We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice week-End”
Review of Ship & Trades

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ship & Trades
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Chatham
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice week-End”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Used this Hotel for a week-end visit to the naval dockyard museum,it was only 10 minutes walk from the hotel so it was nice to leave the car in the hotel car park which incidentely is free. A good hearty breakfast came in with the price & the bar food prices were par for the course. Just around the corner there is a new area called the Docklands where there is a variety of shops resturants
and fast food outlets . All in all a good location and fair priced hotel

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nikdoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    121
    62
    25
    17
See reviews for
51
152
10
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Everything was excellent, the room, the staff, the food, great view across the marina, could not have been better, will definitely go back for another visit, also great location to explore chatham and Rochester

Room Tip: Ask for a marina view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robbieblondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kingston upon hull, england
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights on 18th April 2014. We picked it as it was within easy reach of Chatham dockyard which we were visiting. We had room 1 which is right next to the restaurant.
The hotel also has a bar which gets pretty busy, but noise is not a problem as rooms seem to be well insulated against sound. The room was very comfortable and the decoration was in keeping with the rest of the hotels theme. The heating is excellent with a thermostatic valve on the radiator, so you can have it as hot as you like.We actually found it too hot on the night so had the windows open. The bed is firm but comfy and you get a good nights sleep in it.
The remote control for the telly is pretty basic. You get a free shower gel and shampoo, and a sewing kit. Controls for shower are good quality so you can get the exact temperature and flow rate that you want.
The restaurant was not crowded for breakfast so you could sit where you wanted and the girl who worked there was very efficient and polite.
We also had an evening meal on the Saturday and service and food were excellent although the menu at the table was different from the one in the room. Which actually worked to our advantage as they had run out of apple pie but had bread and butter pudding which wasn't on the new menu.
We would definitely stay there again if we were at Chatham again. The hotel has its own character and is in an ideal location with easy free parking.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We spent a night there in order to visit our daughter who lives nearby. We had room 4 overlooking the harbour and it was nicely situated, a good size and clean. If we stayed there again we might ask for a room through the fire doors in order to be a little further away from the kitchen in the morning but having said that the noise was not too intrusive and only started around 8am. The staff were friendly, the room was good value and all in all it was a good experience. If we come to Chatham again we would definitely stay there.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a really enjoyable 2 night stay here. The room was very comfy and clean, staff very friendly and food really tasty! It all tasted very fresh and home cooked. It's a good location and its lovely being able to sit outside with a beautiful view in the sunshine!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Janeyex19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We stayed here for the second time on 2nd April. The room was great and the staff couldn't have been more helpful...particularly accommodating my dippy girlfriend's request for a room with a bath. Really impressed, great location and good value for money.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ruthpawsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

I really wanted to give this Hotel a 4 rating but there are some things that need sorting out and therefore knock it down to 3.

The Good: Very helpful friendly staff. Very comfortable double bed. Great position next to Chatham Marina and only 10 minutes walk from Chatham Historic Dockyard. There is a great view of the yachts in the Marina from the first floor restaurant and in the summer sitting outside would be lovely. The bedroom was very clean and a good size. There is Free parking in the car park next to the hotel.

The bad: There is a strange smell in the corridor leading to the bedrooms and also a little in the bedroom (we kept the slatted windows opened the whole time we were there and it sorted the bedroom smell out) I can only describe it as a dirty clothes smell! Odd!
The table tops in the restaurant on the first floor are sticky - I watched a waitress clean a couple of them with some kind of spray and a cloth. They look clean but when you lean on them they are sticky.

And the ugly: The walls in the bathroom are quite stained and need a deep clean, especially the wall near the toilet.

In general - this hotel is in a great location and could be a little gem but I suspect their main business is in the bar because it was rammed every time we went past it. You can't even get a seat in there in the evenings but they did have plenty of bar staff and the wait was minimal. The food in the bar and restaurant has the same menu and is ok, if maybe a bit over priced. The restaurant was very quiet in the evenings and for breakfast. There are only 11 rooms in the Hotel and they are all on the first floor (there is a lift if you have mobility problems). Rooms at the front of the Hotel look over the car park and there is a small co-op under one end of the Hotel, as other reviewers have said this would be quite noisy. Rooms on the other side look over one of the old docking bays, 2 new block of flats and have a side view of the marina, it is a lovely view. However in the summer there are also lots of seats outside on this side and I would imagine it must be quite noisy in the bedrooms until the bar shuts. We were lucky it was too cold to sit outside in the evenings.
There is a small Outlet shopping centre a 3 minute walk away and on the other side of that there are plenty of restaurants and an Odeon cinema.
The Historic Dockyard is great and you could easily spend most of the day there. It is a bit expensive at £18.50 each for Adults but the ticket lasts a year and I thought it was worth it. Make a point of doing the Ropery tour, which you have to get a timed ticket for in the first room after the ticket office.
If I was visiting Chatham again I would probably stay here because of it's position.

Room Tip: Ask for a Marina View room. Numbers 6, 8 & 10 would have less noise but are further away from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SunnyDay365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chatham
The King Charles Hotel
#1 of 2 in Gillingham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East End / East London
Sunborn London
Sunborn London
#138 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,510 reviews
St. George Hotel
#3 of 6 in Chatham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ship & Trades? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ship & Trades

Property: Ship & Trades
Address: The Ship & Trades Hotel Maritime Way, Chatham ME4 3ER, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Chatham
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Chatham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ship & Trades 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ship & Trades reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ship & Trades Hotel Chatham
The Ship And Trades
Ship & Trades Chatham, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing