We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of Ship & Trades

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ship & Trades
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Chatham
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights and had a great stay. We had a nice room which faced the water so had a nice view. Everything was nice and clean. Breakfast was very good with plenty of choice. We didn't eat other meals there as there are plenty of other places to eat in the development . It was handy having plenty of parking, a co-op and a chippy all within the same block. All the staff were friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view! We stayed in room 8
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pljonesey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (379)
There are newer reviews for Ship & Trades
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

287 - 293 of 379 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2014

really nice hotel the rooms are very spacey and bright. the food served in the bar is really nice. loads of room to sit out in the sun and great views of the marina. really handy for the historical dockyard only draw back is it is a bit out of town and they do not serve drinks to guests after 2300 which was a shame

Room Tip: even number rooms have view of marina odd numbers overlook the car park
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank riccazadem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Used this Hotel for a week-end visit to the naval dockyard museum,it was only 10 minutes walk from the hotel so it was nice to leave the car in the hotel car park which incidentely is free. A good hearty breakfast came in with the price & the bar food prices were par for the course. Just around the corner there is a new area called the Docklands where there is a variety of shops resturants
and fast food outlets . All in all a good location and fair priced hotel

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nikdoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Everything was excellent, the room, the staff, the food, great view across the marina, could not have been better, will definitely go back for another visit, also great location to explore chatham and Rochester

Room Tip: Ask for a marina view
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robbieblondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights on 18th April 2014. We picked it as it was within easy reach of Chatham dockyard which we were visiting. We had room 1 which is right next to the restaurant.
The hotel also has a bar which gets pretty busy, but noise is not a problem as rooms seem to be well insulated against sound. The room was very comfortable and the decoration was in keeping with the rest of the hotels theme. The heating is excellent with a thermostatic valve on the radiator, so you can have it as hot as you like.We actually found it too hot on the night so had the windows open. The bed is firm but comfy and you get a good nights sleep in it.
The remote control for the telly is pretty basic. You get a free shower gel and shampoo, and a sewing kit. Controls for shower are good quality so you can get the exact temperature and flow rate that you want.
The restaurant was not crowded for breakfast so you could sit where you wanted and the girl who worked there was very efficient and polite.
We also had an evening meal on the Saturday and service and food were excellent although the menu at the table was different from the one in the room. Which actually worked to our advantage as they had run out of apple pie but had bread and butter pudding which wasn't on the new menu.
We would definitely stay there again if we were at Chatham again. The hotel has its own character and is in an ideal location with easy free parking.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank john r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We spent a night there in order to visit our daughter who lives nearby. We had room 4 overlooking the harbour and it was nicely situated, a good size and clean. If we stayed there again we might ask for a room through the fire doors in order to be a little further away from the kitchen in the morning but having said that the noise was not too intrusive and only started around 8am. The staff were friendly, the room was good value and all in all it was a good experience. If we come to Chatham again we would definitely stay there.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a really enjoyable 2 night stay here. The room was very comfy and clean, staff very friendly and food really tasty! It all tasted very fresh and home cooked. It's a good location and its lovely being able to sit outside with a beautiful view in the sunshine!

Stayed: April 2014
Thank Janeyex19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chatham
The King Charles Hotel
#1 of 2 in Gillingham
647 reviews
St. George Hotel
#3 of 6 in Chatham
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East End / East London
Sunborn London
Sunborn London
#152 of 1,072 in London
2,754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ship & Trades? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ship & Trades

Address: The Ship & Trades Hotel Maritime Way, Chatham ME4 3ER, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Chatham
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Chatham
Price Range: £82 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ship & Trades 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ship & Trades reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ship & Trades Hotel Chatham
The Ship And Trades
Ship & Trades Chatham, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing