was clean and the rooms were well equipped. The staff were friendly and accommodating. Reasonably priced too when booked in advance. Would recommend!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank northernmonkey29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for taking your time to review your recent stay with us, I am very pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and that the hotel met your expectation and need to stay in the area. I do hope that you will have the opportunity to visit us again in the future
Paul Ellison, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Great Hotel, easy to find of the motorway and close to a few pubs and Asda.

Check In was friendly and welcoming, our room was on the first floor (112) overlooking the main road. The room was a little dark due to some trees directly in front of our window but it didn't bother us. The room was a little noisy from the traffic, but once again it didn't inconvenience us.

The room was clean, tidy and welcoming and had an easy to operate air conditioning system. The room also had a small fridge which was free to use.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Batterby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for taking your time to review your recent stay with us. I am very pleased to hear you had an enjoyable and relaxing stay. I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Used this as a stop off en route to the ferry at Dover.

Room was comfortable and big enough.

The pool was good with steam room, sauna and jacuzzi. Also had a small gym but enough to do a workout on.

Staff were pleasant although when I asked for the fold out bed to be made up for two children rather than one as it had been, the receptionist informed me that I had told him I only had one child (they were both stood with me at the time and to be honest you don't tend to forget that sort of stuff). Even if I had said that he didn't need to pull me up on it. Other than that a pretty much perfect stay.

Didn't dine there as it appeared to be a bit expensive. There's an Asda directly opposite which is handy.

And all this for £51 for the room.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Yellabowley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review on your recent stay at the hotel. I am pleased to hear that overall you had an enjoyable stay with us! Thank you for your comments, as per previous communication we have taken appropriate steps within the hotel related to your feedback. I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chatham
0.4 mi away
Bridgewood Manor - QHotels
3.1 mi away
The King Charles Hotel
The King Charles Hotel
#1 of 2 in Gillingham
627 reviews
3.5 mi away
Travelodge Chatham Maritime Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
St. George Hotel
St. George Hotel
#3 of 6 in Chatham
318 reviews
3.9 mi away
Ship & Trades
Ship & Trades
#5 of 6 in Chatham
355 reviews
3.8 mi away
Village Hotel Maidstone
Village Hotel Maidstone
#4 of 15 in Maidstone
1,639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham

Property: Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham
Address: Maidstone Road, Chatham ME5 9SF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Chatham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Chatham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham hotel. This modern, well equipped hotel contains fully air-conditioned bedrooms all with high speed internet access. With our mix of Double, Twin & Family Rooms (Kids Stay & Eat Free) and fuly equipped Spirit Health & Fitness Centre with Pool, the hotel is the ideal location for both business & leisure travellers.The Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham hotel is ideally located for key attractions including Leeds Castle, Historic Dockyard Chatham, Rochester Cathedral, Dickens World & Brands Hatch Race Circuit. Access to the Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham hotel is easy via both the M2 & M20, or by train to Rochester station, making the hotel a central base for touring Kent or a convenient stop-off en-route to Folkestone and Dover.For Conference & Events, the hotel has fantastic facilities for all types of Meetings, Functions & Ceremonies within the Academy Conference Centre. Click here for more info. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham Hotel Chatham
Holiday Inn Chatham
Chatham Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing