We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing little hideaway ”
Review of Cafe Nucleus

Cafe Nucleus
Ranked #1 of 155 Restaurants in Chatham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$16
Cuisines: Cafe, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Cafe Nucleus is an oasis of healthy, freshly prepared food nestled in a surprising courtyard setting just off Chatham High Street.Serving a mouth-watering menu ranging from soups, sandwiches and salads to hot meals and daily specials, we guarantee you won't find it's like anywhere else in town. Everyday we offer homemade daily specials, from our famous Croque Monsieur to our 6oz Flame cooked burgers . Take the weight off your weary feet, enjoy a coffee and a slice of home-made cake and relax. Ideal for informal business meetings or just catching up with friends, we offer wireless broadband internet, regular small exhibitions and a friendly welcome.If you're a laptop user you can take advantage of our FREE wi-fi connection If you like to enjoy a cigarette with your coffee or just enjoy soaking up the sun whilst you dine at Cafe Nucleus it is your only choice when shopping in town.
Reviewed 24 July 2018 via mobile

I visited here on a sunny Monday recently with my mum after a friend recommended we visit.
You walk off of Chatham night street (just up from Iceland on the opposite side) and as greeted with palm trees, plants and plenty of covered outdoor seating. There is also a large inside seating area that is air conditioned.
Plenty of choice, all locally sourced. We had eggs Benedict and roasted veg with hummus on a jacket. Both meals were plentiful and delicious. The toilets cater for babies and disabled, kept spotlessly clean with individual hand towels, hand wash and hand cream.
The staff were very friendly and attentive. I cannot wait to return whether it be in the summer or winter.

Date of visit: July 2018
3  Thank DMT1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (297)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 43 of 297 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2018

Hidden away off the High Street. Staff are friendly, food good and service quick. Great place for a catch up with friends or family, it's quiet and tranquil, you'd think you were abroad. Shall be going again.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank _ashdan8682
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2018 via mobile

I received 2 gift vouchers (2 people per voucher) for the traditional afternoon tea here as a birthday gift, and it was lovely. I booked up over the phone very easily about a week in advance for a Saturday afternoon. They had reserved us a table to which we were promptly seated, in the outside area which is very nice, with comfortable seats and also shaded. We were offered the choice of tea or coffee (americano/latte/cappuccino etc) which was brought out quickly. We had 2 cake stands between the four of us, which consisted of finger sandwiches on the bottom tier, salmon and cream cheese, ham and mustard, cheese and caramelised onions, and cucumber and cream cheese. The sandwiches were very tasty, although slightly bigger than expected. The middle tier had 2 rather large fruit scones with strawberry jam, clotted cream, and strawberries. The scones were very light, crumbly and still warm when we ate them, but again they were big. The top tier consisted of a handful of blueberries, 2 small chocolate cake-like delicacies, and 4 different mini macaroons, which were also very light, and finished the tea off very nicely. It was good value for money, would most likely come again for this afternoon tea.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank beadoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2018 via mobile

It's a great little place to stop by when trying to escape the busy high street, looks beautiful and peaceful as you approach. The food is really high quality and so is a little bit pricey for the area it is in. However, the food is always enjoyable and they serve Fentimans brand cola which is brilliant.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Hanna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2018 via mobile

Absolutely love this place. Peaceful and hidden away from a very busy high street you wouldn’t know it was there. The food is lovely and the staff friendly. Come here regularly.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank michellefL2445UA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Nucleus also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Nucleus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing