We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing”
Review of The Robin Hood

The Robin Hood
Ranked #31 of 130 Restaurants in Chatham
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Wheelchair Accessible
Rochester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We went for Sunday lunch . Chose "slow roast beef served pink" it arrived a good long way past pink . It was pretty tough , but edible . The potatoes were just about done ,we were there fairly late , around 2-30 , I assume if you went at 12-30 they would be undercooked ? Veg was good and plentiful . The worst thing was the gravy . Gravy should pull a roast together , there was very little on the plate so we asked for extra and were given a jug of brown water . There's no need for it , gravy is cheap , it was that watery that your horseradish sauce ended up so diluted it was just swimming around over everything I a puddle of water .
For dessert we had baileys cheesecake , good portion size , lovely cheesecake , but nothing to do with baileys ? Maybe there was a bottle of baileys on the shelf as the cheesecake was made ? There's certainly no evidence it made it into the dessert !
The service however was friendly . Wouldn't rush back . Maybe for a bar snack in the garden in the summer .

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mamaneedles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    49
    18
    16
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Basildon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
821 reviews
561 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 418 helpful votes
“Highs and lows”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

By god it's an isolated location. Nice pub quite quiet when I arrived at 1840 far busier later.
Pleasant friendly, if a tad noisy behind the bar/ in the kitchen.
Not the biggest menu, but the kitchen looked little (unlike chef!) so probably a sensible menu.
Starter was the highlight, a well seasoned moules mariniere. Well flavoured well presented in a peppery creamy sauce, slightly unsure why the slice of lemon was there.
Main course was a lamb stew. The meat was slightly chewy and a little lacking in strong flavour, some of the vegetable was almost ok but some of the potato was positively crunchy.
Desert was an Eton Mess. Ok cream, not a lot of ice cream, the strawberry and kiwi in abundance but the meringue was granular and mildly disappointing.
A few glitches and a nice place.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hoppityskip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, Kent
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Roaring fire at the Robin Hood”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

The Robin Hood is definitely what's known as a destination pub and restaurant. It's a good long walk to there from anywhere, but it's definitely worth it. I've just come back from a walk with a friend and we popped in for a tea and coffee. The proprietor was just filling up the fire with wooden logs and it was lit before we left - fabulous. I can't wait to go back when it's autumn proper. They have pigs and sheep in the back and a cockerel to keep the kids amused. I haven't eaten there in a long while but I remember it being a very nice Sunday lunch. The owner and his wife and really nice as are the rest of the staff. Good range of beers my husband tells me!

Note to TripAdvisor: can we have an option between "Average" and "Very Good", such as "Good"!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Friendly and welcoming atmosphere”
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We had completed a twelve mile walk on the North Downs Way in torrential rain and were in desperate need of shelter. The pub was warm and welcoming - with great atmosphere in bar. Roaring fire and very friendly staff. Will definitely go back.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsBiffo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bluebell Hill Village,Kent
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Ambience,Great Food,Friendly”
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Though We don't live very far from The Robin Hood we had never eat there. After a rave review in our local paper who operate a secret diner policy we thought we'd try it.
The food was superb,the service excellent, friendly and helpful. It's a very old pub/restaurant not far off the Pilgrims Way. If your in the area and looking for a good meal in olde Worlde setting it's well worth a visit.
It has a very good range of Beers some of which are Kentish plus an extensive range of wines.
Six of us ate this evening and all can't wait to get back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HarryS73_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Robin Hood also viewed

 

Been to The Robin Hood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing