We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Overnight Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ship & Trades

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ship & Trades
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Chatham
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Excellent Overnight Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

Stayed overnight last Friday (7/6/13) to enable us to spend all day Saturday at Chatham Harbour Museum (which is fantastic if you are interested in History). I was expecting an OK pub hotel but was very impresses with the standard/cleaniness and facilities offered for the money I paid. The full English Breakfast was all that you could ask for generous portions and very well cooked and presented.
During the evening my friend and I had a pub meal in the bar which was of a very high standard and again reasonably priced and generous portions and they serve REAL ale. Without exception every member of staff was polite friendly and helpful. I would strongly recommend this establishment

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N0bbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    118
    59
    24
    17
See reviews for
50
147
9
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013 via mobile

Stopped over at this location for 1night after a @segway tour in the nearby shorne country park. The room its self was very spacious and comfortable with freeveiw TV radio alarm clock and loads of storage space.the bathroom was huge with a good powerful shower over the bath.When it was time for bed found the bed to be extra comfortable and good nights sleep was guaranteed.another bonus of this location is there is also free WiFi and plenty of sockets for extra stuff like iPod speakers and hair straightners.the downside I can think of is our room overlooked the car park and also had a shop underneath us which incurred some noise

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gixerboy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2013 via mobile

Outstanding hotel and restaurant converted from an old historic dockside engineering workshop
Room no1 was brilliant and great value
Location on the Chatham dockside was fantastic with great views from the upper level restaurant across the docks which are really impressive
Probably one of the best rib eye steaks I have eaten in a long time and great value at £16.00 inc all trimmings
Will stay again!!

Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Tony K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

I recently stayed the Ship & Trades, whilst on a work visit to Kent.
The hotel itself is very different from your Travelodge/Premier Inn, the staff were welcoming but in a nice informal way and the room was very nice with all required extra's.
The room did need a little TLC and the cleaning could do with a bit more attention, someone had wrote their name in the dust in the shade on the light, but the stay was comfortable and had everything you could need.
Unfortunately the burglar alarm went off early in the morning for the property next door, but this was no fault of the hotel. The attached restaurant served lovely food and was very convenient!
I would not hesitate to stay again!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawg2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2013 via mobile

I stayed for 1 night whilst away on business in the area.
The location is great, right next to the marina with some lovely views. My room was very spacious and clean and the free wifi was very good.
I ate in the bar in the evening and the food was good quality and good value and the bar had a good atmosphere.
The only couple of minor issues I had were the shower, which although very powerful, did not sit well on the wall meaning it had to be held. The other is that breakfast was not served until 7.30am where most places start at 7am meaning a lesd of a rush in the morning.
I would certainly stay again snd recommend to colleagues as it offers excellent value.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bsnsjone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, England
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2013

I've stayed here several times on business and it's an excellent base to work from. Quiet, clean comfortable rooms and reasonable food - haven't sampled the bar food yet though. Friendly staff.

Watch out when you turn on the shower though - as another reviewer says, it is very powerful. Made me appreciate what a water cannon must be like!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A_Bloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013

Ship & Trades is one of the nicest bars/restaurants to go to in the area...
It's a bit pricey when it comes to drinks but food is reasonably priced and is actually really good!

My parents always stay at the hotel when they come to visit me so we often have dinner there and we've never had anything gone wrong :)

Definitely suggest it to anyone looking for a chance in scenery around here!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angeliki T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chatham
The King Charles Hotel
#1 of 2 in Gillingham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East End / East London
Sunborn London
Sunborn London
#147 of 1,090 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,435 reviews
St. George Hotel
#3 of 6 in Chatham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ship & Trades? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ship & Trades

Property: Ship & Trades
Address: The Ship & Trades Hotel Maritime Way, Chatham ME4 3ER, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Chatham
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Chatham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ship & Trades 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ship & Trades reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ship And Trades
The Ship & Trades Hotel Chatham
Ship & Trades Chatham, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing