We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place with rooms ' a bit different'”
Review of Ship & Trades

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ship & Trades
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Chatham
Bristol
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great place with rooms ' a bit different'”
Reviewed 30 March 2013

I stayed one night here while working in the area and was really surprised at how nice it was. The welcome on arrival was very friendly and helpful as were all the staff I met.

The interior is a great fusion of old industrial pieces with a modern twist. The room was spotlessly clean and made a very pleasant change to the usual budget chain hotels that I usually stay in.

I ate in the restaurant and the food was excellent. Breakfast was cooked to order which I much prefer to a luke warm buffet.

There is even a little co-op shop with an off-license next door if you need sandwiches for your onward journey.

Overall, great value all round and highly recommended.

Room Tip: Some rooms have bathrooms with a window which is less steamy and lighter. Some rooms have a few step...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jax-MLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    126
    65
    30
    21
See reviews for
54
163
11
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights for business. It should have been 2 but I managed to be a day early... the staff were delightful and helpful and found me a room and didn't make me feel a complete twit! The rooms are well equipped and a good size given the price. My only slight issue was that the walls seemed very thin so noise did travel between rooms, but it wasn't a huge issue. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjs1811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh on Sea
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2013

We stayed here as a base for an evening out celebrating a friends birthday in Rochester high street. It's about a 5 min taxi ride into the town and not walkable (in practice).

The rooms are of a very good standard if a little small but perfectly adequate for the short duration we were there. Both the bedroom and bathroom were very clean.

The next morning we took advantage of the breakfast served upstairs in the bar area which was of a decent size and quality.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hinezee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Stayed here for business for 3 nights in December and was pleasantly suprised by the lovely rooms to say we were staying in a pub. The room was big and had a huge bed, big flat screen TV, great bath and tea/coffee making facilities, lot's of storage space for your belongings. The breakfast room (on the same level as the rooms) is fab and has great views of the marina/dockside, it has a 'all bar one' type of feel to it. As we stayed here in December it was very busy in the bar downstairs but this only added to the nice vibe and had a great atmosphere. Good choice of wines and beers. We eat here once and had a lovely meal. We also ate out on the Dockside at Zippers and Chimicenga which were also good. Rooms are excellent value for money at £65 per night for single occupancy inc breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeedsHelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
252 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

This building has been converted from the Apprentice joiners workshop & warehouse & as such has a great theme of a nautical nature. Shepherd Neame (the operating brewery chain) have done a good job with the transformation and there are several interesting bits of history to look out for. The bar area is reminiscent of a ships engine room and tastefully & comfortably furnished. Good service, friendly staff and good food. The Manager Dean is approachable & happy to chat. Rooms are adequate and nicely furnished too. Situated within Historic Chatham docks close to a shopping outlet with various stores & restaurants, an Odeon Cinema & Dickens World on the doorstep well worth a visit. We paid £75 per night for B&B.

Room Tip: Rooms at back of hotel overlook the water whereas rooms at front overlook the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steveandsuzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012

I stayed with my partner on a Friday night. It took a while and a couple of requests before someone came to the desk to check us in but it was a Friday night and the bar was busy.
We had a nice room overlooking the water.
I don't know if it was the heating or something outside but there was a constant noise that I could only describe as a bit like having a mini bar in the room. It wasn't loud enough to keep me awake but it was clear to hear.
There was only the faintest noises of the tv and use of the bathroom next door which was nice, some places have such thin walls its like your neighbours are in your room!!
Nice breakfast cooked to order.
Bit pricey for one night but the room was large and nicely decorated and the big bath was a treat,
Would stay again for a better rom rate.

Room Tip: Even numbers overlook the water' odd numbers overlook the car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whyvonne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 October 2012

Stayed here for one night on Saturday for a friend’s wedding in October 2012.
My Husband & I loved the place, really nice modern nautical theme. Rooms were clean and big, lovely views. Breakfast was really good, and nice service. Really liked the design of the hotel and atmosphere. no complaints from us. However our friends that had room no 1, said it was noisy as they were next to the service & kitchen, so they got woken up really early. We will stay again next time we in Kent.

Room Tip: Avoid gettign room 1 or 3 as near the kithcen and facilities room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chatham
The King Charles Hotel
#1 of 2 in Gillingham
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East End / East London
Sunborn London
Sunborn London
#144 of 1,068 in London
2,649 reviews
Eastwell Manor
#1 of 1 in Boughton Lees
1,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ship & Trades? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ship & Trades

Property: Ship & Trades
Address: The Ship & Trades Hotel Maritime Way, Chatham ME4 3ER, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Chatham
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Chatham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ship & Trades 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ship & Trades reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ship And Trades
The Ship & Trades Hotel Chatham
Ship & Trades Chatham, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing