We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another good 1 nighter”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Chatham
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Another good 1 nighter”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Stayed here overnight on my return to the UK for the second year in a row after holidaying in the Europe, and a long Motorway drive across the continent.
Had a swift check in on arrival at 11pm, car park is a little small and once again headed up to a superb spacious room, with useful fridge, clean brightly lit bathroom and generous tea and coffee making facilities.
Made good use of the 7am Bank holiday early opening of the onsite Spirit heath club, had a good swim, and sauna.
The pool is very poor for doing lengths in due to its odd shape, could maybe do with a clean of the pool tiles too, gone yellow.
Headed straight onto a 9am Breakfast, which although busy, had great selection and helpful staff that were attentitive.
Checked out swiftly at 11am, no problems at all.
Thanks Holiday Inn for making the end of my holiday a good one.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham, responded to this review, 17 September 2014
Thank you for taking your time to review your recent stay with us, I am very pleased to hear that you chose the Holiday Inn Rochester again for your stopover. I am pleased to hear that we did not disappoint and that you were able to make full use of the facilities we have to offer on site. Thank you for the feedback on the Swimming Pool, the cleaning of the pool is scheduled to be done, however we do have to plan this carefully due to the time that the pool will be out of service for. I do take on board your comments.
I am very pleased we made the end of your holiday enjoyable, and I do hope that we will have the opportunity to see you on your next adventure to Europe.
Paul Ellison, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    239
    194
    57
    39
See reviews for
149
186
34
191
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Thatcham
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

Where does one start?

The appearance of the hotel is a bit dated but the welcome was pretty good. Sadly, after this, my entire experience spiralled downhill at a rapid rate of knots.

They put a member of staff in the bar enticing people to join the IHG club but neglected the sole function of the bar it's self. Staff just disappeared for eons at a time whilst queues lengthened.

I went for a meal in the restaurant and was shown to a table but after being ignored for over 20 minutes left in disgust.

On checkout, I was informed that the computer system was down and they could not provide me with a receipt / invoice. I have called 4-5 times in the interim and am still awaiting my final bill from over 2 weeks ago. The staff always promise to send it over but it is yet to arrive.

It would appear that there is a lack of discipline and leadership. At the Holiday Inn Rochester. I doubt very much if I will be returning.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham, responded to this review, 13 September 2014
Dear Simon W,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. Providing excellent customer service is one of the things we pride ourselves on and we are sorry to read that in this case you feel we have fallen short of your expectations. We would love to regain your faith in our hotel and would welcome the opportunity to discuss your stay in further details. We have sent you a private message to obtain additional detail regarding your stay.

We look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chatham hotels

Bourne End, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Checked in and went to the room. As it was a rewards night, I did not expect the top room, which was comfortable. Service was good, and efficient. Breakfast was large and a great selection. I can only point out that while everything was good the bed was very small for what was to be a double.

Room Tip: Check out the room for the bed size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alan r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you for taking your time to review your recent rewards night stay with us, I am pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us, apart from the size of the bed. I am pleased you had the opportunity to experience our breakfast selection. I do hope that you will have the opportunity to visit again soon
Paul Ellison, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I stayed one night while on a tour around Kent. I checked in early at 1530 as the showery weather put pay to my plans. The car park was busy, as there were people at a conference. As it turned out it was a good decision to get there early. The computer system was down and all check ins were being done manually. I had pre-booked and luckily all the details had been printed in advance. It only took a few minutes longer than normal, so no problem. I was in room 9, which is on the main Maidstone Road side, but an inside room so no road noise. The only problem I found was the door was rather difficult to shut. But otherwise it was up to the usual Holiday Inn standard. The night was quiet and as it was still wet outside, I didn't leave till 0945. At the desk the computers were still down, so there was about 5 mins wait as all check outs were being done manually. Overall I was very happy with my stay and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Inside rooms, or those on the airport side should be better. If travelling from the south, turn off...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharla82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you for taking your time to review your recent stay with us. Firstly I would like to apologise for the disruption caused due to the computer systems being down, I really do appreciate your understanding of the situation that arose. I am pleased to hear that you had a relaxing and quiet nights rest. Thank you for the feedback with regards to the door, I will ensure that this is looked at by the Maintenance Team. I do appreciate your comments and I hope that we will have have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future
Paul Ellison, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

Have stayed in a number of places on the way to Dover and this was our first time here. Firstly, I will say that with the computer systems down the staff worked their socks off. Especially with two coaches. The staff are a credit to the company.

We got a good rate at 99 for d b b. Food was good and our little one liked the fact she had her own buffet. The swimming pool is good for little ones and she enjoyed using it.

Rooms are the usual hi standard. The air con was good and needed. The only negative I have were the pillows. They were not great yet they are important for a good night's sleep.

Would I stay here again? Yes. It is much better than the hi in Canterbury. The only place i would use instead would be the premier Inn in Dover but this is only because it is so close to the ferry.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank simplymark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham, responded to this review, 17 September 2014
Thank you for taking your time to review your recent stay at the hotel, I am very pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable time. Thank you very much for the feedback with regards to the Team during a very challenging time at the hotel, my team and I worked around the clock to try and ensure the disruption to the guests was minimal and your feedback and understanding is most appreciated. Thank you for your feedback with regards to the pillows I will pass your feedback on to my Housekeeping Manager to review this. I am very pleased to hear that you would stay here again; we look forward to welcoming you back
Paul Ellison, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillingham, Kent
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

I have stayed in this hotel a few times now when I am passing through Kent. It is a pleasant and clean hotel and the staff service is excellent. The downside is the throughput of visitors on a day to day basis - Coach tours and party nights. If you are seeking a quiet peaceful stay then maybe this is a little loud and busy. However, it is value for money with pleasant amenities. The staff really do make this place though and the only reason I am not staying here again when I next go through is I want a bit more of a relaxing, quiet environment.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms on the ground floor are quite a way from reception and the restaurant so if this i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 790SharonG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Thank you for your review with regards to your recent stay with us. I am pleased to hear that overall you find the hotel clean and friendly. I am sorry to hear that you have encountered some of our busier times in the hotel over recent weeks and that this has impacted on your decision to stay with us on your next visit, however, I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon
Paul Ellison, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackpool
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

I stay in IHG group hotels a couple of nights each week, this hotel was exactly what I expected.
Clean, reasonably well maintained, usually services etc.
What made this hotel stand out was great service given by Matthew both in the restaurant and on room service, he gave good attentive service without being intrusive.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveller88Blackpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Thank you for your kind review of your recent stay at the Hotel. I am pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay. Thank you for feedback with regards to Matthew, I will ensure that he is recognised internally. I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.
Paul Ellison, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chatham
0.4 mi away
Bridgewood Manor - QHotels
3.5 mi away
Travelodge Chatham Maritime Hotel
3.1 mi away
The King Charles Hotel
The King Charles Hotel
#1 of 2 in Gillingham
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Ship & Trades
Ship & Trades
#6 of 6 in Chatham
367 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hilton Maidstone
Hilton Maidstone
#7 of 14 in Maidstone
1,586 reviews
3.8 mi away
Village Hotel Maidstone
Village Hotel Maidstone
#3 of 14 in Maidstone
1,711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham

Property: Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham
Address: Maidstone Road, Chatham ME5 9SF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Chatham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Chatham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham hotel. This modern, well equipped hotel contains fully air-conditioned bedrooms all with high speed internet access. With our mix of Double, Twin & Family Rooms (Kids Stay & Eat Free) and fuly equipped Spirit Health & Fitness Centre with Pool, the hotel is the ideal location for both business & leisure travellers.The Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham hotel is ideally located for key attractions including Leeds Castle, Historic Dockyard Chatham, Rochester Cathedral, Dickens World & Brands Hatch Race Circuit. Access to the Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham hotel is easy via both the M2 & M20, or by train to Rochester station, making the hotel a central base for touring Kent or a convenient stop-off en-route to Folkestone and Dover.For Conference & Events, the hotel has fantastic facilities for all types of Meetings, Functions & Ceremonies within the Academy Conference Centre. Click here for more info. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham Hotel Chatham
Holiday Inn Chatham
Chatham Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing