We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Ship & Trades

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ship & Trades
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Chatham
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Location fabulous right on the waterfront with nice views of the marina, very near Chatham Dockyard. Friendly staff , good atmosphere , very good food and ale, brilliant service would highly recommend for good pub food.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ryan13293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    125
    65
    27
    20
See reviews for
54
156
11
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We stayed here the night before attending a wedding and found the room, decor and service excellent. Our room was near the stairs so we got a bit of noise from people milling around outside, and also from the front of the building when people were arriving to drink in the bar for the night etc. but we still got a good night's sleep. The bed was extremely comfortable and the room was decorated in a very stylish way, even the bathroom! It was quite small but was very nice. We ate in the bar/restaurant downstairs and the food was okay, usual chain pub kind of food, but the breakfast the next morning was fantastic. Good choice of cereals, fruit, juices and cooked options, and all served in a really lovely room with great views. Rustic modern dockyard style with nice big windows. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again if we were in the area. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank funkymeringue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 January 2014

I was on a trip with my son for an interview at the university. The location was fabulous and convenient. Right on the waterfront. There was plenty of free parking. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. We had a room equipped for a person with a disability, so it had the bars around the toilet facilities and accessible level wardrobe, although we did not need these.
The real plus point for us was the friendly staff. When the manager realised we were looking around the university, he arranged for us to talk to one of his staff who was already on the course my son was interested in. They were very friendly and helpful.
The bar had a good atmosphere in the evening and the breakfast was good with lots of choices. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Rachel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 January 2014

This is the second time i have stayed at this hotel . The room we had was spacious and very clean we had lovely view of the marina. The restaurant serves brilliant food and the staff are very helpful . One of the best value for money hotels i have stayed in would highly reccomend it.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank MrR382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Stayed here on the 28th December 13...This was my fourth time stay here.. The first 2 times were excellent..The third not so good and this time was bad.. Ended up with a twin room even though i booked a double a month in advance.... One bed was not very comfy..I will make sure i book by room number the next time..If not available i will stay somewhere else..Not all rooms are as good.. Sorry did'nt enjoy my stay this time..

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Ship & Trades as we were going to Dickensian Christmas weekend in Rochester. Lovely location, perfect for Park and Ride for Christmas events in Rochester. Had lovely meal in bar Sat night and although Christmas parties in restaurant the room was quiet and had good night's sleep. Couldn't have asked for more. Would defo recommend.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CandBSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norwich
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

stayed here on Tuesday and Wednesday while visiting Chatham dockyard a 10 minuet walk away.nice room ,good shower,comfy bed,good filing breakfast.its a quirky pub/restaurant the evening meals were very good and quite reasonable,excellent ale to,although midweek in november it was surprisingly busy,i mentioned this to a member of staff and was told it was a bit quieter than usual,lastly the staff,smart polite and very efficient a credit to shepherd neame.all in all a very pleasant stay and recommended to all.will be returning.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank olly47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chatham
The King Charles Hotel
#1 of 2 in Gillingham
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. George Hotel
#3 of 6 in Chatham
308 reviews
East End / East London
Sunborn London
Sunborn London
#143 of 1,068 in London
2,579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ship & Trades? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ship & Trades

Property: Ship & Trades
Address: The Ship & Trades Hotel Maritime Way, Chatham ME4 3ER, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Chatham
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Chatham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ship & Trades 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ship & Trades reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ship And Trades
The Ship & Trades Hotel Chatham
Ship & Trades Chatham, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing