We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's what's inside that counts...”
Review of Ship & Trades

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ship & Trades
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Chatham
Newhaven, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“It's what's inside that counts...”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Yes, it looks like it's just been dropped in from the outback, but inside it's a quite good hotel. Comfortable beds, clean rooms adequately supplied with extras and a good restaurant with good food at reasonable prices. Very friendly and helpful staff.
There are a couple of niggles.
The public areas are air-conditioned and the unit runs 24/7. A low volume, low pitched noise, which may irritate some, (not me, though). 'The Management' tell me that as it's a converted listed building, there's only so much that they can do in the way of sound-proofing, but , as I say, It didn't bother me.
The other problem is the bathroom layout. There are baths with shower fitting in the centre of the long side of the bath. Now, the water pressure in the area is very high, which not only means needle like jets of water from the shower, but also enough pressure to blow the shower curtains out of the bath. Good job the bathroom floor is like a wet-room with a solid floor and a drainage point. Lowering the water pressure would mean that if you wanted a bath then you could wait a long time for it to fill. Again 'The Management' tell me that after many complaints they are going to fit the extra large rose-heads to the units which should drop the pressure and, hopefully, solve the problem.
Good value for money with pleasant outlooks from bedrooms and restaurant. I'd go again.
P.S. If you're using a sat-nav use the post code. It's a big site and Number 1, Maritime Way doesn't seem to exist.

Room Tip: Lower numbered rooms are better. We had room 4 which was probably the best one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    126
    65
    29
    21
See reviews for
54
162
11
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kenya
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

We had a super room with views over the water. Excellent check-in briefing, they make you feel very welcome. Easy parking, nice pub, good restaurant and a very good breakfast. The service was a little stretched on Saturday compared to THURSDAY AND Friday but was still good. The room cleaner was less than diligent at replenishing consumables but the room was clean and nicely designed, full marks for the shortbread biscuits, my favourite! I thoroughly recommend the Ship and Trades and will use it again early in the new year when I visit the area again

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We booked in as a party, using 3 rooms. Right from the moment we arrived the staff couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. All 3 rooms were well equipped, comfortable and spotlessly clean. Food in the main bar was varied, tasty and good value. Breakfast gave a good choice and was freshly cooked. Service was excellent. Will definitely stay again next time we visit our family in Kent.

Room Tip: If you want quiet ask for a room overlooking the marina. Some overlook the car park which gets noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shadylady57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delph, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

I really liked the conversion, the decoration, the location and the people. Real shame about the noise. This is a really well converted apprentice training centre now pub with rooms and a co-op store. Great location next to the quays and yacht basin. I even got to spend some money in the outlet centre. Lovely in the warm weather. Food and beer good but, and a big but, really, really noisy. Deliveries from 4 am to 5.30 am right under my window which kept me awake, difficult as I had to work on not much sleep. What a shame. Could be stunning if something sorted out about this.

Room Tip: Ask for an even numbered room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chinkles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

This hotel is fine, apart from noise from outside. Good breakfast. plenty of parking. We were awoken at 5.30 am by deliveries to the adjacent supermarket. Location is good, get a bus at the Dickens shopping centre for Dockyard and historic Rochester (both well worth a visit) Dockyard is great for kids and military buffs alike. We ate at the Chinese buffet restaurant at Dickens Centre which was really good. Shopping good too.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barrie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013 via mobile

I often travel to the Isle of Grain on business and have stayed in various hotels in the area.

A friend who also works for me said to try here after a long drive from Cheshire and a full day in London I was amazed once I checked in the room was great and airy there had been previous reviews about paint in the bathrooms this looks to be the wrong paint being used.

The bar and restaurant were great. This bar is very busy but a great place to eat and have a drink.

I travel a great deal with my job this is definitely worth a drink meal or stay

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaun H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonhyland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

Generally excellent service. We did add a few days onto stay last minute and they were very accommodating. Rooms were well equipped but very warm - fans provided. Our shower was almost unusable such was the power. Pealing paint in bathroom was probably caused by the maniacal shower over time ! The big problem and this isn't really the hotels fault was either the noise from the pub revellers leaving at night of the very early and VERY noisy deliveries to co-op in morning - made for unsettled night. Unfortunately I don't think if stay again because of that. However the food in restaurant is very good.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jasonhyland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chatham
The King Charles Hotel
#1 of 2 in Gillingham
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. George Hotel
#3 of 6 in Chatham
318 reviews
East End / East London
Sunborn London
Sunborn London
#142 of 1,068 in London
2,635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ship & Trades? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ship & Trades

Property: Ship & Trades
Address: The Ship & Trades Hotel Maritime Way, Chatham ME4 3ER, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Chatham
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Chatham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ship & Trades 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ship & Trades reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ship And Trades
The Ship & Trades Hotel Chatham
Ship & Trades Chatham, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing