We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good position for museums”
Review of Ship & Trades

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ship & Trades
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Chatham
Reviewed 25 August 2011

Stayed for two nights as a base to visit historic dockyard and RE museum. A lively pub situated on the side of the Marina. Ten minutes walk from dockyard, thirty minutes walk from RE museum. Room was fairly small but comfortable. Good shower. Very good full English breakfast but our evening meal wasn't as tasty. (I had sweet and sour beef) Staff were friendly and helpful, beer was well kept. it was good value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rsturner47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (379)
There are newer reviews for Ship & Trades
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

357 - 363 of 379 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2011

The location is OK, very near the Historic Dockyard. Rooms are spacious enough and sympatheticly decorated. Parkingspace is available, but insufficient because it is used by all the shoppers for the Outletcenter nearby. Service wasn't really good. But the most annoying part : it was NOISY in the bar, the restaurant, on the terraces, the airco/ventilation.....

Room Tip: choose for the rooms at the parking side...no nice view, but less noisy !
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wellaAntwerp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

This is a nice pub / hotel.
Rooms are clean and tidy, though they do have an unusual geography with steps just inside the door making them unsuitable for disabled. I spent a comfortable night, though as someone commented, it can be quite noisy on a nice evening when there's a lot of people sitting outside.
It is worth remembering that the Ship and Trades is a pub with rooms, rather than a hotel with a bar. If you remember this, you won't go far wrong.
I didn't have dinner in the evening, but breakfast was excellent.
I would happily recommend.
The rooms, by the way, are named after Royal Naval warships which had been made in the Naval Dockyard.

Room Tip: Ask for a Marina side room.
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnnyAsbestos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2011

Only stayed one night, but would do so again without hestitation. Rooms looked like new. They were clean, fresh and comfortable. The welcome was very friendly. The food was good standard pub fare which could be eaten in the bar area or the upstairs restaurant. Although busy the service was prompt and attentive. The location was excellent for many local attractions, including the Historic Dockyard, which is two minutes away, and the outlet shopping centre a hundred metres away. There is plenty of free parking.

Room Tip: Have one facing away from the car park.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Festie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2011

We stayed here for one night whilst we were visiting the local attractions.
Please ignore reviews older than a year ago as the hotel has been refurbished since then.
We had room 8 which overlooked the marina which was a bonus. Our room was pretty big and had a bath. It was clean and modern and had everything you need for a night.
My partner did moan about a noise overnight from something which sounded like an air conditioning unit outside but to be honest I had the best nights sleep in a long time!
My parents had room 1 which was a lot smaller than ours and only had a shower so it was a bit of a cheek that it was the same price to be honest.
They also complained about the noise from 11pm-midnight when the pub closed and all the people hanging about outside but other than that it was fine.

The cooked breakfast was perfect. It wasn't a buffet but there were cereals/juice to help yourself to.
We also had a meal in the restaurant the night before which was really good. It did get quite busy though so it might be best to make a reservation when you check in.

It really is walking distance to Dickens World (5 mins) the Dockside Outlet centre (2 mins) and Chatham Dockyard (10 mins). It's a safe walk away as well not crossing major roads or anything.

It would be a perfect location on a summers evening but it was a bit cold to sit outside unfortunately!
If we are ever in the area we would stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back not the car park side
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CJ_The_Globetrotters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2010

If I had read some of the other reviews prior to my Kent visit I doubt I would have booked, They are very much out of date, there is a separate reception. the staff friendly and polite,the rooms spacious,There was a slight problem in the room which was dealt with by the housekeeper,but the beds were very comfortable and nice crisp sheets. We had to keep in mind that we were in a disabled room when we struggled with low rails in wardrobes,and low mirrors etc but perfect if you were in a wheelchair I imagine, The food was excellent.and breakfast huge, we will certainly stay here again. the only downside was a noisy air con unit from shop next door, but it did not spoil sleep too much.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizzie034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2010

great food was hot at very well cooked... staff are great and helpful
especially a man called sam, who gave us a fantastic talk on the area, and where local attractions were. sam works here and is local to the area, he is well mannered and treated us with respect and courtesy at all times, the whole place is well kept and is right on the harbourside beautiful location.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redrougetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chatham
The King Charles Hotel
#1 of 2 in Gillingham
647 reviews
St. George Hotel
#3 of 6 in Chatham
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East End / East London
Sunborn London
Sunborn London
#150 of 1,072 in London
2,758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ship & Trades? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ship & Trades

Address: The Ship & Trades Hotel Maritime Way, Chatham ME4 3ER, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Chatham
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Chatham
Price Range: £83 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ship & Trades 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ship & Trades reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ship & Trades Hotel Chatham
The Ship And Trades
Ship & Trades Chatham, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing